We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
83
103
31
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
103
31
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews changfeng park breakfast buffet convention exhibition center shopping mall wifi worked well room decor large hotel five nights lovely hotel would definitely stay here again comfortable beds amenities china kfc taxi subway gym
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Gouman for two nights as part of our Sinorama China tour. Not centrally located but Changfeng Mall is across the street for shopping and lots of dining options. We had a fine view of Changfeng Park and city high rises from our 10th floor room. Very nice property. Modern room decor, decent size with many amenities. Free Wi-Fi (slow), comfortably firm bed, nice linens, good pillows, large TV with English channels, writing desk, Fridge, safe, bathrobes, iron & ironing board, separate shower and tub, kettle for instant coffee and tea and a nice touch, night lights on a motion censor so if you need to get up during the night, your path will be lighted.
Breakfast buffet was included in our package and it was the best of this trip. The only down side is the everywhere in China smokers. Room was OK but the common areas and the bar are not smoke free, rules or not.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guoman-GM, Director of Marketing Communications at Guoman Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We wish you had a pleasant journey in Shanghai, pleased to hear that you satisfied with our room, the view and our breakfast. Guest satisfaction is always our first priority. Hope to serve you soon in this dynamic city in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

My husband and I stayed here for the last couple of nights of our 15 day Wild China Sinorama Tour. We were pleasantly surprised how comfortable the bed was (not HARD like all the previous hotels and the bed on the river cruise) and for ONCE, we didn't smell any SMOKE in our room. Unfortunately, we did smell smoke in the corridors. The room was nice, quiet and modern but not as large as some of the previous hotels. Also, this was the only hotel used on our tour that the windows do not open. Our room had a walk in shower only but I heard that the other travelers on our bus tour had showers and tubs in their rooms. Not a big deal for my husband and I as we are shower people. I should also mentioned that the hair dryer is by the bed. I had to blow dry my hair from the outlet by the bed, not in the bathroom because the outlet doesn't have the right voltage for the dryer. I'm not sure if that is only in this particular room.

The breakfast was great but sadly, we were only able to enjoy it once as we had a very early departure flight for home the next morning. It was the only breakfast buffet on the whole trip that had perfectly cooked medium sliced roast beef! My husband was tired of all the lazy Susan Chinese meals that he was so happy that he could make a nice thick roast beef sandwich for breakfast!

I believe this is the most expensive hotel that Sinorama used on this particular tour and maybe being that it is in a big city like Shanghai, prices are higher. I hope Sinorama continues to use this hotel because this one, by far, offers the best sleep for my husband and I on the whole trip! :)

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank littleyellowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guoman-GM, Director of Marketing Communications at Guoman Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Wai Yee L,
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We wish you had a pleasant journey in Shanghai, pleased to hear that you satisfied with our room and breakfast.
Guest satisfaction always our first priority. Hope to serve you soon in this dynamic city in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Lovely Large Hotel with views across Park and Shopping Centres. The rooms are spacious and clean (again some areas could be cleaned a little better) Shower was great and the bath was heaven after walking for 12 hours! Breakfast was lovely and they were only too happy to make fresh food on demand (ie omelette's etc) Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Fantastic Bubble Bath!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mother26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guoman-GM, Director of Marketing Communications at Guoman Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Mother26,
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Guest satisfaction is always our first priority. Hope to serve you soon in the near future. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel, which was smart with very nicely finished, spacious rooms. The location is not as central as some might like, but it was by no means remote.

The buffet breakfast was good; perhaps not the best that we enjoyed during our tour but better than some. Once again, the achilles heel in the buffet was a well intentioned fancy but temperamental coffee machine - whoever is supplying these to the hotels is providing bad advice i.e. a superior domestic or small office grade machine is being proferred for a busy large hotel environment. The service was friendly and effective.

Overall, a nice place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyMcGonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guoman-GM, Director of Marketing Communications at Guoman Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear AndyMcGonegal,
Thank you for being our guest. And also thanks for sharing your positive experience when you staying with us.
Hope to serve you soon in the near future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

My husband and I stayed here three nights as part of an excellent Gate 1 China tour. The room was great - very quiet, with a large bathroom and shower. There are a bunch of switches to operate drapes and lights - a little confusing but kind of fun. Very comfortable bed. Our stay included the excellent buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant, complete with fresh juices, a chef making omelets and a self-serve cappuccino machine. There's an ATM in the lobby, which worked fine and was very convenient to get cash upon our arrival in China. While not advertised much, we discovered there's a large pool on the third floor. There are excellent changing and shower facilities. You'll be required to purchase a swim cap (a little odd for us Americans) at a cost of about $5. There's a mall across the street from the hotel with a multitude of restaurants - the pasta place there was pretty good. We had one free day to explore the city, and the helpful hotel concierge pointed out how to get to the Metro, an easy 5-10 minute walk away. From there it was easy to get to the area across from the Bund with all the skyscrapers. Recommend going up Shanghai Tower - awesome views! The museum in the basement of the Oriental Pearl is also worthwhile for an overview of Shanghai history, with recreated city scenes. Well worth the $7 or so to get in. We enjoyed Shanghai and lot and hope to return some day.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeanette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guoman-GM, Director of Marketing Communications at Guoman Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Jeanette1,
Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service. Our concierge are always willing to support. Guest satisfaction always our first priority.
Hope to serve you soon in the near future. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews