We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Sri Lanka!”

Kandy Cooking Class by AGS
Ranked #1 of 11 Food & Drink in Kandy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Traditional Sri Lanka food is very enjoyable and world famous, but cooking it yourself adds yet another dimension to the experience. We do cooking classes in Kandy at a house located in quiet residential areas just outside the city. Each day of the week there are different menus on training, reflecting the cultural and culinary traditions of Sri Lanka,
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved our cooking class! Both the company and food was amazing. Although we were very close to the city, we felt so relaxed in the middle of a Sri Lankan village. The curries that we helped make were some of the best things we have ever tasted. We would definitely recommend this fantastic experience to anyone. We loved the whole family and we can’t wait to do it again soon!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank MariaW-1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"curries"
in 16 reviews
"sri lankan cooking"
in 8 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 6 reviews
"cooking experience"
in 6 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 8 reviews
"highly recommend this class"
in 4 reviews
"cooking course"
in 4 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 11 reviews
"cooking school"
in 3 reviews
"chicken curry"
in 3 reviews
"outdoor kitchen"
in 3 reviews
"market tour"
in 3 reviews
"amazing curry"
in 3 reviews
"welcoming family"
in 3 reviews
"learning how"
in 3 reviews
"jack fruit"
in 2 reviews
"coconut milk"
in 2 reviews
Filter

103 - 107 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We visited for a lunchtime cooking class and had a fantastic time. The hosts were extremely friendly and took time to explain all of the vegetables and spices before we started cooking and throughout the lesson. We made a wide variety of food and there was plenty of it too. We learnt so much. Transport to and from the class was also included in the cost which was great. Would highly recommend!

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank laurenb455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Had a great time at the cooking class! We made so many different dishes and they were all delicious! The hosts were so friendly, knowledgeable, and patient with teaching us cooking tips! The food at the end was amazing, the best we’ve had in Sri Lanka!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank elisegershman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Had a brilliant morning , cooking and eating the delights of Sri Lanka. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and explained all dishes thoughtfully enough I feel confident to attempt at home! Finished off with a delicious meal and ice cold beer. An absolute highlight!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Mike_blackpool123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We had a large group of 9 people and we were easily accommodated by Suresh and his lovely family. First we were taken to the market to buy the ingredients which was an opportunity to get insights to the heart of local life in Kandy. We picked some ingredients on the fly to determine what dishes we would later prepare. Then we were taken to their home in the village and learned how to cook the beautiful curries & dishes traditionally using old school tools & methods. We thoroughly recommend this if you want to immerse in an authentic local experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kandy Cooking Class by AGS also viewed

 

Been to Kandy Cooking Class by AGS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing