We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diego
Shanghai, China

Mr. Bilić

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2021via mobile
I spent a wonderful twelve nights at this hotel, a room overlooking the park on the top floor. The staff is always at your service and at a very high level of courtesy. All the little details that make a pleasant stay in such a hotel are available. Great position in the middle of Shanghai for day and evening tours. I definitely recommend it for those looking for affordable accommodation and real value for money. A small complaint about the internal noise, but it is still up to the behavior of individual guests.
If I have another opportunity will not hesitate to book again this hotel.
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
    HK$701
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby view
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$922
  • Official Site
0.6 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
公寓外观
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,272
  • Expedia
1.9 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
    HK$618
  • Official Site
0.7 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$1,375
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
    HK$691
  • Agoda.com
17.2 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Classiq Double Room at the Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$828
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
    HK$310
  • Agoda.com
3.7 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
大堂吧
HK$552
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
17.7 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$469
  • eDreams
3.8 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
116
114
31
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
114
31
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2020

We stayed here for three nights during our time in Shanghai. It was very new at this stage super clean and located a five-minute walk from the metro (which is the easiest way to get around Shanghai). The staff were very polite and they did a very good value breakfast buffet. Very simple and low thrills but in a great area for getting around and nice and quiet.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savannahw665
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, Manager at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Thank you for writing about your stay here at the Campanile. This is the way for opportunity that we get a true reflection of our service and also see how we could improve and remain strong. We hope to see you again, Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it has good rating on TripAdvisor, good location, best value and part of a western hotel group. We stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is around 400-700 m walk from Yu Yuan garden or Dashijie metro station. Hotel location is pretty good. We took a cab from hotel to Shiliupu marina (to take river cruise) for rmb15. Most of time we walked as it’s not easy to find a cab for short ride. ( to Nanjing rd , Chenhuang Miao,or the Bund).

We reached hotel on 24Dec around 4.15-4.30 pm but room was not ready. We had to wait for 15-20 mins but it’s ok for us because we had no much activity on that day. A hotel porter ( a guy. We didn’t ask his name) greeted us friendly and very helpful through our out stay. It’s been nice to have such good service in China.

Room itself is new and good. Room size is sufficient for us and luggages. Everything is in order. The only downside is the heater. We felt too hot in the room but we couldn’t adjust the temperature (common issue in other China hotels). We turned off the heater and we opened the window at night.

We are very happy with our stay. We don’t need to pay a high price to get a good hotel stay in a nice location in Shanghai. I highly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Beaniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for writing about your stay here at the Campanile. This is the way for opportunity that we get a true reflection of our service and also see how we could improve and remain strong. We hope to see you again, Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

We travelled as family with a toddler and stayed for 3 nights.

Room: Neat and clean rooms with all amenities. The cookies replenished everyday were tasty (Standard Twin Room)

Service: While the reception staff spoke limited English it was enough for us to get by. A special mention to the attendant helping the reception staff. He was really warm and helpful throughout our stay. On the day of check out he helped us hail a taxi for a short distance to the nearest MTR (which is very difficult to convince the driver). It was raining and we had a lot of luggage with us plus a toddler.

Breakfast: The spread was decent. Had both Chinese and continental options. It was more or less the same everyday with some changes here and there.

Location: What we truly loved about this hotel. It's proximity to 2 MTR stations (Yu Yuan and Dashijie), People's Square, Nanjing Street, Bund, Yu Yuan. All within walking distance and we were with a toddler. Barely used taxi throughout our stay. Also, the hotel is right outside this peaceful park which makes it so perfect. Tranquility within the hustle and bustle.

Amenities: All that you need. Linen wasn't changed (not needed really), the housekeeping did keep changing the slippers (we forgot to tell them not to) but I find it's a waste and not necessary. We could have used the same pair throughout our stay.

Room tip: Ask for room facing the park.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadGargi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for writing about your stay here at the Campanile. This is the way for opportunity that we get a true reflection of our service and also see how we could improve and remain strong. We are very happy that you can have a wonderful stay in our hotel! We hope to see you again! Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

I read hundreds of reviews before booking this hotel so I’m keen to give you an honest opinion.

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city between peoples square and the bund. In front of the hotel is a park where locals practice Thai Chi in the mornings ( faint sounds of pip music) and locals gather to discuss the days events - a real authentic experience away from the large corporate hotels that do not give you a traditional Chinese experience. The staff have basic English - enough to get by and are very friendly. The room was lovely and very clean and practice sustainability so no linen changes which is a plus , (also who changes their linen everyday at home) but always fresh tea coffee water and biscuits. Buffet breakfast was extra but well worth it and you get asked on arrival if you want this.

We came to see Shanghai and not spend time in the hotel but was lovely to come back each night to a warm, clean and welcoming hotel so this was absolutely perfect for us.
I would absolutely stay here again and choose it above the overpriced super hotels of the bund. This is a good mix of Chinese experience in a European hotel

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear guest,
We are honored that you choose our hotel. I saw your reviews and felt satisfied. I am pleasure you stay our hotel and hope to see you next time. Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019

This hotel is located within a short walk of several subway stations including the main hub of People's Square. It's also a short walk to the Bund and the river. Surrounding are many restaurants and some nice parks. The front staff who were dealing with us all seemed to be able to communicate in English.

Our room was clean and fairly spacious, with well-thought furniture. There is a kettle in the room, with bottled water and cookies provided daily. The bed was firm and comfortable. Air conditioning worked well. There is a large TV in the room and a safe.

Despite being close to main roads, and being across the street from a park, it was remarkably quiet.

They offered a "deal" on breakfast if you signed up at arrival. But, really, you can get decent breakfasts at numerous places within a few blocks for less than half the price.

We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Dear guests, thank you for your recognition of our works, to bring you convenience, is what we should do. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews