We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
379
285
100
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
285
100
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub floorrosebank malldiamond memberconcierge staffhotel lobbygautrain stationlocation is greatbusiness tripbreakfast buffetshops and restaurantsrooms are spaciousvery nice hoteleasy accesscape townsouth africagymairport
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

I stayed on business. It had everything I needed. A comfortable, large room with a decent number of plugs, thoughtfully stocked bathroom. Efficient check in and out. Good breakfast with awful coffee (this is my only complaint).

Its well located next to the Gautrain. Perfect for business travel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarvBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 June 2018

Good afternoon,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!

Thank you so much for sharing feedback on your most recent stay experience with us; we are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

5 night stay for a business trip, located in the Rosebank district, close to plenty of shops and restaurants and a number of business complexes.
Hotel was clean, tidy and staff attentive.
I didn’t eat in the hotel restaurant so can’t comment on food.
Gym was basic but adequate.
Room had all the normal amenities expected.
Limited noise penetrated the room, and mine was located right by the lifts (normally a problem but no issue here).
Wasn’t wowed by anything though, hence the 4 star

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank mattyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 June 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with this valuable feedback.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and to then possibly serve you one of our unique chef-led signature dishes at our award-winning oneNINEone restaurant.

Warmest regards,

The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Wow, this was a really bad experience. I've stayed here about 2 years ago and what a difference from then till now!!

Some suggestions for you if you really want to stay at this hotel:
1) Very difficult to find enough staff when you need something. i couldn't see any managers around to help when they got even more than one customer in the lobby.
2) Run away from the bar if the airline crews are there. They are a big group and there is not enough wait staff even for just that group. All other customers have to wait for a long time to be acknowledged.
3) Getting someone to answer the guest services line is impossible. You can call and call which is good if you don't mind waiting for a long time. I just decided to put it on speaker phone and let it ring while i did other things. Eventually someone answers the phone.
4) Bring your own salt & pepper. The lobby restaurant doesn't have any. The staff will tell you that they don't have enough.....

Definitely not a Hyatt. Maybe they are losing their franchise license or they are transitioning to another brand but this place has lost its quality. I would not recommend it especially for how much they charge.

The only positive thing i saw was how they run after their frequent guests. I was sitting next to someone who is staying at this hotel regularly for business. He seemed to be ok because the staff paid attention to him....but what about everyone else?

Very bad imitation of the Hyatt indeed.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the floors with all the airline crews. They are very disruptive.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BlueStreak1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 June 2018

Dear guest,

Despite the fact that you had an unfavourable experience at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg this time, we still want to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It is unfortunate to read about your unmet expectations, especially since it appears like your previous stay set a different standard.

We have addressed your concerns with the relevant department and will stay commited to strive to create memorable experiences for all our guests.

Please let me know if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Our best wishes,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Conveniently located on the corner of Oxford and Biermann Roads in Rosebank, this hotel is well placed to serve business professionals and holidaymakers alike. It is safe and secure, in the same complex as countless high quality restaurants and shops. Having forgotten my swimming trunks and goggles, I was able to obtain these with a leisurely secure walk and then enjoyed the hotel’s heated pool, in Winter. The cuisine was excellent as were the staff. For the first time, I made use of the Spa - a great decision.
Overall, a superb choice!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank paulr0per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 June 2018

Dear Paul,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!

Thank you so much for sharing feedback on your most recent stay experience with us; we are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Having been refreshed with a luxury décor makeover the multi-height public reception zones and all day dining hub are now discreetly enhanced with subtle touches of blush colours and statement chandeliers, sleek lines and polished marble all enduring symbols of the luxe hotel that The Hyatt Regency correctly defines itself as. Returning to this establishment time and time again never disappoints as nearly always staff have the capacity of recognising me as a loyal return guest. There is always also good management of honouring a guest's loyalty status and up-grades are granted with sound discretion. The Conference areas and rooms are injected with charm and functionality and service is always impeccable at bespoke functions. The Club Level is now comfortably equipped with a small but efficient Business Centre which is useful. Location of this hotel, whilst not in the middle of the Sandton hub, is still convenient and is situated in close proximity to the swift Gautrain service serving ORTIA airport as well. One can be assured of a comfortable stay and if this happens to be on the Club Level the additional hospitality perks are fully worthwhile.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Yegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 June 2018

Dear Yegas,

Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg!

Thank you so much for sharing feedback on your most recent stay experience with us; we are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews