We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
205
121
34
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
121
34
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kalypso adventures facing south beautiful garden set high cardamon plantations nice room spent nights sitting area curries enjoyable stay bird watching clean rooms peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle munnar town delicious food own vehicle
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We stayed at Olive Brook in 2013 and were really looking forward to coming again. We stayed in the new section, upstairs, and it was fantastic, very spacious, comfortable, with lovely views. The meals served in the dining room were delicious. The gardens were as beautiful as ever, with such a variety of flowers. Now, in addition, there is a little garden across from the dining room with a bird bath, which is very popular with the birds. All of the bird photos that I am submitting with this review were all birds that visit the bird bath, and there were many more. It is a ways out of town, but it is well worth the extra miles.

Room tip: A few tripadvisor reports referred to a musty smell. In the new portion of the guest house, there would surely be no problem.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank snowgeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

More a guesthouse with small restaurant attached, Olive Brook provides basic but clean and cosy accommodation. The location is peaceful and secluded but with easy access to Munnar by tuk tuk. Short but excellent and affordable menu. Staff were all extremely helpful and accommodating.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank johndU4920ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We had already paid in advance for this room but my husband is very tall and the room and the bed were tiny and the bathroom had a bad smell to it.

Not a bit what we expected for the large amount of money we had paid to the tour operator.

We checked out and paid additional money to go and stay else where.

We did have dinner here on one night as we had already paid for dinner. The food was so bland as to be nearly inedible.

To be avoided at all costs!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed two nights here at the end of March and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is set in stunning surroundings ...tea estates, flower covered hills and a huge variety of birds. It is remote so having your own vehicle is best. We ate at the restaurant for all our meals and really enjoyed the traditional Keralan dishes in particular. The staff were very helpful, advising on where to visit and taking me out on a lovely walk through their cardamon plantations and helped us to spot the amazing wildlife, such as the giant malabar squirrel. The room was very comfortable, almost like an apartment (we were above the restaurant) with a balcony to take in the relaxing views and cooler air. I'd highly recommend if you enjoy to be in nature and want to unwind.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Outstanding place but quite tough to reach(horrific road).
Well maintain garden.The matress desperately need to be changed! must be 20 years old.
Since it's remote area the prices at restaurant are shameful!
$4 Canadian for a small serving of fries!
For half that price you have a chicken bryani in Munnar.
The waiter not very friendly neither smiling.
Would still recommend due to wonderful location.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marc Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews