We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
281
43
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
43
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housesoccer fielddeluxe bungalowla fortunafamily that ownscosta rican familyjungle viewwonderful familyevery morningminute drivetwo queen bedsfruits and vegetablesbusy towncosta rican mealssatellite tvnight walkguacamole
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at hotels in several locations in the past few weeks. Heliconias Nature Lodge was by far our absolute favorite. I just wish we could have spent more time there. It’s family owned and they are all SO incredibly nice and hospitable. We stayed at some very nice hotels while here in Costa Rica and the water pressure in the showers has been beyond awful in every single one except for Heliconias! Water pressure was consistently fantastic and even stayed hot (which is rare here in CR apparently). They grow their own organic produce on site and even have a few adorable very well behaved dogs that live on the property. The town of La Fortuna is a short 25 minute drive from the lodge on very nicely paved roads! We went to Baldi hot springs and stayed until 10pm and had no problem driving back to the lodge in the dark. The pool is very beautiful (one side is heated and one side is cold). Definitely recommend this place to anyone and everyone. The pictures are amazing but it’s even better in person.

Oh and an extra thanks to Brandon for being the best waiter we had in while in CR. The on-site restaurant was great!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank danielleelisaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Slightly out of the way from town but this didn’t make any difference in the end.
The people working there made us feel right at home straight away. The rooms were great and the set up really nice.
Oscar went above and beyond to help me and a friend do all the activities we were interested in by essentially just giving us a guide for the day (Alberto is awesome!).
We were slightly out of season so the only downside was a slight lack of atmosphere in the restaurant - day no that the boys that work in there were spot on!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tabitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

I had so much fun and its a excellent vacation spot to spend your spring break. Good food and atmosphere. We saw really cool animals! I was there for a week and each day was great. The owners are very friendly. 10/10 recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

But, I will try! We were fortunate enough to stay her for 3 days during our 10 day visit to Costa Rica. We stayed in 5 star luxury resorts the rest of our trip and honestly Heliconias Nature Lodge gives then a solid run for their money. The glass tree house was simply amazing. It surrounds you with such amazing beauty that you feel as though you literally become one with the nature around you. We found ourselves just sitting for hours at a time during our trip just staring into the lush forest and letting ourselves sink into the surroundings. We saw sloths and some of the most beautiful birds we had ever seen.

The staff were fantastic as well. They were at available for ANYTHING you needed and when you didn’t need anything it was as though you had he property to yourself. We had breakfast and dinner at the lodge and the food was wonderful. Very authentic and delicious. We met the owner and his family (family owned and operated in its truest form here) and had the opportunity on several occasions to just chat and get to know them. They were so wonderful that I have committed to learning Spanish and going back next year so I can get to know them even better.

And, lastly the grounds and property are wonderful. The last morning we were there we took a 2.5 mile hike on our own and it was breathtaking. We were even joined by the sweetest “wild” Little black lab puppy that you have ever seen. It’s almost a crime to call him wild:) He followed us and hiked with us the entire hike never straying more than 10 feet from us. My wife spent the remaining 7 days in Costa Rica googling how to take the dog home. If you visit, you should find “Vida” puppy and take him for a walk with you! Such a sweet little boy!!! Maybe you could even do you googling prior to your trip and have everything in place to take him back home with you or even post some pics if you see him:). If not, we can’t wait to see him again maybe as the new Heliconias hiking puppy:).
All in all this is definitely a place to stay when visiting this area. Close enough but far enough from everything you need. Thank you Heliconias Family!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JonVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We had the best time at the Heliconias Nature Lodge! Treehouse definitely recommended. The service was amazing! The hotel has drivers who will take you anywhere in Arenal. Our driver Ricardo took us from place to place from 9 am to 9 pm with a smile on his face throughout. Oscar and everyone at the hotel and restaurant were so gracious and provided us with anything we needed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Less insects are in the treehouse rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews