We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ma(t)cha paradise!”

Saryo Tsujiri Gion Honten
Ranked #102 of 16,314 Restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Neighbourhood: Gion
Reviewed 28 June 2015

All areas of Japan are famous for specific things. For Kyoto it's traditional sweets and maccha. (I write it with a c because that is how it is written in japanese, まっちゃ)

This little café i located at the top of a staircase in Gion is the perfect place if you feel like trying every type of maccha dish. Everything from the tea itself to cakes, parfait and mochi. I currently live in Osaka and every time i visit Kyoto I make sure to stop bye this little piece of heaven.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank astrido844
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2015

Title said it all, even you don't like dessert if you are there go and give it a try...It maybe a bit tricky to find the shop even it located on the main road.

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Jamien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Not usually such a huge fan of green tea desserts but i have to say being in Kyoto, we knew we had to try a good one after so many of these green tea houses dotted around in Kyoto. The signature tsujuri parfait was priced ard $12aud and was the best dessert we had the whole trip. So good without being cloyingly sweet, texturally had rice balls with jelly, as well as ice cream, match syrup, matcha whipped cream. Def recommend.

Date of visit: May 2015
2  Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We arrived around 5 pm - the place was a little hard to find but it is on a main road and you just need to pay attention to the signs and not be fazed by the shop selling green tea on the bottom floor. It really doesn't look like a restaurant - look for the model parfaits on the wall and walk up the staircase to your left. There was no line when we arrived, but there was definitely one on the stairs when we left.

We had the Tsujiri parfait, which has chestnuts, red bean, matcha jelly, matcha ice cream, hojicha jelly, and matcha whipped cream, and another parfait with a little less matcha - rice dumplings and vanilla ice cream. They weren't cheap - about 1000 yen each - but were delicious and hit the spot after a long day of wandering around Kyoto.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank skm71109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Theres is always a queue. But the parfait alone is worth the queue. And you get 30% discount to buy the goods downstairs.

Thank Clement Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Saryo Tsujiri Gion Honten also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Saryo Tsujiri Gion Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.