We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
109
50
22
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
50
22
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily runlovely positionowned hotelold townno liftsplit airportpark your carcouple of nightssmall hotelfirst floornothing is too much troubleborisheartcroatiaslipperscathedralluggage
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

At Hotel Tragos. A friendly small personal hotel, with an excellent restaurant. We are on the terrace in the shade, with local specialties and a half litre of house wine, and great service from the friendly waiting staff. Highly recommended. Sam and Gill

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TragosTeam, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tragos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Sam and Gill,
We are please you have enjoyed our restaurant as well as our hotel. All you have to do next time you come here is to replace half litre of wine with one litre :) Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again some day.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed at Hotel Tragos at the end of June on a package deal with Jet2. I promised to write a review of the hotel and have finally got round to it!

Our transfer driver rang the hotel when we got to the gate to the city and a friendly lady came to meet us and help take our bags to the hotel.

The hotel is in a perfect location for those who love exploring historic places (but be warned Trogir is extremely busy at this time of year!). We had asked for a first floor room by email as my partner would have struggled with two flights of steps and the room was fine - we didn't expect a view due to the location of the hotel but the room (named after the city of Split) was pleasant, the bed much more comfortable than we thought it would be and the air conditioning (free) was invaluable. The safe was free too which is a definite plus point in my book! Having said that we would not have worried if we did not have safe. The room was kept very clean - the bathroom was a little dated but to be honest that sort of thing doesn't bother me in the least!

We were on a half board deal - we had a specific menu on which there was lots of choice (even more if you like seafood and fish which I don't). Everything we had was very nice indeed - in fact I had the grilled vegetable starter every night apart from one as it was so good and a huge portion. Mains included beef stew, vegetable risotto, mixed meat and a huge plate of local kebab type sausages. I'm diabetic so usually had fruit as a desert but two nights I had cheesecake which was superb and just too hard to resist! The garden setting of the restaurant was very nice especially if you could get a seat upstairs. The only downside was a noisy group who were staying at the hotel a few nights who made for a more lively evening than I would have liked - not the hotel's fault of course! On a couple of nights local folk singers performed and (as a fan of folk music) I was very impressed. All the waiters were friendly and service was generally good. Drinks were a little more expensive than in local bars but still not excessive

On the day we left we had received no info from Jet2 (they're a bit useless at that as we have found before) so the hotel manager contacted the transfer driver for us so we knew when we had to be ready for.

All in all an excellent stay and if you want to visit this part of Croatia it would be a good base

Top tip - to get away from the crowds in Trogir and Split visit the Kastela villages between the two cities where there is a lovely walk between them and lots of quiet bars to have a drink away from the hustle and bustle!

Room Tip: There is no lift so bear this in mind if you have mobility difficulties and choose a first floor room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TragosTeam, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tragos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear JoeGBradford,
We are delighted to hear you had a such a nice stay with us. It is rewarding to all of us to read you review we certainly hope to see you again some day.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We were lucky finding this last minute room with the help of the very friendly girl from hotel Palace Derossi.

Medium standard. The room was clean. Small ants in the bathroom. AC. WI-FI.

Friendly staaf. Perfectley situated in the Old Town of Trogir. 4 floors, no lift.

Price OK.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are towards the restaurang.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TragosTeam, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tragos, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Ulf J,

Are you sure you have been to Hotel Tragos? We do not have 4 floors, only 2. We do not have any ants either.

Kind regards,

Boris and Hotel Tragos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

There is nothing wrong with Hotel Tragos as such, except that perhaps we are accustomed to better hotels - I think this one was only 3 star. The staff were lovely, the room relatively spacious, but not particularly attractive. Everything was clean. The bed linen arrangement a little odd. The bathroom vey old and dated, but functional. Lovely position in the old town, but no facilities - if you are done for the day, and wish to head back to the hotel for a little rest, there is nowhere to lounge around for a little to have a drink etc - only the restaurant. We didn't eat ts the restaurant , as it seemed to be always full of tour groups which did not appeal, so we cannot comment upon the food. The breakfast was pretty average....considering it is July, and the local market full of beautiful fruit, there was very little fruit on offer - - sad selection of a couple of tiny apricots and a couple of apples! The buffet was fresh, and replenished regularly, it never enough food at any given time which always meant standing around waiting for an egg etc. - at the same time, this does mean that the awaited gag was always beautiful and fresh! just not a very inspiring breakfast and the hot water for tea was never hot. Nevertheless, the family who run the hotel and the breakfast etc are lovely and give the place a nice homely vibe. I would probably not recommend to my friends, as I know they would want something more luxurious, but I wouldn't NOT recommend to travellers accustomed to travelling 3-star, as overall it was fine. Like Trogir itself, it gives one a feeling of authenticity, and a slower pace, not polished up for tourist expectations - just normal life......

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelkat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TragosTeam, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tragos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Katherine,

Thank you for finding time for this review. Yes our hotel has 3 stars and certain limitations being placed in the middle of the UNESCO protected medieval town. We are limited with space and with conservators when it comes to adding extra facilities. Having said that most of our customers know where they are coming and enjoy our hotel and the old town. When it comes to the breakfast, we like to make sure we have everything available but we do not like to waste food. That is why we replenish regularly as we believe our customers are on holiday and not in the rush to work. We make coffee to the order, we make omelettes to the order. We are ready to accommodate any desire from our guests. We get fresh fruit from local market and replenish it as they are being taken. All one has to do is to ask waitress if one wishes something and give it few minutes. Bottom line is, we are not luxurious hotel nor we wish to become one. We are heritage hotel which strives for tradition, authenticity, good service, quality accommodation and freshly prepared local food.

Kind regards,

Boris and Hotel Tragos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Great location in the centre of the old town. No parking so had to leave the car some distance away on the other side of the river, but the hotel arranges payment. Very simple but comfortable accommodation with pokey little windows. We were on second floor & no lift…bit of a struggle with bags! B'fast adequate in the garden

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cawanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TragosTeam, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tragos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear cawanui,

Thank you for finding time to review our hotel. As you have stated yourself we do have a great location, being in the middle of medieval town, in strictly pedestrian zone. Downside is the fact you can not park your car in front of the hotel. However should you come back here I suggest stopping in front of the north town gate and giving us a ring. We will pick up your luggage and take it to your room and you can park you car and enjoy car free zone full of history.

Kind regards,

Boris and Hotel Tragos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews