We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
358
139
18
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
358
139
18
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite home away from home pleasant stay homely food home stay observatory road his brother hot water guest house host mr upper lake view two days place to stay wonderful hospitality awesome food special thanks lunch dinner
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

An amazing place to stay with family and friends . Comfortable rooms occupied with all needed facilities .good service .beautiful atmosphere .a different and lovely theme of the resort makes the stay memorable .nature friendly . Delicious home made food made our tummies full.
Hospitality of owner and staff doubles the happiness of the trip. a must visit destination .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank anupamamangalath88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We had read much about Kodaikanal being one of the best places to visit during summer in India. So when we decided to go there, we came across this beautiful serene place on observatory road via Tripadvisor. If I must describe it in one word - "Amazing". This place has got a vibe of its own. We called the owner Mr. Najmal uncle (I won't call him the owner. That word may not do justice to him. He is the man to have put his soul and breath into the well being of this place and that reverberates through each and every pillar, room, table and everything). Room was available for only one night, however he assured us that he would make sure we get room on other night too.
We reached at around 6:30 pm and we felt the warmth in welcome that followed. Room was kept ready with all the amenities. Hot water is a necessity and you will be happy to know that it was readily available without much waiting time. Each and everything in the room had personal touch which makes you comfortable. You can opt or opt out of dinner option, however it is helpful if you tell them in advance. Food was really nice, healthy and without any adulterants. Raju is an awesome cook who showed his true skills when we ordered chicken for dinner on 2nd day.
Next morning we woke up to the tunes of birds chirping. Open the curtains and you feel like you are in different world altogether. Mist blocks your view, but only for a moment. You are attracted to the scene outside, you open the door. Welcome to the heaven. Green grass, forest, leaves, trees. Everything drenched in mist. I cant even remember all the colours I saw on that day. Yellow, blue, red, orange, pink, crimson and what not. Its just amazing. Only when you start soaking yourself in the happiness of choosing this place, you get to unfold things that you couldn't see during previous evening due to the dark. Even if you do not want to go for sightseeing, you can spend your whole day sitting here and observing it around, Pet dog Romie is a true love found. She will cuddle with you and make you feel comfortable. To such an extent, that my wife who hates dogs started cuddling Romie within minutes.
The place is clean and as shown in pictures.No filters. Credit goes to Najmal uncle. Gem of a person. We felt that we knew him for long time. Raju, Shiva are also very friendly, humble and helpful.
If you thinking of a getaway from your routine boring life and want to get rejuvenated, this place is waiting for you. You will not regret being here.

Pluspoints - Warmth, Calm, Peace, Food, Scenic, People

To remember - If you do not have your own vehicle, better not to go out. Place is bit secluded although safe.

Big Thumbs up to the entire team for making our stay memorable. Kudos!!!

Room Tip: Rooms opening into garden
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShridharS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount P, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Is there any,other word other than THANK YOU that we can offer you Great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I came to Mount Pleasant for our anniversary and had a great stay. There is a family atmosphere and we felt right at home. The food was especially nice, we like home style food because it's authentic and healthy. The nature sounds of birds and frogs was relaxing. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 1Brianna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

If you're looking for a not very expensive place, this place is great. The hotel is actually as it looks in the pictures. It is quaint, quiet, away from all the noise. It's very peaceful. The staff is really sweet and the host as well. Breakfast is included and dinner is charged but the food is good and they make a lot so you never have to worry about the quantity. It is advisable to stay here if you want to stay in and walk around only a bit especially if you don't have your own vehicle because getting a taxi all the time can be a bit of a trouble and you can't go too far once it gets dark. By walk, it's far from the classic Kodaikanal/Vattakanal tourist places. The hotel is clean and pleasant. It'd be great if you can ask for a room that opens into the garden or a room with a balcony because the view is really nice and the garden area is really peaceful.

Only downsides are that the bonfire is charge-able (500 a night!) which was sad, there's no pre-included hotel toileteries, it's a bit secluded if you're looking to walking to famous places a lot. That's the only reason I've given 4 stars and not 5.

Cleanliness is a check though :)

Room Tip: Corner room downstairs is small but opens into the garden which is peaceful. Top balcony rooms and ground floor garden rooms are also nice.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Default29032018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed with family for 1 night. The ambiance is very nice and too clam and would be lovable. The tariff for both food and room is average compare to other resorts.

Breakfast is good. The hospitality is excellent.

The owner and other supportive staff's are very nice. The check in and check out timing is 10 am to 10 am. If you came early they will be offering room for refreshments if available but you suppose to confirm this to them earlier. We struggled for 2 hours in this case, we were unlucky does not have any additional rooms.

Recommendations for improvements :

1. Display board from main road is not much visible. Need to have additional and bigger one.

2. Refreshment kit such as soap, tooth brush etc..should be provided based on need.

3. Additional small room with toilet and bath room facility for guest who came early before your check in time.

4. Camp fire must be free for all guests, this is basic facility and should not be chargeble.

5. Complimentary breakfast shall be applicable to drivers as well.

Over all experience with this resort is nice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank AshokkumarS105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount P, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

A big THANK YOU for the good review. We provide soap and brush etc will be looked into. We have a room for guest who check in little early, but we had a guest who checked in earlier than you. Any where you look you find wood, but we have to buy by giving Rs 300.00 for
a bundle of fire wood. Initially we used to have a common camp fire, but invariably everyday we faced bitter problems - guests who will be in different moods. We provide complimentary breakfast for the guest and asking for the driver is too much. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews