We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Arabella J
Sydney, Australia

Great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2019
Was travelling with a friend, and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Very reasonably priced. Our room was quite small, but adequate, modern and very clean. Our room was on the street side and it was very quiet (2nd floor). Mattresses were quite firm, but that seems to be the norm in China. My friend found the mattresses a bit too hard, but I slept well. Breakfast was included - a reasonable amount of choice, and included fruit, yoghurt, pastries, etc, if you don't want to eat the Chinese food also on offer. Front desk staff were pleasant. They didn't speak much English, but we got by with google translate (we were in China after all). Fantastic location!! We walked everywhere (we do like to walk) - not far to the Bund, or People's Square or People's Park. Close to metro stations, and one block away from some great restaurants and street food. We soon learned it is very hard to get a taxi in Shanghai - even if you have the hotel book one for you. From the airport was fine, and early in the morning, but otherwise, plan to take the metro.
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$669
  • Expedia
0.2 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$979
  • Official Site
0.8 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,255
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Pool
公寓外观
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,257
  • Expedia
2.1 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$785
  • Official Site
0.9 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$765
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
HK$669
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$692
  • Agoda.com
    HK$615
  • Trip.com
    HK$791
17.2 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Free parking
salle restaurant campanile Shangai bund
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$554
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Restaurant
大堂吧
HK$552
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
17.6 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$476
  • eDreams
3.9 km from Atour Qingju Hotel Shanghai Dashijie
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
8
8
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
8
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2019

We stayed three nights in this hotel at the beginning of September 2019. The name 'Atour on the Bund' would suggest that it is close to Shanghai's glamour mile, but it isn't really. The walk to the Bund takes approximately 20 minutes and isn't pleasant.
The rooms are small and spartanic. Finding space for two large suitcases is a challenge. Our room was on the second floor overlooking Jinling East Rd, and street noise was a major issue. It also had an extremely unpleasant smell, and there was a significant amount of mould around the aircon outlets. Aircon, however, worked, and the bathroom was ok.
The matresses were very hard, and I woke up with backpain every morning.
There is free Wifi in the rooms but our connection was slow and dropped out frequently.
We were on a so called non-smoking floor, but observed frequently that other guests smoked in their rooms with their doors open. Staff couldn't have cared less.
Front desk staff speak no English and rely on interpreter smartphone apps.
The breakfast was ok.
On the day of our departure, front desk staff were unable to organize a taxi for us to get to Hongqiao train station. In the end we missed our train, could not get on a later train and ended up paying for a 350 km taxi ride.
We cannot recommend this hotel. The four star rating is a joke - two stars would be closer to reality. The place seems to be run by amateurs.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fotomate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2019

The hotel is near the Huangpu River (1.5km), so you can get there very easy. It is located in the middle of the zone called "The Bund", which refers to the buildings and wharves on this section of the road, as well as some adjacent areas. It is one of the most famous tourist destinations in Shanghai, so you will have a good location. Also there are 2 banks just a few steps from the hotel, so you could exchange your money to RMB really quick and easy.

About the room, mine was very small, barely just the bathroom and the king size bed, with a little closet to put our things. Also there was a TV for entertaining. The purpose of my trip was business and leisure, so I was just sleeping in the room, so it was fine for me not to have more space. You will have everything you need to take a shower, even a new toothbrush everyday. Breakfast is buffet, so you will have many options to choose, just remember that you will be on a Chinese hotel, so expect many Chinese food options. Food was good for me, but for my couple it was a heavy-flavor experience.

Check In is really quick, and check out is quicker. You could find some tables on the reception and the staff will give you some hot tea to drink there. If you have trouble speaking Chinese, don't worry, they have a translation device that will help you (and help them) to understand.

Room tip: My room was on the 4th floor and it was really quiet!
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fetorocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

The title says it all. The staff are nice enough. The rooms and the hotel itself feel grubby and dated. The bathroom has an old plastic feel to it with cigarette burns on the toilet and shower floor. It feels very basic. I heard scurrying in the ceiling last night which can't be anything other than rats. No evidence of rats in the room but I am not confident.

The location is convenient but not many more positive points than that.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tromboner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2024
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews