We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
391
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room white suite south congress keyless entry continental club live oaks m ms outdoor common area beautiful tree community room key code urban oasis malin and goetz hard boiled eggs soco district complimentary beer espresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The Kimber Modern is the The Kimber Modern is the epitome of serenity. We have been staying at this boutique hotel since 2011 and it is our only spot and the only spot we not only stay at but recommend to stay at when in Austin. It is located in the lively neighborhood of S. Congress but far back enough to feel like a private getaway. All the rooms are immaculate, well designed and well thought out. The White and Red suites are our go to favorites if you and a loved one want even more privacy with the features and space to accommodate your needs. Although we have tried all rooms, there isn't a bad room onsite! The courtyard is a nice change of pace to relax in the morning or after a busy day. The Oak trees are calming and beautiful. The Kimber Modern also has complimentary snacks and beverages and a nice healthy breakfast located in the very thought out common room. The Property manager Dave made our experience even more great than the last few times we visited. He made sure we had everything we needed and was very accommodating and generous to all our requests. We could have not asked for better service from him or this hotel.. We have been staying at this boutique hotel since 2011 and it is our only spot and the only spot we not only stay at but recommend to stay at when in Austin. It is located in the lively neighborhood of S. Congress but far back enough to feel like a private getaway. All the rooms are immaculate, well designed and well thought out. The White and Red suites are our go to favorites if you and a loved one want even more privacy with the features and space to accommodate your needs. Although we have tried all rooms, there isn't a bad room onsite! The courtyard is a nice change of pace to relax in the morning or after a busy day. The Oak trees are calming and beautiful. The Kimber Modern also has complimentary snacks and beverages and a nice healthy breakfast located in the very thought out common room. The Property manager Dave made our experience even more great than the last few times we visited. He made sure we had everything we needed and was very accommodating and generous to all our requests. We could have not asked for better service from him or this hotel.

Room Tip: White and Red suites are a must experience. However all rooms are superb!
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you, Richard, for your generous review of our hotel! You seem to have really captured what makes this hotel special. We are so happy to hear that you have been such a long time guest with us and plan on returning in the future. Thank you for recommending our hotel and being such a wonderful guest. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

I loved this boutique hotel. Small, quiet and luxurious. Wonderful rooms and hospitality. There was complimentary wine and beer throughout the stay. We enjoyed the high-end soaps, shampoos and lotions that the Kimber Modern has as well. We'll be back again soon.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wadegriffith1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for your kind and informative review. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to your future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

My wife and I stayed at The Kimber Modern Austin for three nights in May. It is an interesting concept and execution. There is no front desk or conventional lobby and only seven rooms. The design is very contemporary and centered around a wonderful, relaxing courtyard with great Texas Live Oaks providing shade from the Austin sun, a water feature and comfortable seating. Adjacent is a common room with self-service coffee/espresso, snacks, beer & wine, etc. In the morning there is a simple breakfast spread of granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastry, toast & orange juice.

Hotel & room access is by key code provided to you before your stay. The staff is available by phone and text but stays in the background by design. The rooms are modern and comfortable with all the amenities one could expect. Be aware the bathroom separation is by a frosted glass door which does not provide acoustical privacy, so if you are rooming with someone with whom you are not totally comfortable this could be an issue.

The hotel location is a block off a main shopping street which has a variety of stores, restaurants and there are four first-come parking spaces under. This being a city of music, there is some infiltration of live music from nearby venues into the hotel courtyard in the evenings. Downtown is just about a mile away across the Colorado River.

This is a place we would gladly return to and were glad to hear the owner is looking to expand to other cities across the US.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GregW_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Greg! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful and informative review. We look forward to your next visit! Best, Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

The Kimber Modern is a very small boutique hotel right behind Congress Avenue. It is quiet with a lovely courtyard that makes you forget you are a street away from Congress Avenue. The key-less rooms allow for easy check-in and access to the room. They have a common area with wine, coffee, snacks (I love the m&ms). Everything is modern and clean. We have stayed 3 or 4 times and keep checking Austin for other places and continue to pick this one.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MichelleDtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, General Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

What a delightful review; thank you! Our clean, quiet oasis-like feeling, sophisticated convenience, and all-inclusive concept are the ingredients that keep guests like you returning over and over again. We couldn't be happier to hear you're continuing to choose Kimber Modern. Thanks again, and see you next time! -Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Fantastic 3 night/long weekend experience for my wife and I at the Kimber Modern. from the location, tucked away just off Congress in South Congress area, to the spacious room with lots of natural light, to the convenience of punching in a code to enter, and, finally, to the nice common areas to relax in, we couldn't have found a better place in Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberModern, General Manager at Kimber Modern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Jeff - thanks for this wonderful review. Relaxed convenience in a beautiful modern setting is our goal for every stay; I'm glad we were able to provide that for you two. We truly enjoyed having the two of you with us for the weekend and look forward to seeing you again next time. -Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews