We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bat-tastic!”
Review of Capital Cruises

Capital Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capital Cruises offers a selection of services for any lake event or activity on Lady Bird Lake in downtown Austin. Not only do we offer our famous nightly sunset/bat watching excursion, we also specialize in dinner cruises and private events for all occasions. Looking for something a little more physical? Come down and rent a canoe, kayak, stand up paddle board, swan pedal boat, or an electric boat.With our all electric fleet and the beautiful backdrop of Austin's skyline on Lady Bird Lake, Capital Cruises is the ultimate Austin Experience!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nice little cruise up and down the river, the tour guide was enthusiastic and informative. He positioned us well to watch the bats - at first, a few trickled down and I was disappointed..... then all of a sudden, thousands and thousands of bats started their spiral journey and it was incredible! I've never seen such a sight and our entire group was amazed! Definitely worth the price of admission!

Thank cpakjjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The boat ride itself was nothing special.. saw some cool graffiti , got history on some buildings we had wondered about...but there was a nice breeze and our guide was helpful...this was just a end if the day boat ride....BUT...The bat flight was amazing. I'm 55 and I would put watching this in the top 20 experiences of my life. Seeing 1.5 million bats spill out of the bridge and into spiraling formations affirms your awe of the power of nature and the greater power that creates everything perfectly. This time of year is the peak and they fly south during cooler weather so plan your trip accordingly and don't miss it

Thank Kristi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kristi,
Thanks for the feedback! Give us a call the next time you want to come out see the bat emergence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a great way to watch the bats in Austin. Being able to watch from the river without all the crowds was great. We were taken up and down the river at first for a short introduction to the city and then to watch the bats. It was well worth the small price of admission.

Thank ashleyp161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ashley,
We agree, the view from the water is the best! Give us a call the next time you want to get out on the lake!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an awesome display of nature adapting to humans. It is well worth the price of admission. The volume of bats (upwards of 2 million!) was amazing. Our tour guide, Georgia, was funny, interesting, and knowledgeable. We are new residents of Austin and will certainly do this again.We learned a lot and really enjoyed ourselves. Dave R

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

David,
Glad to get you out on the lake and welcome to Austin! We will pass along your feedback to Georgia as she loves to hear how well her tour is received! Thanks again for choosing Capital Cruises! We'll see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you've never seen this, or even if you have, the bat cruise is a must-do when visiting Austin! I've never seen anything like it in my life and days later, I can't stop thinking about how magical it was! The whole experience was made all the better by our awesome guide, who was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The boat is a pontoon, so it goes super slow around Ladybird Lake for anyone else who may be worried about getting a little motion sick! Also, you can BYOB, which I didn't know before, but wish I did - this would've been even better with a beverage in hand! I would recommend making reservations in advance as well, just so you're guaranteed a spot. Two things that are good to know: you can park at the Hyatt for a fee and can also go in and use the restroom there, or stop by the bar ;) This is a must-do when visiting Austin and at such a great price, it truly cannot be beat!

Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalCruises, Owner at Capital Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Chelsea,
Thanks so much for the glowing review! We really appreciate the feedback and are glad to know that we are providing a memorable experience for everyone.
Please give us a call the next time you are in Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Capital Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing