We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
426
437
72
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
437
72
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nanjing road great location people's square minute walk sister hotel pedestrian mall walking street people's park main shopping comfortable beds buffet breakfast stayed for nights great room speak english chinese food excellent hotel metro station
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 967 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Checking in was a complete nightmare: apparently this hotel is government owned; each person has to be photographed before being given their room key; so checking in for a group of 40 took over an hour! No other hotel on our tour round China did this.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mex876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in Central Hotel Shanghai. The hotel has great location, few meters from the shopping street and about 15min walk to the Bund.
We had a room at 23rd floor and enjoyed nice views of pudong skyscrapers. The room was huge with a clean bathroom and very comfortable bed.
Breakfast offered a good variety of western food, a bit more fruit options would be welcomed.
English of hotel staff was very well so it was easy to communicate with them.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zuzanap655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Spent 6 nights at Central Hotel. Great location close to numerous eating and shopping establishments. Hotel staff is helpful but tends to be abrupt( more cultural verses on purpose). Rooms were very clean, nicely decorated and modern. WIFI worked great and plenty of toilet amenities were offered. I had a room on the 9th floor it was very quiet and I was very happy with the view. Concierge is helpful in booking a cab for a particular destination. Hotel is also close to the Shanghai subway station which I found relatively easy to navigate. The hotel has a cash exchange machine in the lobby but NO ATM. Be aware that numerous ATM's in Shanghai has issues with US bank cards. Overall I was very happy and will return.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Our room was really good, large and clean and comfortable. The shower and bathroom were good. Housekeeping did a nice job. The lobby was scented, not by people wearing too much perfume but quite deliberately with a strong scent that was off putting. My observation is that hotels in China see the function of a lobby differently than Westerners do. There is virtually no where to sit (except one small uncomfortable coach) in an enormous lobby. If one of you gets downstairs early, you sort of stand around waiting for your partner. The breakfast offerings were the least successful we had in China. On a bright note, the Peninsula Hotel was about a 17 minute walk away on the Bund.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank saipanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This is our second stay at Central Hotel Shanghai and we were not disappointed! Our room was readily available, large and clean, although the decor is a little dated. The space and layout more than made up for the slightly dated decor though. We had a fantastic view out over the Pedestrian Mall, watching the early morning locals doing their exercises there before the hustle and bustle of the business day started. Breakfast at the buffet was lovely and more than adequate. The staff at the Concierge Desk deserve a special mention as they went above and beyond chasing up our transfer to the cruise terminal when our driver was a little late arriving. All in all, we would definitely recommend the Central Hotel, very conveniently located for all Shanghai attractions, in a large comfortable room with all amenities that you need for a terrific stay.

Room tip: Ask for a view over the pedestrian mall and up high if possible
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews