We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
25
102
28
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
102
28
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Kunming Golden Spring hotel for 2 nights this week while in Kunming for some business activities in the nearby area.

The hotel is tired and dated. All areas smell of cigarette smoke. The walls are paper thin and I was kept awake for much of the night by the very enthusiastic amorous activities in the adjacent room.

The breakfast (included) was a good Chinese selection, I can recommend the noodles. The wifi throughout the hotel is fast and free.

Check in and check out was reasonably quick, and the hotel takes western credit cards (Visa/MasterCard etc) without any issues.

Overall it was an OK stay, but I would probably try a different hotel next time in Kunming to see what else is available.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank OzML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

At this impressive hotel in the heart of Kunming, with everything close by.
Love it except for the fact that no one understands a word of English.
Comfortable bed and even better pillows and blankets makes your "dreams " sweeter...
Spacious rooms but sealed windows.
One lacuna is that just like everywhere else, people smoke everywhere making it such a nuisance.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank JFK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I've stayed here many times over the past few years. It's never spectacular, but it's always OK. Mainly a business hotel, with a small sprinkling of tourists.

Rooms are not terribly modern and definitely nothing swanky. But they are clean and the service is very good throughout the hotel.

I like the location, since it's near lots of restaurants and several bus lines that run East and West along Renmin Donglu 人民东路。

If you are staying here, go up to the 20th floor and have an authentic Chinese foot massage. Very professional and reasonably priced.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

I was here with my family for 2 nights from 23-24 December 2015. We paid £37 per twin room per night via booking.com including breakfast.

The hotel was OK for location but the staff didn't seem to know much. Some of the things do seem a bit dated. There was WiFi which is free which worked quite well.

The breakfast was acceptable but I preferred if they served quality rather than quantity.

The hotel is close to some small restaurants but they're more the fast food types for locals than for foreigners. Also restaurants close very early - they stop serving at 8:45pm. People seem quite lazy.

My trip this time was perhaps a bit ruined by the fact that people in Kunming didn't seem too polite and were quite calculative compared to other big Chinese cities.

It takes about 25-30 mins by taxi (should cost roughly 90 rmb by the meter).

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jezlinhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

The rooms in the Golden Spring are good quality for a hotel in this class - we stayed here twice (as part of a tour) and got good sleep. The front desk staff do not speak english at all (which is not their fault but a warning for others if you need anything that is non-standard). The internet was poor quality and dropped out all the time. I did not eat here - there are some breakfast places near by. The hotel is well located with a metro station across the road and well serviced by buses. Warning about taxis - the hotel organised a taxi to the airport that then demanded a fixed rate (at 7am) that was three times the meter rate for the reverse trip at a similar time. The hotel staff did not assist. We just flagged a passing taxi...

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews