We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocozuma Traveller Day Tours
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Average trip

We booked with Cocozuma based on a referral from our hotel. They have a preferred rate with them... read more

Reviewed 21 December 2018
PowerPlayNS
,
Halifax, Canada
via mobile
Tortuga island-neat. DO NOT BOOK FISHING

So, we were staying at a place who said they'd book our fishing charter and they dropped the ball... read more

Reviewed 8 June 2019
Trish M
,
Cleveland, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 61 reviews
  
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
21
14
7
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
14
7
7
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2015

This company is owned by a local Costa Rican woman that is very friendly and has your interests at heart. I was scheduled to take a water taxi to Jaco Beach but the winds that morning were too strong and I had no other way to get out of Montezuma in a timely manner. The owner of Cocozuma helped me arranged for a direct airport transport at the most reasonable rate in the area. I recommend traveling with these guys.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Mandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

today we did the tortuga island tour and had a great day! they took us snorkeling in two spots, we saw lots of fish. inbetween we were served beer, fruit and softdrinks on the boat. for lunch we were on the amazing beach of the island. grilled fish/chicken with vegetables and rice was Made fresh and tasted great. staff was friendly and professional, they even picked us up on tambor beach - which is an extra 20 min boat ride from montezuma. there are some tour operators with similar names offering this kind of tour. the other boats were always right next to us so i assume they all do pretty much the same tour... thanks to our team from cocozuma!

2  Thank LisaDhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

We had paid $55 for the tortuga island snorkeling trip which included lunch. We were told to come at 9:15 for the 9:30 boat, 10:15 rolled around and our trip was canceled due to high winds. Not their fault but they could've let us know a little sooner instead of wasting time sitting around when we could've been booking something else or at the beach.

Also BEWARE of the woman at the souvenir store next door. Her name is Cynthia and speaks really good English and tries to be your best friend which makes you want to trust her. She over charged us for use of her ATV ($80) which turned out to be broken! We drove around the corner and it wouldn't accelerate passed 2nd gear. We brought it back and they acted as though it was a strange occurrence. Luckily we were able to go with Zuma tours, even though their rental fee was $70 Cynthia wouldn't refund us the other $10. She also booked our tortuga island tour because she's friends with cocozuma tours which was fine but when it came down to getting our money refunded she was hesitant to give it up when we gave her the cash!
We also asked her about the best way to get to San Jose and she said her husband was a taxi driver and could drive us for $300, ha! FLIGHTS to SJO are $100 why would we pay $300..she's a sheisty money hungry lady, beware!

Thank Buks0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

On the way to Tortuga Island, our boat driver stopped to show us El Churro Waterfall and the Rainbow Rock. We went to the island and sat around for about an hour (we could do anything we wanted on the beach). Then we got to go snorkeling- the first place we went was pretty low visibility. We saw fish, but a lot of people didn't really see anything. It was a "swim on your own" snorkel excursion- there wasn't a guide in the water pointing things out or anything. After about 20 minutes, we had to get back on the boat and he asked if anyone wanted to go to a second snorkel spot. I think only 6 of us wanted to go, so he went to the spot, the 6 of us jumped out and swam around while he took the rest of the people to the beach and then came back to get us. When we got to the beach we had to ask 2 times for our lunch (everyone else was already eating or already done) and then we sat around for another hour before we went back.

There isn't really anything to do on the beach unless you want to pay to rent a jetski, rent snorkel equipment, rent a beach chair, etc. Oh, and you have to pay to use the bathroom.

It was fine, but nothing special.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We booked a tour to Tortuga Island. We have been waiting for 4 hours after departing from Santa Teresa at 7.30am. The boats were not ready to depart until 11am. We were not given a private boat for a group of 9 as promised. The boss, Maria has now refused to give our $65pp back and refuses to assist us with a shuttle back to Santa Teresa so we're stuck in Montezuma. She laughed when we asked how to get our money back. Terrible respect for customers and service. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank malea_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews