We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,124)
Filter reviews
3,124 results
Traveller rating
1,679
1,044
265
84
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,679
1,044
265
84
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nanjing road the royal club lounge people's square lobby floor people's park spg member floor to ceiling windows excellent location bund view room junior suite walking street high floor breakfast buffet rain shower chinese restaurant central location modern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 3,124 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Hotel is undergoing renovation so the main entrance is closed. The lounge set up and skyline view is outstanding. Location is most convenient given the access to all main activities. Expect delays waiting for the elevators, they are a bit slow. I would highly recommend to consider this hotel in Shanghai.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dinomino65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenjaminZ300, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear dinomino65,

Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, thank you for sharing your feedback with us, your opinion is very important to us, hotel is under renovation, we believe we could provide you a better experience in the near future. We highly appreciate for your understanding and supporting. We hope we could provide satisfied experience to our guest each time, looking forward to see you soon and wish you all the best

Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

My second stay this year and again everything perfect. The room was a Junior suite and had a great view to people square. It was very well equipped, big TV, appealing light concept, good bed. Service was also perfect again-in room dining was served very fast, my safe (after password forgotten) was opened in a few minutes, check in and check out was fast, understanding of english was good at the service line and at the check-in desk. Breakfast room was a bit packed, but that was due to chinese holidays and therefore a full hotel with holidaymakers. Avoid chinese public holidays for your travels! This time I visited the fitness centre-its a very huge area with two big training rooms with every kind of training material and machines. Nice pool and sauna. I will come again

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcusegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenjaminZ300, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear marcusegreat,

Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback with us, we genuinely look forward to feedback from our guest and are always happy to know when you enjoyed your time with us, appreciate for your recognition for our rooms, our facilities, our service and our breakfast, we hope we could provide satisfied stay experience to our guest each time,looking forward to see you soon and wish you all the best


Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

When we book the hotel a month ago, we specifically informed the hotel that we would prefer a room with view and of higher floor as this is a birthday trip. However, upon arrival, no nice room, no nice view and not exactly on high floor. Most hotels would usually take into consideration when the booking is made for birthdays, anniversaries or some celebrations but not Le Royal Meridian. Not only we weren’t given a nice room with good view, they given us a very lousy room without any view except some rooftop and road. When I called the customer service, the manager only say rooms all fully booked. He don’t even sound apologetic. And come on, we booked the room one whole month ahead and they are telling us that they are not able to do anything despite the one month notice? Totally nonsense and ridiculous. In addition, the hotel is undergoing some renovation so it is quite ugly on the outside. Also, the hotel’s lifts are slow and crowded always. In order to get to your room, you have to take two different lift. How smart... Cleanliness of the room is average. The bathroom is pretty dirty with all the rusty edges and dirt on the floor. The cleaners don’t really clean them well. Bedsheet was torn with holes as well. Anyway, we choose this hotel after reading the reviews on upgrading rooms and good service, well, it turned out not as what it seem. The only tiny good thing about this hotel is the location, pretty near to the train station (2-3 mins walk).

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ccchae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenjaminZ300, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dear Ccchae,

Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for the unsatisfied experience you had during your stay. We hope we could provide satisfied experience to our guest each time, we will sharing your feedback with related department immediately. We will supervise the Front Office Department and give priority to the guests who have booked the room and inform the Housekeeping Department to perfect the housekeeping work. We will also inform departments to enhance staff training, improve staff quality to avoid similar problems recurrence. We expected you could give us a chance to improve, looking forward to see you soon and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Just checked in to the hotel and given a room that looks like someone is still staying. Head down to the front desk to get them to get me a new room. Front desk was very apologetic, but don’t know how to think about this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DanLee_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenjaminZ300, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear DanLee_sg,


Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai,thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback with us,your feedback is very important to us,we apologize for the experience you had during your stay,we hope we could provide satisfied experience to our guest each time,we will sharing your feedback with related department immediately,expected you could give us a chance to improve,looking forward to see you soon and wish you all the best


Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Room is very comfortable...
Service Staffs is very friendly...
Hotel is located in the heart of city...
Easy to find the hotels, you would not get lost...
And all people will know where is it... Nice place...

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank WilliamLow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenjaminZ300, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear WilliamLow8,


Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai,thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback with us, we genuinely looking forward to feedback from our guest and are always happy to know when you emjoyed your time with us,appreciate for your recognition for our location,we hope we could provide satisfied experience to our guest each time, looking forward to see you soon and wish you all the best


Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews