We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location but has issues”
Review of Piccadily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piccadily Hotel
Ranked #172 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 14 January 2018

I was part of a group tour and this hotel was our first hotel in India. I had booked pre-tour accommodation due to my flights. Upon arrival at the hotel it appeared that they did not have a booking and the reception staff got us to sit off to the side to try and sort it out. It took over an hour to get this sorted with the tour person finally getting it organised for us. This also happened at the end of the tour when we stayed here again before leaving India. They need to get their booking system sorted as it does not give a very good impression of the hotel when you first arrive.

The hotel itself has an impressive foyer, with a small cafe and a restaurant on the ground level. There are also two restaurants on the next level up. The restaurant on the lower floor provided an extensive breakfast buffet, with Indian, Chinese and western options available. Make sure you wear insect repellent as there are a number of mozzies around. It also has a swimming pool which is cleaned each day. However the pigeons enjoy the pool and I would not swim in it.

The rooms are clean and tidy, but are in need of refurbishing. We had two different rooms - one at the start of the tour on Level 8 and one on Level 7 at the end of the tour. We had good showers with plenty of hot water in both rooms, however this was not the experience for a lot of the people on our tour who had no hot water at all. Be aware that the room key deactivates at about midday each day and you have to get it reactivated. It is also needed in the lift to access your floor. The air conditioning unit was not working properly and despite being set for 18 degrees, it did not drop below 24. The toiletries are great, and there is a hair dryer in the bathroom. We received four bottles of complimentary water each day, which was great. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had no difficulty sleeping. There is also free wifi in the room - if you have difficulty getting it to work take your phone down to reception, as they seem to be able to get it to work.

There is a metro station a couple of minutes away. If you turn to the left outside the hotel there is a group of shops in the Unity One building a couple of minutes away. It has a number of food shops, including Burger King, and a nice cafe called Jon's Head Cafe, where you can get some nice food. To the right are also shops and more food places. The hotel does not necessarily allow you to bring in food and drink from outside and you have to go through security each time you return to the hotel.

I exchanged currency at the reception area, but there is a limited amount available as some others in the tour party discovered.

It may once have been a 5 star hotel, but it needs some maintenance done to get back up to that standard. The staff seem to work long hours but the reception staff need to know more about what is going on.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jewlzcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

I stayed here on two separate days in December and found consistent issues with lack of hot water in the bathrooms. Rooms and hallways are smelly and musty. The facility seems dated and overall quality is NOT of a 5 star hotel. To claim that is arrogance and at best a joke. They are closer to a lazy 4 star. The wait staff appear apathetic and some make you feel as if you are bothering them, a few however, were gracious but that was the exception. Getting napkins is a hard task as they seem to be a tightly held commodity in India. If you are planning a trip to India, bring your own napkins. The buffet has its highs and lows. There is good variety but very poorly cooked "Chinese" food. They dump cornstarch into every Chinese dish thinking that's how Chinese cooking must be. The lobby, however, is quite spacious and grand and has an attractive pastry stand. I think maybe this hotel was of 5 star quality years ago but I feel it has forgotten the importance of warmth, maintenance and attentiveness. I would not stay here next time I'm in New Delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kimmie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccadily2015, Front Office Manager at Piccadily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Piccadily, New Delhi.

I and my team are very sorry to learn that your experience with us fell below your expectations. I assure you that your detailed feedback and insights are very valuable to us. My team is referring the points you have brought up to take necessary corrective actions to improve on our product and services.

We as a team constantly strive to improvise and strengthen our service levels and therefore assure you that all appropriate actions will be taken to prevent recurrence of such incidents. Please be rest assured that the same shall not be experienced by yourself or any other guests in future

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience faced during your stay with us and give us an opportunity to deliver a marked improvement in our service levels.

We look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence.

Warm Regards,
Jayesh Borkar
jayesh.borkar@piccadilyhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Stayed at the Piccadilly janakpuri, in November. Arranged with the hotel prior to arrival for airport pick up which cost 2000 rupees.(perfect no issues)
Once arriving at the hotel we were like WOW! The hotel lobby is amazing huge!
The reception staff are totally useless, who don't have a clue, we booked through, booking. Com in the uk. Our room was an executive room with lounge access. The staff on reception had to make several inquiries, although I had this confirmed in writing and on email. They finally agreed to this after the manager was called. (A lot of our time was wasted on this issue)
Our room was on the top floor facing the city and pool view.
The room is in need of modernisation, although was spotless.
The staff at the restaurant are a credit to this hotel a big thank you to:
Dharvesh, who always bought our dosa freshly cooked with fresh fruit to our table.
Also big thank you to, kundan & Narinder at the bar, always bring our drinks with a smile. Karan bar manager thank you for sorting out the problems we experienced many times with the new boy sunil, who made our bar experience a misery.
Concierge dharvesh, laxmi, ainesh thank you for all you help with bags.
Thanks pooran, Davinder, Deepak, the guys at the lifts always happy to say hello.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay as this hotel as it is close to metro station , and also close to tilak nagar market.
This hotel staff(at reception) need to communicate with each other and be more professional at check in, as many people were complaining.

Room Tip: Have your confirmation to hand
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shar0nkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccadily2015, Front Office Manager at Piccadily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments about the hotel facilities and the services. It is indeed very heartening to know that you had a comfortable stay during your recent visit at Piccadily, New Delhi. I have addressed your concern and the inconvenience caused due to the delay in the check-in process.

I have shared your compliments with the Team members such as Kundan, Narinder, Davinder, Deepak and Dharvesh and thank you for your encouragement which will make us strive harder for exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and assure you of our best services at all times.

Warm Regards
Jayesh Borkar
jayesh.borkar@piccadilyhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a part of group booking not by choice. The rooms are large and comfortable by 5 star standards. Breakfast spread included in the room rent was excellent and offered good choices of Indian and continental cuisine. Metro station is right in the front of the hotel and it is very convenient to cover Tourism Delhi from this hotel.
On the negative side, the hotel needs serious maintenance efforts as quality of all fixtures is slipping below acceptable levels. There were issues with lifts, keys kept on getting deactivated on their own. One could see signs of wear and tear inside the room and in common areas. It seems the management has serious budgeting issues. I will probably think twice before booking room again till one can see positive reviews.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank BhallaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccadily2015, Front Office Manager at Piccadily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Piccadily, New Delhi.

I am happy to know that our spacious and well equipped room was to your liking. It is also heartening to know that you relished the Breakfast at our all day dining Restaurant. The hotel is conveniently located near the metro station offering rapid and easy access to all parts of the capital.

The shortfalls highlighted by you have been noted and my team and I area working towards addressing those gaps.

We look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence in our product and service and hope to see you with us soon.

Warm Regards,
Jayesh Borkar
jayesh.borkar@piccadilyhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a night in dec. The hotel badly requires maintenance. Entire night AC sound was disturbing. दूर lock was not working too which they rectified later after complaining. Light in the room was not regulated based on card and rather directly connected.
Could not use any facilities as had to leave early though.
Breakfast was good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank BalancedMover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccadily2015, Front Office Manager at Piccadily Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Piccadily, New Delhi.
It is very unfortunate that your stay did not reflect the quality that you expect from us. The shortfalls highlighted by you have been noted and my team and I are working towards addressing those gaps.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience faced during your stay with us. We hope you will treat these incidents in isolation and give us an opportunity to deliver a marked improvement in our service levels.

Warm Regards,
Jayesh Borkar
jayesh.borkar@piccadilyhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#646 of 779 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Park Inn By Radisson New Delhi IP Extension
The Suryaa
#21 of 779 in New Delhi
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccadily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccadily Hotel

Address: Janakpuri District Centre Complex, New Delhi 110058, India (Formerly Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: HK$563 - HK$1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Piccadily Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piccadily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Delhi Janakpuri Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing