We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good okonomiyaki”

Hozenji Yokocho Yakizen
Ranked #945 of 36,802 Restaurants in Osaka
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Okonomiyaki at yakizen was delicious, not quite Hiroshima level but almost. Served in a hot plate, and gobbled up in a second.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Anterthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

店裡的二樓位置非常狹窄悶熱,大阪燒口味不好吃(是一樓師傅煎好送上來,已發出油耗味),整間店也瀰漫油臭味。樓上是位年輕且英文流利的店員(他跟隔壁白種人客人有說有笑,說自己在加拿大待過),對於英文能力較不佳的我們態度輕蔑,後來在點單溝通上出問題,餐點出錯了,他還直接把錯推到我們身上,並直接嗆說:you don't know english, right?!.....總之,餐點不好吃且服務真的很差,不會再訪。建議大家選擇大馬路上其他店面大且有名氣的店家(之前去吃幾次感受都很棒)
the restaurant was full of oil odor, the food they sent for us was cold and greasing. The waiter who spoke english influencely was "very contemptuous" to Chinese tourist(maybe he just picked on who spoke english uninfluently).

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank chinh181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

I heard about good things Osaka pancakes which Okonomiyaki in Fouzenji-yo kochi. It was good, but it is very tiny and not full of my stomach.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank erikamix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We found this place after dining at lunch at Matsuzaku right next door. There is usually a short line to get in but it moves quite steadily. The okonomiyaki comes in various flavours - we had one pork and one of their "famous" ones which is done in the Hiroshima style with noodles. The seafood one looked really good as well but I did not try. About $US30 for two including a bottle of sake. English menus were available and the staff had no trouble understanding my partner's allergy to seafood.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank jetfueljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Maybe we didn't try all of the okonomiyaki around but we definitely stumbled into this quaint store by accident.

Honestly, love the rich flavour of the okonomiyaki we had. And would swing by again for another round.

Albeit it may seem pricey ¥1000++ for an okonomiyaki, but with crusted pork at the top roofing the beef and octopus inside, and an amazing sauce - its definitely worth it.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hozenji Yokocho Yakizen also viewed

 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Hozenji Yokocho Yakizen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing