We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
walkinthebush
Manila, Philippines

Very good location in Pudong

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Sept 2014
We are from overseas and needed a not so expensive place to hole in for 2 weeks while we helped our nephew move in the university- not bad at <$40 per day per room, without breakfast. Rooms are standard in size, old, smelled of cigarettes. Front desk staff speak English and are always accomodating. Best thing is the location - an asian fast food shop a few steps away,, a convenience store, Family Mart 10 m away, a digital electronics mall, McDonalds and a big Foodmall a block away.More importantly, it is walking distance from the Century Avenue metro station where almost all train lines pass, including the direct train to Pudong Airport. ( only for 6 yuan compared to the taxi which cost 150 yuan) Although it's not in the heart of the popular shopping and tourist spots of th metros are very cheap, efficient and clean. Taxis are unreliable and you might get lost if you dont have someone write your destination in Chinese characters.
Date of stay: August 2014
Room Tip: Ask for a nonsmoking room. Bring your own air freshener or air purifier.
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
HK$723
  • Agoda.com
    HK$576
  • Hotels.com
    HK$701
  • Trip.com
    HK$748
3.6 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Restaurant
公寓外观
HK$1,193
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,108
  • Agoda.com
    HK$987
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,124
2.0 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby view
HK$924
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$804
  • Agoda.com
    HK$713
  • Trip.com
    HK$722
4.0 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
HK$691
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$668
  • Agoda.com
    HK$614
  • Trip.com
    HK$686
14.5 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$314
  • Hotels.com
    HK$310
  • Agoda.com
    HK$303
  • Trip.com
    HK$328
1.4 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
HK$618
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$709
  • Vio.com
    HK$570
  • Agoda.com
    HK$593
4.1 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$1,184
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$1,184
  • Trip.com
    HK$1,124
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,184
2.3 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Pool
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
HK$827
HK$522
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Trip.com
    HK$608
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$827
  • Vio.com
    HK$522
4.1 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Restaurant
酒店大堂
HK$333
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$284
  • Vio.com
    HK$283
16.2 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$526
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    HK$506
  • Expedia
    HK$754
  • Vio.com
    HK$506
28.4 km from Ji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
5
32
32
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
32
32
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as the fist location during a China holiday. Good central location, close to ATM banking, reasonable street stalls and taxi access. Reception staff were pleasant and cold communicate sufficiently in English, although not overly enthusiastic. There was a reception saferoom for passports which worked well. Rooms were adequate and heating and showers worked well. Appropriately priced as a 3 star hotel.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bblastoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This hotel is located just opposite Intercontinental Hotel and it is so convenient to get anything you want (as it is surrounded by shopping malls and lots of restaurants).

About the room, i stayed 2 weeks in executive room (old furniture but OK to sleep). My room's power saving device was not functioning properly, it was very annoying when the light kept turning off. So, i asked front desk about it....and they sent someone to fix it... and it was fixed in 10 minutes.

Nothing exciting about their facilities. Note: the kettles don't look very clean; don't bother to ask the housekeeping to change because they probably get lousier one for you.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillianginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2010

The rooms were pretty average...bed, shower, TV etc...there were many cable channels, so that was a plus point! However one point to note is all the channels were in Mandarin...except BBC...

The staff speak mainly in Mandarin. Whatever level of English they can speak is very low...so if you can only speak in English...and no Mandarin...I hope you won't have many requests...or you might end up frustrated.

However this is not to say the staff are not helpful. On the contrary, I find them very service-orientated. Like when I tried to travel to certain tourist destinations, they were ready to advise on which was the best mode of transport to go (Eg. MRT, taxi) and what the approximate cost would be. They were also quick to deliver the electrical adapters for our usage and there is free broadband internet. But you have to use your own computers.

The location is pretty decent. Taxi will bring you to most tourist destinations for about 12 - 20 yuan. (12 yuan is the starting price for a taxi ride). Most taxi drivers who start their meters will not cheat you. The only drivers who would cheat you are those who DO NOT start their meters. Always insist on the meter and take the receipt from them. The hotel is near shopping malls (Yaohan!) and food places.

The spa at the 3rd floor certainly looks dubious. When the lift doors open, I see paintings of naked women on the walls (I don't know if they can attribute it to artistic value). I certainly didn't dared to step out to find out.

On the whole, I wouldn't mind staying at this place again for the location and helpful staff...but that would be all.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Stayed here due in part to my colleague who wanted to be in the Pudong New Commercial district. Got jostled around a bit with the cost of the room, mine ended up being cheaper than his by about 100RMB, although the rooms were the same. You have to pay the fee for your booked accommodation in advance plus a little extra as a deposit, which you get back on check-out. The breakfast is Chinese variety, which I usually like, although the quality of the food here is ok to poor depending on the items your select from the buffet.
All in all I think you could do better regarding quality and price, as there are many new or newly refurbished business hotels proper in the vicinity.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2009

The hotel is good, even if the furnitures are not brand new, there is everything you need.
Some bottles of water are available every morning.
Unfortunately there is currently a yard just near the hotel and it is very noisy, but this is common for Shanghai.
The breakfast is mainly chinese style.

Date of stay: February 2009
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank kernel255
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews