We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
giovanni1508
Italy

Business trip in Shanghai Pudong

Review of Baoan Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2018
I've been at Bao An Hotel for a week during a business trip in Shanghai. Bao An Hotel is located in a not very central zone in Pudong, but it is well served by the metro (nearby station is Century Avenue) and also taxi. The standard rooms are very well kept and clean. The staff is professional and english speaking at concierge and reception. The room is equipped with excellent modern TV. Free wifi for hotel guests is available. Breakfast and lunch are available, but I suggest to go out: there are some restaurants within walking distance. Recommended for western travelers
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia
    HK$700
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
公寓外观
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,106
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby view
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Official Site
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$923
  • Expedia
4.2 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,182
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia
    HK$1,183
2.5 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$317
  • Expedia
    HK$310
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Official Site
  • Expedia
    HK$617
  • Booking.com
4.3 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
    HK$690
  • Agoda.com
14.2 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$788
  • eDreams
4.2 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
大堂吧
HK$551
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
14.5 km from Baoan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$564
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
  • Hotels.com
28.1 km from Baoan Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
22
67
26
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
67
26
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

1. Conveniently located in Dong Fang Road of Pu Dong commercial centre
2. Well-mannered staff and quick check-in process
3. Large, comfortable rooms with good view of the city from higher floors
4. Well-appointed rooms and suites with a clean and warm get-up
5. Rooms include all amenities one can think of including Mini Bar, Tea Maker, Cookies/Candies, eSafe, toiletries, stationery, bath-robe etc
6. In spite of several times of stay, have not had a single opportunity of having to call someone to rectify some defect!
7. A 24-hrs convenience stores at the lobby level is very ideal
8. Good breakfast spread with sufficient vegetarian items too
9. Appeals to people from any country - asian, european or american!
10.On the flipside, few English Channels on TV; late opening of the Gym and automatic temperature setting during autumn and winter without giving you the option!
11.A deserved recommendation for business as well as family travel to Shanghai!

Room tip: Rooms on higher floors provide a better view!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

This is a nice hotel centrally located in Shanghai. This is my 2nd stay here. I typically stay here the night before I fly back to the states. Lots of great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Airport is 20 miles away, but with traffic that translates into 1 hour.

As I said its a nice hotel, but it is dated. Beds are old but acceptable. Rooms are nicely appointed but the ac is not very cold. City views from the rooms are non-existent, at least from the 6th floor.

Breakfast is a good mix of eastern food and they try western but it leaves a bit to be desired. All in it is a decent hotel for a night or two and I will be back.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank emcm600
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2017

The hotel is in very nice location, just outside there is a big shopping mall that has all sorts of restaurants, fast food, coffee shops etc.
Very near there is also a shopping mall for electronics, mobiles etc. Banks are nearby too.
You can take a taxi to take you to People's square, it's less than 10min drive.
The hotel has been doing some room improvements over the years, including larger tv, better internet etc. Can't complain about the rooms, they are spacious but somewhat older style. There is mini bar, and all the usual facilities in this hotel category.
The staff is polite, but only the reception staff speak english, and not so good.
Food is mainly chinese, has very few western options. Room service is available, but can hardly communicate in english.
There is a watson's store inside, which is very convenient if you want to buy some snacks, drinks etc.
It has been my choice since 2012, but i have grown rather tired of it and its mainly chinese customer orientation.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ilias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I have been reading the last 10-15 reviews of this hotel and i must say that i never experienced any of the issued mentioned .Stayed here again mid december for a single night before a flight to Europe.This must have been my 10th stay in the place and i am always satified.Internet is good...TV i do not care about....food plenty available in the mall opposite the hotel. Cheaper and more choice. Will be back without hesitation

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

(1) Hotel is worse than described online. The worst experience is the window view from our room (see picture attached). (2) Internet was not reliable at all. One time it was not working for hours without any explanation. (3) Sound proof quality is very bad - we could hear most of conversation from next room. (4) there is no extra roll of toilet tissue, we had to call the front desk when it ran out in the middle of night. (5) there isn't no CNN or any foreign News channels on their cable TV, can't connect to google or Facebook through their internet. We didn't have any of above problem when we stayed in a similar hotel in the area. Will not stay here next time, not recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Autumn_Huge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews