We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
496
356
165
81
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
356
165
81
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club floor emperors palace five star hotel casino complex close to the airport other hotels food court breakfast buffet free shuttle tambo airport one night stay short stay long flight shuttle service aurelia johannesburg luxury
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Initially booked through hotels.com and the hotel is very well appointed. An upscale restaurant on premises. Room was disappointing due to a very small tv. Turned out repairs were being done. A good chat with the manager resulted in an upgrade to the 5th floor where the suite was nothing short of fantastic. I’d switch out the memory foam bed as it is a bit of a boat, but everything else in the suite was good.

The lounge was ok, one serving of dinner snacks and no refills. Not allowed to take coffee to room in morning seemed a little harsh.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sherlock-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear Sherlock-usa

Greetings and thank you for your valued feedback received, we are truly delighted! We have taken note of the concerns and thank you for this, we are looking into the matters. Trust that this is in order and looking forward to welcoming you back soonest, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Although the hotel and service was excellent it was very disappointing to see cars parked in the disabled parking who clearly was not disabled and I did confirm with the porters that the people parked in the disabled parking were not disabled

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richters2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear richters2018

Thank you for your feedback received, we have taken note and for this we want to thank you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information needed.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

5-star my foot! It's very glitzy and posh to look at but... No slippers or bathrobes in the rooms this "5 star" hotel, no teaspoon for the coffee at breakfast, no dishing up spoons for some of the foods. WiFi is awful. Honestly I've stayed in 3-star places with better service, attention to detail and free goodies. If you want overpriced menus and great photos, come here, but if you want to feel special, go elsewhere!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank craighl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Craigh L

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused, the matters have been escalated for resolution.

Please be rest assured that this is not our standard and for this we earnestly apologise.

Trust that the above is in order and we hope that this has not deterred you from staying with us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

- very close to airport (free shuttle)
- very nice pool, garden...
- staff is very friendly
- very good breakfast (too much choice)
- I arranged driver at the reception (its a little bit pricy but it's safe)

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hanife C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Hanife C,

Thank you very much for supporting Emperors Palace and for completing our E-Questionnaire

On behalf of all management and employees at Emperors Palace, we would like to thank you sincerely for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Decided to spoil my mom with a 5* outing. We were given a room right over the aircon machinery - not ideal as you could not open a window/ sliding door without being overwhelmed by noise. In fact, it was even disturbing during the night with the door closed. Also not impressed with the shower over the bath concept - it is difficult to get in and out of, especially for my aging mother and really not what I expect from a 5* hotel. We only received turndown for one person even though we were 2 in the room. Would love to be able to use the fridge to keep some water cold, but luckily housekeeping had no problem with providing some ice. Room was very well maintained, staff super friendly and willing to help. Breakfast was truly 5* with great service by wait staff.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Natasha V

Greetings and thank you for choosing us as your preferred outing/ get-away destination, very much we appreciate your feedback received. Kindly note that we do have special assistance rooms when booking next time.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information needed, looking forward to welcoming you back soonest, kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews