We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Babalu
Vancouver, BC

Good tourist hotel on quiet street close Bund & Yu Garden

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2019
Good tourist hotel on quiet street close to Bund & Yu Garden

We had a good stay in October and would recommend this hotel which represented a good value for us.

Our room was available to us despite arriving a bit earlier and we were very happy with our accommodations. The room was very spacious, updated and modern. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as we preferred to eat out in the city but business seemed steady. The metro was 10+ minutes away but there were 2 stations that you could access for convenience. The Shanghai metro is awesome and very easy to use and navigate as we used it exclusively, and only took a taxi once at night when we were too tired to walk anymore.

The few negatives are that the room was a bit dark as I like a lot of light and I did have an issue with keeping the shower door water tight as the floor towel did get quite wet during our showers.
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 30 Nov 2019
Dear guest: We are glad you to choose our hotel. We hope you will stay with us next time. Merci!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$828
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$630
  • Hotels.com
    HK$655
  • Trip.com
    HK$875
0.3 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby view
HK$858
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$747
  • Agoda.com
    HK$700
  • Trip.com
    HK$711
0.6 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
公寓外观
HK$1,286
HK$1,211
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,245
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,286
  • Expedia
    HK$1,286
1.9 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior View
HK$815
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$710
  • Agoda.com
    HK$626
  • Official Site
    HK$776
0.7 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
HK$588
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$589
  • Agoda.com
    HK$542
  • Trip.com
    HK$599
17.2 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
酒店大堂
HK$306
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    HK$261
13.0 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$834
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$1,045
  • Trip.com
    HK$733
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,045
0.7 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$2,226
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    HK$1,988
  • Expedia
  • Hotels.com
19.1 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$826
HK$511
Multiple ways to pay
  • Expedia
    HK$826
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
31.9 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
高级双人房
HK$516
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$436
  • Hotels.com
    HK$554
  • Trip.com
    HK$484
2.7 km from Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Shanghai
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
116
114
31
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
114
31
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2019

Easy check-in, large comfortable rooms (WIFI in all rooms) with a very nice bathroom make a good mood already at the entrance.
The location made it possible to reach the BUND in about 15 minutes walk. The BUND is especially in the evening with the illumination an absolute highlight. Metrostation only some minutes to go. Taxis in minutes at the hotel, taxi fares very reasonably priced.
The hotel itself located in a quiet side street with a park visavis.
The restaurant is kept in the style of a French bistro and serves as a breakfast room, day room and in the evening as a restaurant.
Everything very uncomplicated.
A hotel that can be highly recommended for a city trip to Shanghai.

Room tip: If you choose a room to the unsightly backyard, it is much quieter than the street side overlooking the park.
Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudolfherbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Dear guest: We are glad you to choose our hotel. We hope you will stay with us next time. Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019

The only good thing about this establishment is its location otherwise dont bother. The bar fridge in my room wasnt working reported it twice and the staff did absolutely nothing about it, 4 nights with no fridge, what a joke. Bed linen wasnt changed either by housekeeeping and also food poisoning from food ordered from the hotel kitchen. Ruined a good week in Shanghai. Also, no glassware, crockery or cutlery provided in the rooms, would have been cheaper to stay at a backpacker hostel.

Room tip: dont book a room
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Trevoooor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you for writing about your stay here at the Campanile. This is the way for opportunity that we get a true reflection of our service and also see how we could improve and remain strong. For your suggestions, we will find our problems ASAP and also will fix this kind of problems. Otherwise, we will do more training to our staff. We hope that you could contact our hotel and give us more details and suggestions. See you again, Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

Had a comfortable stay for 4 days, best part is the location from popular spots (The bund, yuyuan garden,etc) approx 15 min walk. Also subway station is very nearby.
Hotel staff was very friendly. Definitely going to stay here on my next trip.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank makuj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear guests, thank you for your recognition of our works, to bring you convenience, is what we should do. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

We found this hotel to be of very good value, the position was excellent. Our room was clean well presented with an excellent sized bathroom.
The staff were both helpful and friendly, the foyer had a small coffee shop type environment witch we found quite trendy and friendly.
We would definitely use this hotel again if we are lucky enough to come back to Shanghai.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thank you for writing about your stay here at the Campanile. This is the way for opportunity that we get a true reflection of our service and also see how we could improve and remain strong. We hope to see you again, Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located in a hutong not far from the river. Convenient to the Bund, Yu Garden, River cruises, metro. Staff is helpful, breakfast, both western and Chinese was great—good way to start the day! Room was very comfortable & clean. Good bed! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank guacopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander719151, 客户关系经理 at Campanile Shanghai Bund Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thank you for writing about your stay here at the Campanile. This is the way for opportunity that we get a true reflection of our service and also see how we could improve and remain strong. We hope to see you again, Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews