We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
40
60
25
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
60
25
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water place to stay nice valley view holiday home big room excellent view room service was good every evening visiting munnar cockerel balcony tea mountains clouds indian maintenance climate
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Shamrock on two separate occasions as part of Kerala tour. The rooms were large with seats outside looking down the mountain with glorious views. The village itself doesn’t have anything to recommend it - just a small place with a few hotels.

You order food from your room and agree a time to go to the dining room which worked well. Breakfast is a choice between Indian and continental breakfast with an omlette - very good. The Kerala parathas as delicious.

Be aware of very loud temple music which goes off at around 6:30 every evening but only for about half an hour.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank GWheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We booked two rooms after seeing their very reasonable prices and good reviews. But we were blown away by the view from our rooms. It was worth every penny! The rooms are larger than usual but is poorly lit. The restrooms are good. They don't have a dining area but deliver food to your rooms but we didn't try it, as it was quite expensive. It is located near to Pothamedu View point but the roads leading to this place are very narrow and don't have any lightings, making driving to the hotel at night in dense fog very difficult.

Overall judgement : Fairly priced for such a great view. If possible, do ask for rooms 101 & 102 because they have a nice spacious balcony facing the mountains.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank AjanP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The view from the hotel was amazing, very nice and maintained place, room was spacious, neat and clean, 24 hour running hot water, services are prompt, very nice and courteous staff, they help u in planning and arranging your sight seeing programme. Amazing stay at shamrock.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mohd Arif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Shamrock Holiday Home took us by surprise! As you walk down the steps, the place is simply charming and lovely. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and extremely clean! Step out onto the balcony to witness a breathtaking view of the valley and you can almost touch the clouds as they gently drift by.

There's hot water and quick friendly service. Location is only a short drive away from "town" - it helps if you have your own transportation. The rooms are incredible value for money.

We didn't eat there expect for a quick cup of tea so I can say much about the food. We also didn't use the Wifi so not sure about that either - but Wifi is iffy up there anyway.

We'd definitely go back to stay there next time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top have a much better view - especially Room 301.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JocelynJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We had the rooms with excellent view of the valley. The clouds literally passed through the room to the other side. Breakfast was good but we had a bit difficulty in managing the dinner. The staff was very helpful in arranging food from nearby restaurant. Location is off the road but it is worth the money. If you have a ready transportation, this is the best place to stay. Wifi is not working properly but that is the case in the entire Munnar

Room Tip: 201, 202 are the best rooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trilochansaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews