We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$129
View deal
Hotels.comUS$128
ExpediaUS$128
Agoda.comUS$129
TripadvisorUS$128
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
88
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
88
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the upper deck la lucia entire house a wonderful place to stay guest house rooms are modern breakfast area peace of mind long weekend comfortable bed excellent service excellent stay south africa stay there again home away from home snezana umhlanga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Beautiful breakfast with fresh variety, great views overlooking the sea. A tranquil and calm place to unwind and relax. Close to La Lucia for shopping and walking distance to Umhlanga promenade and beach.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VictoriaA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sne zana, Owner at Ocean Vista Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

A huge thank you for this compliment Victoria! So pleased you found Ocean Vista very tranquil and you loved our unhurried breakfast goings-on! La Lucia Mall is indeed just down the road and a walk in that direction can be combined with a stroll on the nearest beach but for less fit walkers and in the summer heat we recommend a drive to Umhlanga promenade :))
It would be awesome to be your blissful retreat again, here's hope it will be possible to travel without restrictions soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020

For our 6th wedding anniversary my husband surprised me with a 4 night stay at the breath taking ocean Vista Boutique Hotel. It was simply breath taking, from the gorgeous views of the ocean, to the clean simplistic decor I #oceanvista immediately on IG. The beautiful welcome gift and the gorgeous breakfast every morning was a wonderful delight. Thank you to the staff and our wonderful host Snezana for her beautiful home. Definitely worth it! Will be back soon!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spadia920253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sne zana, Owner at Ocean Vista Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

The host was delighted to have a role in your celebration and smiled again reading your review - thank you so much Tamsyn!
So pleased it was a wonderful surprise and you so loved the ambiance and your stay with us. Your photos on Instagram are stunning and your kind mention there touched my heart... You guys are special and it will be an honour to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

The room came with everything we needed and a beautiful sea facing balcony! The breakfast was delicious and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. We felt very much at home whether it be at the pool or sitting on the sea facing balcony on the roof. We will most definately stay there again :)

Room tip: All rooms seem to be sea facing
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mandyandpeter333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sne zana, Owner at Ocean Vista Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2021

This is so lovely from you guys and means a lot, thank you! I'm delighted you loved your room and balcony and enjoyed the enthusiastic attention we are dedicated to provide to every guest. The ocean has a big part in defining the Ocean Vista experience but I'm proud and grateful to hear our team completes the picture. Sending love and best wishes for your next chapter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

Beautiful and wonderful stay at Ocean Vista - marvelous staff with a smile 24/7 tailoring bespoke service to each guest. Magnificent view from each room plus the upper deck where we enjoyed our delicious breakfasts and cocktails. Spotlessly clean all areas, crisp cotton sheets, Nespresso coffee machine in every room. This was our second stay and every time is better than previous - my husband and i will certainly be returning.

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Camper11962239590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sne zana, Owner at Ocean Vista Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2021

Thank you for the memories of a full, happy house at the end of the year and for the love and support with this glowing review! Some guests just settle in and become part of the family--and you and yours definitely are so! Fortunately cocktails were possible as you had an expert, we must say we are not good at that We miss you already, Dorothy has made a note about extra pillows and breakfast likes, the house is sparkling and I will look forward to welcome you as very special return guests. ❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020

This was a wonderful stay at a wonderful location.

The staff were wonderfully accommodating during our stay - from requesting added cutlery and crockery for a meal to be had on the upper deck (which has a view to challenge most views along the coast); to making specific dietary requests at breakfast; to being understanding around requests for early check-ins.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrej1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sne zana, Owner at Ocean Vista Boutique Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2021

Thank you so much, Andrej, honoured and moved with your review as much as we enjoyed looking after you two and your group! The daily events somehow got in the way of responding sooner, apologies, but memories of a full house and international guests after a while have been a wonderful motivation, as was your use of our upper deck as intended. Its stunning views and the space are indeed central to the experience that sets Ocean Vista apart and we try to match it with personal attention to our guests and the best service we can. We'll be waiting for you for your next sunny December holiday and wish you all the very best in the meantime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews