We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
@travellerAngel

Great stay, superb location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jan 2024via mobile
We were upgraded to their executive floor room on 1st night and the experience was awesome. The room we were assigned facing Shanghai CBD and the view is breathtaking. If you don't mind paying a bit extra I would recommend you book their executive floor room. The room are newly renovated and modern. The only down side is that we found the bed is slightly harder.

We then moved to the premier room with a bigger bath tub and room size for 3 nights. I couldn't agree more with others'reviews that the room seems to be older, furniture wear and tear compared to the executive floor rooms. Would be glad if the management could do a bit of touch up to uplift the rooms.

Our package came with breakfast. A wide range of choices from western to local dishes, we were spoilt with the choice and the quality of food is good.

Overall experience is great, for a local 5 star hotel. Room service is great and the staff is very attentive, quick response. We left our stuff at the executive floor room when we moved to the premier room, the staff sent the items to our room.

Location is superb, near to the bund and the oriental pearl tower. We will definitely stay again.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
公寓外观
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,303
  • Expedia
1.8 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$806
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,380
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby view
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$924
  • Official Site
3.8 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$710
  • Official Site
3.9 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$805
  • Expedia
15.7 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$850
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
salle restaurant campanile Shangai bund
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$562
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
大堂吧
HK$552
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
15.9 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$476
  • Vio.com
6.1 km from The Eton Hotel Shanghai
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
368
346
95
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
368
346
95
29
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

Pros:
- Located right opposite exit 1 of Pudong Avenue station.
- Staff were friendly, especially the housekeeping lady on our 31 floor.
- The deluxe room that we stayed in was clean and of a decent size. There is a round bathtub in the toilet.
- Great value considering the price we paid for the room.
- The view from our room was amazing, with full floor to ceiling windows to complement the viewing experience.

Cons:
- The hotel is old and dated thus wear and tear were visible.
- Some of the facilities and restaurants were closed thus it might not provide the full hotel experience.

Room tip: Exit 1 of pudong avenue station is the nearest however there are no escalator at exit 1 thus will have to carry luggage up and down the stairs.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank QWTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023 via mobile

We’ve been in atleast 10 hotels in Shanghai. This one is a really good hotel! Great breakfast with a huge sortiment and variety. On our first night, we noticed smell of smoke. Next day, we got upgraded to a suite free of charge. Great and kind service. Locations is very comfortable with subway station just around the corner. A great deal for its price! We will happily return!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ThomasG4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2023 via mobile

Outdated and in need of an upgrade. Everything looks dated and needs a refresh. In the height of summer and the pool was not open, nor were any of the restaurants except the coffee shop.
Several things in the room were broken and the room furniture although clean - looked tired. Really a shame it has been allowed to get a bit run down as it’s a great location.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kathakdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

Every time I come to Shanghai, I stay at the Eton Hotel. The staff is kind and the hotel itself is centrally located near a metro line and easy access to The Bund. If you’re looking for a hotel in a good area, stay at the Eton!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davinab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

We stayed for one night during winter holiday on early Jan. Location very near to Pudong avenue station. I got room on executive floor with superb view to Shanghai city centre. Nice bed, clean bathroom, free wifi, but same like other wifi facility, I can not access our social media apps. There are ferry pier near by from hotel, so we can crossing the river like local not tourist, with cheap ticket. Indoor swimming pool open everyday, but we have to wear swimming cap, otherwise they not allow us to swim. Breakfast menu was good, with good taste and presentation, but unfortunately I can not eat all the foods there except bread and fruits, because we are moslem. Maybe some day your hotel can provide some halal corner for moslem travelers like us. Overall, very good hotel in Shanghai.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank fajar248
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews