We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AfricaSky Guest House(Kempton Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mango Lodge(Kempton Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
African Rock Hotel(Kempton Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunrock Guesthouse(Kempton Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Journey's Inn Africa(Kempton Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Rose Guesthouse(Kempton Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveller rating
340
736
186
39
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
736
186
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking garagetambo airportshort walkunder coverone nightcovered walkwayterminal buildingnext morningfollow the signsconvenient locationbreakfast buffet isan overnight stayan early morning flightarrivals hallyour luggagebetween flightsinternational arrivals
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

City Lodge is always my hotel of choice whenever I get off a long flight and I want a place to rest without any hassles. The place gets packed so one has to book in advance. I dont know if there is any other way to the hotel except walking that Madiba Long Walk to Freedom from the Arrivals. However when u get to the Reception seems they know the Struggle (Long Walk) and there are free Refreshments and even Muffins. The DStv remote control needs to be upgraded, always difficult for me to navigate.
Staff is lovely, food is excellent.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank TaKunda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel itself rates as satisfactory but the location is SO convenient you can’t go past City Lodge for an overnight airport stay. It was very hard to find how to get to reception when getting dropped off outside by taxi as it’s up on the 5th floor of the carpark, but to/from the airport terminal is a breeze via the walkway on level 2. Buffet breakfast was R160.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave review, we appreciated your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We had an 11 hour layover during the day and needed a place to rest. The City Lodge was quick, safe and easy to get to, offered a reasonable rate of just under 800 rand for use from 8am-5pm. Very comfortable, clean and well appointed room. Good and reasonable food in the Cafe.

Look for the authorised airport security staff as you exit customs. They have orange shirts (sometimes under black sweaters) and airport ID on lanyards. Tell one of them where you are going and they will escort you. Have some money ready to tip them at the end.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We had an international trip planned and departure was very early the next morning. So we decided to give the City Lodge at the Airport Terminal a go. Was the best decision ever. From the check in where staff was so friendly and professional, to the dinner we ordered at the restaurant, to check out. Well done City Lodge. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We stayed at City lodge on three separate occasions whilst in transit through Johannesburg. Its an easy walk to and from airport terminals. Rooms were comfortable, service was pleasant and efficient, and food from the cafe was pretty good.

Room Tip: We were expecting airport noise, but were pleasantly surprised with how quiet it was.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CF--DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews