We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kevin Cheng
Hong Kong, China

It all depends on the price. Disappointing.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2018
I stayed here late October, right before the China Import Expo in Shanghai which has certainly pushed prices up. Considering the higher price:

- There was no elevators. The hotel was converted from a row of old Shanghai buildings of 2-3 floors and was not retrofitted with elevators. Partly due to the old building nature of the hotel, the room was cool and comfortable, which was very helpful as the air conditioning was not functioning properly.
- Cleanliness was not the best, with slight sticky patch on floor on check in. On the second day the floor was clean.
- IPTV and wifi was not working initially, but was sorted with a router restart.
- Bed was very hard and pillows very flat and worn.
- Shower was temperamental. Hot water tap was very sensitive and goes from cold to very hot with a slight turn. Water pressure was weak.
- Interestingly, the in-room bar was complementary, including San Pallagrino sparkling water.

A rather disappointing stay. At the normal ~800 RMB per night rate this might have been decent enough, but at the elevated ~1200 RMB rate, it just wasn't good enough.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$723
  • Agoda.com
    HK$576
  • Hotels.com
    HK$701
  • Trip.com
    HK$748
1.0 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby view
HK$804
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$924
  • Agoda.com
    HK$713
  • Trip.com
    HK$722
1.5 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Pool
公寓外观
HK$1,193
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,108
  • Agoda.com
    HK$987
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,124
2.9 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
HK$618
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$709
  • Vio.com
    HK$570
  • Official Site
    HK$767
1.5 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
HK$691
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$668
  • Agoda.com
    HK$614
  • Trip.com
    HK$686
17.2 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
HK$608
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    HK$522
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$827
  • Vio.com
    HK$522
0.6 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$1,184
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,184
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,124
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,184
2.6 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Pool
HK$314
  • Hotels.com
    HK$310
  • Agoda.com
    HK$303
  • Trip.com
    HK$328
4.6 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Pool
酒店大堂
HK$333
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$284
  • Vio.com
    HK$283
12.0 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$526
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    HK$506
  • Expedia
    HK$754
  • Vio.com
    HK$506
32.3 km from Manxin Hotel Shanghai Xintiandi
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
9
11
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
11
12
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for work - great central location but rooms just feel as if they need a good clean - carpet looked tired and at places dirty needed a good vacuum round the edges , actually replacing it would be good - bed good and ok comfortable . Good Italian restaurant downstairs . Just needs a good spruce over . Felt, looked and and smelt like it needed a good make over -light in rooms really dim - would look for a deal at a better hotel and maybe spend a little more and get fresher and newer

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Fe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This is best described as a boutique hotel. This is my third stay with them, out of many, many Shanghai trips. Often we use one of the international 5 star brands, but when I want a break from all that sterile stuff, I choose a place like this. Rooms are good size, clean, comfortable and interesting. The wi-fi is free and reliable. There's a good small restaurant downstairs and a wine bar too - some interesting Spanish wines.

You need to prefer character over uniformity, and recognise the difference; and be OK with that. Try the hotel, I think you'll be surprised. Staff are excellent, and while their English is not perfect, it pretty good. More than sufficient to make check in/out easy.

Room tip: Hotel only has a small number of rooms. Book early if you want to use it
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2015

this property is a little hard to find as you need to go into an alley way where you will find the reception desk. The alley way is surrounded by restaurants as the hotel does not have it's own restaurant as far as I know.

The location is absolutely fantastic , close to everything and was the main reason we were there. The rooms have a pretty new bathroom which is clean etc but the bedroom is not the greatest. We had issues with the wifi at the beginning but once you understand all is ok . My biggest problem was the carpet I did to feel it was clean and did not want to walk barefoot here.

We had an issue with the room upon arrival but this was solved. The spa means a few treatment rooms BTW

The staff at the desk are super friendly and helpful with good knowledge.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samfeng2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2014

I have stayed in Shanghai many times and decided that wanted to try somewhere close to Xintiandi. Casa Serena is only 1 block from all the action of Xintiandi and 1 block from Huaihai Middle Rd and all the shops and Close to line 1 Metro so very well located. This is a small Spanish style older Building, rooms are quite spacious and clean, a little old and worn in places but this adds to the charm.
The attached Spanish Tapas restaurant is good and the breakfast they served was limited but okay.

There are no lifts but only 3 floors. We were made to feel welcome and will certainly stay again.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilM409
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2014

The hotel is just 4 minutes walk from Xintiandi so it's in a very central and convenient location. Rooms are clean though some of the facilities inside are kind of old. Surprisingly the amenities available in the room are of very good quality - when I stayed they were offering Appelles products. Beware if you have big luggages as there are no elevators in the hotel and you would also have to drag your luggage to the streets if you need to get a taxi. Breakfast is not something I would recommend though, and the service at the cafe was quite terrible.

Room tip: Definitely not one facing the streets as it could be quite noisy.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yammie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews