We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, service & food.”
Review of Raan Tha Luang

Raan Tha Luang
Ranked #4 of 218 Restaurants in Ayutthaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$32
Description: An Authentic Thai Restaurant and Riverside Bar located along the Pa Sak river in Ayutthaya. Offering a unique dining experience & relaxing atmosphere while you take in the soothing sounds of the river, surrounded by artwork from local artists depicting life along the river. Or take in the sights whilst dining on our traditional Thai Rice barge as it glides gently along the waterways.
Restaurant details
Description: An Authentic Thai Restaurant and Riverside Bar located along the Pa Sak river in Ayutthaya. Offering a unique dining experience & relaxing atmosphere while you take in the soothing sounds of the river, surrounded by artwork from local artists depicting life along the river. Or take in the sights whilst dining on our traditional Thai Rice barge as it glides gently along the waterways.
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Smiley reception. Nice outdoor seating overlooking the river - looked like you could even hire the 'restaurant boat' for a private meal and tour of the river - we sat on the lower tier. Not the fastest service in the world once ordered and typical Thai as in no sense of the difference between starter and main - i.e. you inevitably receive the main before the starter but all part of the experience. Decent strawberry daquarie followed by the sour sausage, pineapple rice, garlic river prawns and a very good Tom Ka with plenty of flavour and heat. All at above average inc. presentation. Not anything memorable or amazing but certainly worth the 815bt which incl. 2 cocktails, 2 lg beers and a water. Overall felt a little smarter than the average riverside joint and some great photography on the walls as a bonus. Its had a recent refurb and through the outside and bar area are very tasteful I personally felt that the inside aircon area was rather unattractive and soulless. Would def go again - and maybe check out the boat for a private floating dinner for 2 next time.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

We sat on the lower terrace by the water watching the boats pass by. Staff was very helpful. We chose two dishes for the kids: pineapple with fried rice & chicken and chicken sate with white rice. For ourselves we ordered two of the chef's specials: braised pork ribs and fried duck balinese style. Unfortunately these to dishes were very dissapointing, very small portions, and the ribs laked taste and the duck was too dark snd there was hardly any meat on both the ribs and duck.
Thankfully the kids' dishes were served with plenty of rice and the chicken sate was by far the best dish of the night.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Anouk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

'Riverside bar and eating place' - it says on the sign outside.
Freshly opened or renovated, this restaurant is nicely situated by the river on the 'island' of Ayutthaya.
You can sit outside or in an air-conditioned room.
The food - mainly Thai - is very good.
I loved the 'yam som-o' - pomelo salad.
The portion of fish was very little - for 150 Baht.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Really nice place next to river. Clean, good service and delicious dishes. I recommend this place, offers a wide range of tipical dishes at reasonable price

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Ifacalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

My wife, two young sons and I enjoyed a delicious Thai meal here on 28 December. We were originally looking for another place but couldn't find it and this looked lovely. There is seating inside and also two tiers of seating right on the river. On arrival, the staff quickly set up a fan for us and, without us asking, brought a high chair for our youngest. All staff were very smiley and helpful. All the food we tasted was delicious and priced reasonably. Particularly recommended is the fried rice with chicken in pineapple. It was great watching the different boats whizz up and down the river. As it got dark, one member of staff brought up some mosquito repellent spray. The toilets are very clean and modern. When we left, they ordered a tuk tuk for us and asked us to wait on the sofas. The tuk tuk was cheap too. Highly recommended after a long day at the temples. You can even ask to be dropped here on the jetty after a boat trip. In fact, it is next to Ayuttaya Boat and Travel company. Enjoy.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank Mevaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raan Tha Luang also viewed

Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 

Been to Raan Tha Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing