We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Friendly place. ”
Review of Raan Tha Luang

Raan Tha Luang
Ranked #4 of 218 Restaurants in Ayutthaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$32
Description: An Authentic Thai Restaurant and Riverside Bar located along the Pa Sak river in Ayutthaya. Offering a unique dining experience & relaxing atmosphere while you take in the soothing sounds of the river, surrounded by artwork from local artists depicting life along the river. Or take in the sights whilst dining on our traditional Thai Rice barge as it glides gently along the waterways.
Restaurant details
Description: An Authentic Thai Restaurant and Riverside Bar located along the Pa Sak river in Ayutthaya. Offering a unique dining experience & relaxing atmosphere while you take in the soothing sounds of the river, surrounded by artwork from local artists depicting life along the river. Or take in the sights whilst dining on our traditional Thai Rice barge as it glides gently along the waterways.
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Neat and clean. Near river. Friendly staff. Nothing bad to say. Reasonable prices. Not very far from historic site. You can enjoy the nice view of the river as well

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Tharaka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2016

Visiting from the UK, I have eaten here twice in a few days - once in the restaurant itself, and once on the evening dinner cruise. The food was exceptionally good on both occasions, and the hosts were charming and attentive. Service was superb, and the location and ambience by the river is perfect. I would highly recommend this establishment. Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DebbieTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I had been walking for a very long time searching for somewhere with fast wifi, vegetarian food and a relaxing atmosphere when I came across this place. Although they don't have many veg options on the menu, they are able to accommodate by altering the ingredients in some of the dishes. The food was good and a reasonable price, the location is great, just overlooking the river, so you can watch the interesting vessels float by as you dine. The staff were very friendly and so was the owner, who called a taxi for me when I was unsure how to get back to the station. Definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2016
1  Thank TanyaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Smiley reception. Nice outdoor seating overlooking the river - looked like you could even hire the 'restaurant boat' for a private meal and tour of the river - we sat on the lower tier. Not the fastest service in the world once ordered and typical Thai as in no sense of the difference between starter and main - i.e. you inevitably receive the main before the starter but all part of the experience. Decent strawberry daquarie followed by the sour sausage, pineapple rice, garlic river prawns and a very good Tom Ka with plenty of flavour and heat. All at above average inc. presentation. Not anything memorable or amazing but certainly worth the 815bt which incl. 2 cocktails, 2 lg beers and a water. Overall felt a little smarter than the average riverside joint and some great photography on the walls as a bonus. Its had a recent refurb and through the outside and bar area are very tasteful I personally felt that the inside aircon area was rather unattractive and soulless. Would def go again - and maybe check out the boat for a private floating dinner for 2 next time.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We sat on the lower terrace by the water watching the boats pass by. Staff was very helpful. We chose two dishes for the kids: pineapple with fried rice & chicken and chicken sate with white rice. For ourselves we ordered two of the chef's specials: braised pork ribs and fried duck balinese style. Unfortunately these to dishes were very dissapointing, very small portions, and the ribs laked taste and the duck was too dark snd there was hardly any meat on both the ribs and duck.
Thankfully the kids' dishes were served with plenty of rice and the chicken sate was by far the best dish of the night.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Anouk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raan Tha Luang also viewed

Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 

Been to Raan Tha Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing