We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookies and Coffee”
Review of Cafe y Macadamia

Cafe y Macadamia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 February 2021

The cookies are fantastic, the coffee is excellent. We stop EVERY time e pass by.
BTW. All the food on the menu is very good.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CEC131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2021

I understand. When tourists get to Costa Rica, things are overpriced. However, the experience of this café makes it well worth it. You have to know that you are a tourist if you get there in a tourist bus. I do not recommend buying souvenirs since there are several other places where you can get the same items for much cheaper price. The coffee choices are so delicious! I had the cold mocha and my son had a pizza. They have amazing pastries as well. The views to Lake Arenal and Volcano are the best. You have to stop to get pictures!

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Landy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021

Since we were traveling from Tamarindo to La Fortuna, we were very happy to find this beautiful spot with a view of the lake at the north end of Lake Arenal. We were quite relieved when we learned we could pay the parking attendant $2 to watch our car since all of our luggage was inside. The owner, who took orders upon arrival spoke English. We were seated at a table with a great view of the lake although they all have a great view. The kids were happy to order pizza as it was their only time in our two week trip. I was happy to find desserts, which was pretty rare overall. We took several for the road. I especially liked the banana-coconut bread.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tanya73Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

This was our first stop in Costa Rica and we lucked out with amazing weather. The view was great and the food even better. The owner was so sweet and very personable. Definitely would recommend checking this place out.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank D4472RUhannaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Very bad experience. Was charged 4 times more than the agreed price. Rude and arrogant man did not want to discuss. Worst experience in Costa Rica over many years! Major tourist trap with prices higher than London and Zurich! Stay away!

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank dreamfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe y Macadamia also viewed

Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
Nuevo Arenal, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe y Macadamia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.