We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Indian rehab”
Review of Shamrock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shamrock
Ranked #53 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the shamrock and it became a bit of very welcome down time for us during our trip. We woke up to breathtaking views of the mountains at the end of our bed, ate breakfast on our bedroom balcony and received fantastic service from every member off the very attentive team at the shamrock. The evening food was delicious and you can order this at a time that suits you either in the dining area or in your hotel room. There's no small town for shopping etc within walking distance around the shamrock so you do have to get a taxi everywhere if needs be. The hotel were also slightly odd about giving out the wifi code, at first telling us that it wasn't available after 7pm, but the 2nd time we asked they gave it to us, we were a little confused as to why they said it went off in the first place. But all in all, it's a beautiful place to stay with an incredibly hospitable team.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Shamrock on two separate occasions as part of Kerala tour. The rooms were large with seats outside looking down the mountain with glorious views. The village itself doesn’t have anything to recommend it - just a small place with a few hotels.

You order food from your room and agree a time to go to the dining room which worked well. Breakfast is a choice between Indian and continental breakfast with an omlette - very good. The Kerala parathas as delicious.

Be aware of very loud temple music which goes off at around 6:30 every evening but only for about half an hour.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank GWheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We booked two rooms after seeing their very reasonable prices and good reviews. But we were blown away by the view from our rooms. It was worth every penny! The rooms are larger than usual but is poorly lit. The restrooms are good. They don't have a dining area but deliver food to your rooms but we didn't try it, as it was quite expensive. It is located near to Pothamedu View point but the roads leading to this place are very narrow and don't have any lightings, making driving to the hotel at night in dense fog very difficult.

Overall judgement : Fairly priced for such a great view. If possible, do ask for rooms 101 & 102 because they have a nice spacious balcony facing the mountains.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ajan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The view from the hotel was amazing, very nice and maintained place, room was spacious, neat and clean, 24 hour running hot water, services are prompt, very nice and courteous staff, they help u in planning and arranging your sight seeing programme. Amazing stay at shamrock.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mohd Arif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Shamrock Holiday Home took us by surprise! As you walk down the steps, the place is simply charming and lovely. The rooms are wonderfully spacious and extremely clean! Step out onto the balcony to witness a breathtaking view of the valley and you can almost touch the clouds as they gently drift by.

There's hot water and quick friendly service. Location is only a short drive away from "town" - it helps if you have your own transportation. The rooms are incredible value for money.

We didn't eat there expect for a quick cup of tea so I can say much about the food. We also didn't use the Wifi so not sure about that either - but Wifi is iffy up there anyway.

We'd definitely go back to stay there next time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top have a much better view - especially Room 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JocelynJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.2 km away
OYO 4651 Woodpecker Holidays
23.2 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
551 reviews
2.9 km away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#45 of 109 in Munnar
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Olive Brook
Olive Brook
#8 of 202 in Munnar
346 reviews
13.8 km away
Double Tree Villa
Double Tree Villa
#17 of 202 in Munnar
78 reviews
3.9 km away
Clouds Land Home Stay
Clouds Land Home Stay
#2 of 211 in Munnar
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock

Address: Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price Range: HK$211 - HK$297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shamrock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and WingontravelTA so you can book your Shamrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing