We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional restaurant!”
Review of Raan Tha Luang

Raan Tha Luang
Ranked #4 of 218 Restaurants in Ayutthaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$32
Description: An Authentic Thai Restaurant and Riverside Bar located along the Pa Sak river in Ayutthaya. Offering a unique dining experience & relaxing atmosphere while you take in the soothing sounds of the river, surrounded by artwork from local artists depicting life along the river. Or take in the sights whilst dining on our traditional Thai Rice barge as it glides gently along the waterways.
Restaurant details
Description: An Authentic Thai Restaurant and Riverside Bar located along the Pa Sak river in Ayutthaya. Offering a unique dining experience & relaxing atmosphere while you take in the soothing sounds of the river, surrounded by artwork from local artists depicting life along the river. Or take in the sights whilst dining on our traditional Thai Rice barge as it glides gently along the waterways.
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

I really and truly loved this restaurant. We came upon it by chance and were pleasantly surprised by how good this restaurant is. You can sit outside and have a nice view of the river or if your trying to escape the heat, you in sit in the air conditioned restaurant. It's very clean and nicely decided. Our server was very kind and prompt. He made us the best smoothies we had in Thailand. The food was so good and presented beautifully. The prices were very reasonable. I was very happy with this restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2016

Our guide from Ayutthaya Boat and Travel took us here after our bike ride. The restaurant is owned by that tour company and has both indoor and outdoor seating. Non, our very personable and knowledgeable guide, ordered several dishes for us including Pad Thai, sweet and sour chicken and curry soup along with a plate of fruit for dessert, way more than we could finish. It seems that Pad Thai is a safe bet for westerners and that is what most of our guides ordered. I would like to have been given more of a choice but we were hot and on a time schedule most of the time. After our lunch we boarded a long boat from the dock below our table and went for a delightful cruise around the island, as well as visiting some other sights. Saw a huge monitor lizard swimming in front of the boat which, by the way, surprised everyone.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Neat and clean. Near river. Friendly staff. Nothing bad to say. Reasonable prices. Not very far from historic site. You can enjoy the nice view of the river as well

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Tharaka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Visiting from the UK, I have eaten here twice in a few days - once in the restaurant itself, and once on the evening dinner cruise. The food was exceptionally good on both occasions, and the hosts were charming and attentive. Service was superb, and the location and ambience by the river is perfect. I would highly recommend this establishment. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DebbieTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I had been walking for a very long time searching for somewhere with fast wifi, vegetarian food and a relaxing atmosphere when I came across this place. Although they don't have many veg options on the menu, they are able to accommodate by altering the ingredients in some of the dishes. The food was good and a reasonable price, the location is great, just overlooking the river, so you can watch the interesting vessels float by as you dine. The staff were very friendly and so was the owner, who called a taxi for me when I was unsure how to get back to the station. Definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2016
1  Thank TanyaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raan Tha Luang also viewed

Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 

Been to Raan Tha Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing