We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Abin Hostel(Shanghai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Trip.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (2,930)
Filter reviews
2,930 results
Traveller rating
1,578
986
242
74
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,578
986
242
74
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadthe royal club loungepeople's squarelobby floorpeople's parkspg memberfloor to ceiling windowsbund view roomexcellent locationjunior suitehigh floorwalking streetbreakfast buffetrain showerchinese restaurantmodern hotelshopping area
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,930 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Le Royal Meridien has been renovated for a while now so the entrance has been changed for a while. Not a big impact on the stay.
They have a club lounge on the 40 something floor with a view over the river. Otherwise I have quite seldom had rooms with a view over the Bund. There are views in three directions.
The girls at the club lounge (costs extra) are always very helpful and friendly. Last time I forgot my book in the hotel and they emailed me that they will keep it until my next visit. Hotel food is excellent. It is clean. The gym is large. It is only roughly a one kilometer walk to the Bund. Many shops nearby. Subway access from People's park. All in all, excellent location. Watch out for some taxi drivers that may scam you on the trip to the airport. They have tried to scam me twice.

Room Tip: Try to request a room with a view over the river. Watch out for taxi drivers whi may scam you.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TveViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeRoyal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Welcome to Le Royal Méridien Shanghai, thanks for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay, your opinion is very important to us, appreciate for your recognition for our views, location and staffs, Our team works so hard each day to make sure we exceed the expectations of each of our guests, and positive feedback makes it all worthwhile,We will most definitely pass on your comments to them as they will be happy to hear from you. We look forward to your quick return to Shanghai and wish you all the best


Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Le Royal Meridien is located in a prime part of Shanghai, close to shopping, transportation, parks, etc. Amazing views from most of the rooms. Nice decor. The staff are superb - well trained, and service-oriented. Most spoke very good or excellent English. The morning buffet breakfast is excellent. The only knock is that it's a bit of an older building, undergoing refurbishing and renovation, which it needs. When we return to Shanghai, we will stay either at this hotel again or the W (we are loyal SPG Starwood members.)

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JonasBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin Z, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai,Many thanks for your support as always, also thansk for your recognition for our hotel, this is the greatest encouragement for us, we will share this comments with our team together,our team works so hard each day to make sure we exceed the expectations of each of our guest, and positive feedback makes it all worthwhile,thank you for tackiing the time to let us know just how much you enjoyed your stay, looking forward to see you again and wish you all the best!

Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I frequently travel to Shanghai and always stay in the Royal Méridien. The staff is cordial and professional. They even recognize me by face, a nice feeling after arriving on a long fligjt. As an SPG platinum member, they are cognizant of my status benefits and always upgrade to the best possible room.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and always prepared for your arrival. The bathrooms are big and the shower presssure is excellent.
All that and you are in the heart of Shanghai, right near the Peoples Square and the Bund.
If you are coming to Shanghai, don’t miss the Méridien.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeRoyal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Welcome to Le Royal Méridien Shanghai,We cannot express just how much we enjoy receiving comments like yours from our loyal guests. it's our great honor to get your support as always, many thanks for your recognition,We will most definitely pass on your comments to our team as they will be happy to hear from you. looking forward to see you again and wish you all the best

Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was stylish, comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast was brilliant - something for every taste. The restaurants, however, were a big disappointment. Unfortunately I was stuck with in house dining due to late arrival one night and a huge storm the next. The Chinese Ai Mei was average and Le Bistrot served the worst Italian I have ever eaten. Just awful.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msphyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin Z, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai,thank you for sharing your feedback with us, appreciate for your recognition for our room and breakfast, all of your views are important to us, thanks for your advice for our restaurant, we will sharing these informations with us team, expected you could give us a change to improve. looking forward to see you again and wish you all the best

Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is conveniently located in the People's Square area. 2 minutes walk from subway line 2 which bring you straight ot the airport.
The hotel is clean and quiet. Pool and fitness area. The elevators situation can be confusing at first.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazaneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeRoyal M, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Welcome to Le Royal Méridien Shanghai, appreciate for sharing your feedback with us, many thanks for your recognition for our location and transportation, we will continue to bring surprised stay experience to our guest, looking forward to see you again and wish you all the best.

Benjamin Zahn
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews