We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did someone say Matcha?”

Saryo Tsujiri Gion Honten
Ranked #102 of 16,314 Restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Neighbourhood: Gion
Reviewed 12 August 2015

First stop every time I visit Kyoto!

As they say, you've never been to Kyoto if you haven't tried Matcha. The Tsujiri Honten in Gion offers beautifully composed parfaits and other exquisite desserts. If you don't have a sweet tooth, they have matcha soba and udon as well. Do give them a try!

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sumizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2015

I first went to Tsujiri five years ago and since then I always pay them a visit when I am in Kyoto. If you love matcha, this is the place to be. Their matcha desserts are excellent, although they also serve non-desserts, like matcha soba but I always end up ordering the desserts. The parfaits are around 1,200 yen but totally worth it. They have parfaits with matcha but also different tea, if you are not a matcha fan. According to the season, they might have some special desserts (the christmas one was fabulous). As always in Japan, they also serve you free tea. For every 1,000yen you spend you get a 30 yen discount in the shop downstairs and I can only recommend to go there. The shop can also be quite busy but if you ask them they are more than willing to prepare tea for you, which makes it a lot easier to decide on which tea to buy. They also have very delicious matcha soft cream, and I strongly recommend this to the other matcha cafés close to Tsujiri. You really taste the difference, as Tsujiri soft cream is much richer in taste.
If you wanna pay Tsujiri a visit, keep in mind that it can get really crowded and you might have to queue on weekends for about half an hour to get in. There is also another café on the street that calls itself Tsujiri but it has nothing to do with Tsujiri Honten. For this one, just look for the long queue....you won't be diappointed!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

If you love green tea and ice cream this is the place to go. It looks so nice one could think it is plastic. But so oiishi since 1860.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2015

All areas of Japan are famous for specific things. For Kyoto it's traditional sweets and maccha. (I write it with a c because that is how it is written in japanese, まっちゃ)

This little café i located at the top of a staircase in Gion is the perfect place if you feel like trying every type of maccha dish. Everything from the tea itself to cakes, parfait and mochi. I currently live in Osaka and every time i visit Kyoto I make sure to stop bye this little piece of heaven.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank astrido844
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Title said it all, even you don't like dessert if you are there go and give it a try...It maybe a bit tricky to find the shop even it located on the main road.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Jamien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Saryo Tsujiri Gion Honten also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Saryo Tsujiri Gion Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.