We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kodai Resort(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Retreat(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Altius Nest(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$60
永安旅遊
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jai(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fern Creek(Kodaikanal)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Poshe by Sparsa(Kodaikanal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
JC Residency(Kodaikanal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
450
209
42
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
209
42
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewboat ridekodai lakehalf day sight seeingboat clubboat houseplace to stayexcellent locationtable tennisbreakfast and dinnerthe hotel offersenjoyable stayboard gameshill stationhoneymoon packageprime locationplay area
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Hospitality of the property is excellent. The staff takes good care of the guest. Must appreciate the effort of Mr.Manu Kumar of the Front office. The location of the Hotel is ideal for going for a morning walk or cycling around the lake.

Some of the People who stood out in taking extra care during our trip were Mr. Stephan of the Boating - he took extra care and ensured even the aged people have a good experience in the SHIKARA.

One point we missed, was that the suite room did not have a tub and my kids missed that asa point. Other wise, the rooms were big and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view rooms, avoid travelling during peak season , check the traffic in Kodaikanal before travelling.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rarvenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRahejaHospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments. Your appreciation has been conveyed to the concerned. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We had Corporate meeting at The Carlton last October. What a place to stay!!. All rooms having exclusive lake view. Rooms are also Neat & clean with timely service.
The conference hall was very good with all the facilities.
Thanks to Mr Rafiq who had co-ordinated for our trip from Bangalore.

Room Tip: No need to choose rooms as I believe, all rooms are having lake view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Santhosh_Kumar_KAPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRahejaHospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Mr. Santhosh,
We thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Your appreciation has been conveyed to Mr. Rafiq. We look forward to you next corporate meeting sometime in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

It was a wonderful property and we 63 people enjoyed a lot.Party games arranged by Mr.Anand was superb.Nice property and hats off to them for their valuable service.
Food and ambience was superb.

Good room views and the staffs was very coperative.Regarding the food,if we you want spicy,please inform the therm before.

Room Tip: Good room views.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gineesh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRahejaHospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that you and your group enjoyed your stay. Your appreciation has been conveyed to Mr. Anand and to all concerned. We are sure it would be a great motivation for all of us to achieve even higher levels in guest satisfaction.
We eagerly look forward to you with your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

If you are at Kodaikanal The Carlton is the place to stay. It's a beautiful property offering view of the Kodai lake. It's a huge and well maintained property with amazing hospitality. The rooms are very spacious and can easily accommodate family of 4.
The breakfast and dinner had a wide spread which were very delicious. The property has lot of activities to keep the kids engaged. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay very memorable.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Prema P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRahejaHospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that your stay was a memorable one. We thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Kodaikanal is a hill station that has grown up around its lake. If you are going to stay here then why not overlook the lake ! The Carlton is in a fabulous location with well kept grounds and is a hotel with real panache. Great room with balcony, fabulous restaurant and “the end of the road” bar is a nice place for a post prandial. The staff are exceptionally helpful and make this already special hotel even more so. If you fancy a touch of class then spoil yourself and stay here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRahejaHospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying with us. We are indeed happy to see your appreciation of the hotel, its facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews