We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Hotels.comUS$119
ExpediaUS$119
Agoda.comUS$119
ZenHotels.comUS$119
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
419
122
64
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
419
122
64
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perch state park valet parking self park food craft park view beautiful hotel rocking chairs conference center wearing masks free bikes parking lot ping pong pool side king room bunk beds fishing pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2021 via mobile

The property and beach were absolutely amazing.
SO many amenities, a bar, and restaurants.
PROS:
Free bike rentals - one bike per phone.
Ping pong poolside, as well as a bar and a gift shop.
Beach is not crowded and right next to Gulf State Park Pier.
Pool is beautiful-infinity edge and HANDICAPPED ACCESSIBLE.
Views from the room. Are incredible ( but crickets are louddddd)
TOWELS SMELL AMAZING, and I mean I LOVED it.
Staff was very friendly and you could TEXT them to request towels etc.
Short walk to the beach.
Beds were lovely.
Has a fridge but NO microwave on the premises that we could fine.
Ice machines
Bathroom was big!
CONS:
pool wasn't very deep, and the lighting was terribly dark.
The poolside bar closed at 6pm.
Ungodly walk from your car to hotel. So unload before you head to park your car.
Not within walking distance to anything- but if you know the area, you know the state park is just a walk over the bridge!

I wish I could have stayed longer !

Room tip: Unload luggage to your room before you park ( they allow it :) ) Pool is really dark in the evening, so be careful!
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Hi Ashley,
We are so thrilled that we assisted in creating such a wonderful getaway experience for you! We appreciate your array of compliments for our numerous amenities, including easy access to the uncrowded beach, complimentary bike share program, kids games and activities poolside, amazing views of the Gulf of Mexico and Gulf State Park, spacious bathrooms, handicapped accessible pool, our friendly and helpful staff and amazing awesome towels!
We also appreciate your additional feedback. Please allow us to address your concerns:
The depth of the pool allows for guests of all ages to enjoy the pool and be safe. Dragonfly Pool Bar is open until sunset in the summer months and closes a bit earlier in the Fall season. We understand your concern with parking. With parking located on the west side of the hotel grounds, no guest rooms overlook the parking lot. All guest rooms have one of two spectacular views…either the majestic Gulf of Mexico or gorgeous Gulf State Park and Lake Shelby. We do apologize if the walk seemed excessive. And finally, our ideal beachfront location inside beautiful Gulf State Park offers a relaxing and tranquil getaway for our guests, with no condo towers or other buildings on either side of the hotel.
Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to greeting you with a smile again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2021

Room overlooking pool was very loud because of kids playing all day and up to midnight. Would not make that mistake again. Surprised at the number of little issues that kept popping up. Outstanding staff and beautiful facilities, but there were problems in the details. Incredible poor excuse for oysters for dinner at the Food Craft...did not know it was legal to harvest oysters smaller than a nickel! Could not get temperature in room adjusted above 62 degrees for 2 nights. Handicap accessible door did not work on lobby floor going out to patio. Asked for room to be cleaned and that was ignored. Pool lights kept flashing off and on most of the night several nights and when asked for help was told that front desk did not know who was in charge of lights. And disappointed that for all my points I turned in for a couple of nights was only given discount on those two nights. But your highlight is the excellent valet staff you have. Superb!

Room tip: Avoid rooms overlooking pool unless you want a lot of noise.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wetlandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Hi wetlandtom,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments for our gorgeous facilities and staff associates, however we regret to hear we did not meet your overall expectations.
We understand your disappointment with fellow guests who were loud by the pool and not considerate of others. The pool closes at 10 pm, and should have had minimal noise in that area through the night.
Please accept our most sincere apology regarding the temperature in your room. Thank you for letting us know. We will be sure to have engineering follow up with an inspection. We also appreciate your feedback about the handicapped door and pool lights.
Thanks again for your comments and praise for our staff associates. We value hearing about the items we do well, in addition to the areas we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021 via mobile

This hotel has a fabulous location on the Gulf of Mexico and a wonderful physical plant. We looked forward to three relaxing days at the property.

But it is not staffed or managed to deliver services justifying the $1,600 we paid for three nights. The Food and Beverage service is a train wreck. For two of the three nights the restaurants were simply unable to seat us. They suggested we use Door Dash or pizza delivery - or take a shuttle to another restaurant. We ate snack mix on Friday night and freezer sandwiches Sunday evening. We get they have problems, but we suggest they reduce their rates - or reduce the occupancy - or both until they figure it out.

Oh. Housekeeping services are by request only. Did we mention we paid $530 per night?

The staff that is working, is working hard, But management has put them in a no-win situation.

We wanted to give the property a five star rating. They only earned two. We check out tomorrow and will be going to Waffle House for breakfast.

Room tip: Get the valet parking. Ask for Room 220. Make an advanced reservation for every meal you expect to have - or bring your own food.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lapolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Hi Lapolla,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging our perfect beachfront location inside beautiful Gulf State Park. We regret to hear we did not meet your overall expectations.
We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory dining experience at Foodcraft. We appreciate your suggestions for our food and beverage team and will be sure to relay your feedback. The hotel and restaurants were indeed busy over the weekend. Please accept our most sincere apology for the wait time for a table. For future visits, the hotel offers complimentary tram rides to Woodside Restaurant, a unique and popular eatery just minutes from The Lodge. Woodside features fun for the entire family, including entertaining backyard games and live local music. Also, the gift shop located adjacent to the front desk also offers snacks and beverages.
During guests stay, housekeeping services are available upon request, as that is Hilton's new practice. We understand that this is a difficult time in the service industry and we strive to provide the same level of service and hospitality to all of our guest who make the choice to travel during this time.
We also appreciate your additional feedback regarding rates. The hotel's rates are comparable to similar level of service hotels on the Gulf Coast.
Thanks again for your comments. Your feedback helps us with training our associates and assists overall operations. We do appreciate your patronage and hope to see you on a future visit to Gulf Shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2021

We had an amazing stay at The Lodge. The rooms, the food, and the views are some of the best we have had at any hotel. The front desk attendant Mark was very accommodating helping us with an early check in. The location on the beach and distance to the state park can not be any more convenient. The pool area is great as well, a perfect place to relax. We decided to dine at The Perch Bar and Terrace. Great views and great food. The restaurant was very busy, but everyone there was very attentive and the food arrived fast and delicious. Thank you to all the hotel staff that worked so hard to make our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: October 2021
1  Thank RummbleStrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2021

Hi Rummble Strip,
We appreciate your review, and are thrilled to hear you full enjoyed your getaway with us! Our beachfront location inside beautiful Gulf State Park offers a quiet and relaxing stay, along with awesome views and great food. Thank you also for complimenting Mark and our staff associates. Our top priority is to provide the best hospitality possible. Thanks again. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2021

My wife and I just returned from a 6 night stay at The Lodge, and we absolutely loved it. The room was clean with a balcony overlooking the beach, and everything we needed. Room service is not an option with current covid protocol, but the front desk was very prompt in their response whenever we needed anything. The beach is very clean and never seemed crowded. We ate at all of the restaurants on site, and had great service and delicious meals every time. The guys who handle the valet parking did an excellent job, and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for our car. The staff overall was friendly and helpful, and gave us some great tips for off site places to visit and things to do. We would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: We loved our ocean view balcony room.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenrJ8472JX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2021

Hi Karenr,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team provided you with the friendly and personalized service we strive for!
We appreciate your array of compliments, from the awesome views from your room balcony, to great service from our front desk team and restaurant associates, to the valet team. Our family of associates proudly offer the best hospitality possible and love seeing our guests happy.
Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews