We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
98
22
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
22
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rovos rail one night grissini lovely bathroom residential area next morning comfortable beds breakfast was delicious south africa excellent service luxury safari suburb receptionist johannesburg
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I had surgery in Pretoria in February and it was suggested I stay here to recuperate. This is the PERFECT venue for that!! Quiet, safe, peaceful, and beautiful. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the service is amazing, and the grounds are stunning. The view from the breakfast area is unbeatable... And the daily breakfast is delicious. I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank JenLWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We had the best tasting food, everyone loved it as well as the venue. I will definitely recommend this venue to others for business lunches and for overnight stay. The view from the venue is beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank l0uisekeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The location was beautiful and the service good, but the high tea menu was average. Herbert Baker Hotel is rated a five star, but it needs a bit of attention in connection to maintenance of curtains, tiles and outside tables.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrisimalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Stylish, comfortable, well appointed and with excellent staff and good food. The location was special overlooking Pretoria with well kept gardens and safe covered parking. Overall it ticked all the boxes of a hotel we would look forward to revisiting.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank malcmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We needed an overnight stop in between visiting Kruger and a trip on Rovos Rail. Our agent had originally booked us into the Sheraton but after reading critical reviews on trip advisor asked for something smaller. The choice of 131 on Herbert Baker was perfect for us. An easy transfer from Johannesburg was followed by a smooth and efficient check in complete with a welcome cup of tea. Our room was spacious and well equipped and the out of town location gave us an extremely peaceful nights sleep. Both dinner and breakfast were of a good standard and costs reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews