We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Trip.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
59
140
41
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
140
41
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station the executive lounge breakfast buffet very nice hotel city centre high floor clean rooms taxi hallway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2019

The Hotel is modern and clean rooms are very good breakfast is also good but the location is a little far from the city centre so difficult to find restaurants et cetera close by Which is the only drawback.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ista660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

We booked a standard room at around 60 US without breakfast. The room’s located in 23rd floor and spotless clean. The hotel is close to Kunming Railway station about 10min walk. Staffs are friendly and helpful. The only negative point is hotel front desk are not fluent english. Good for value of money.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank GiangHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2019 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel late evening on 2 June on transit to Lijiang. Instead of single-use slippers, there were only two pairs of leather lookalike slippers in sealed thick plastic bags with notice on the package that said “NOT FOR A GIFT”...”RMB110”.... “IF OPEN THE PACKING SHALL BE REGARDED AS USED”. After looking around to confirm the lack of alternatives, we managed to cut open the bags and used the slippers. Next morning at 5.30am, we checked out and were asked to pay RMB220 for the two pairs of slippers we had used and left behind. The hotel staff even brought down the slippers for us to bring along. We had a flight to catch, registered our objection and left knowing that we would be back again in five days time and hope to resolve this then. The front desk staff handling this also admitted they had received similar complaints from other guests who had made the same mistake and on the ridiculously steep charges for a pair of leather lookalike bedroom slippers.

We returned to the hotel on 7 June, again on transit to return to HK the next day. We raised the “slipper incident” and spoke to their manager-on-duty. She came back and reiterated that the room we stayed at had an amenities basket with single-use slippers included. We told her we had checked the room on 2 June and found none, and that it was actually an inconvenience for us to struggle to open the plastic packaging. Her only response was house keeping had pictures to prove we left the slippers in the room on 2 June; hotel policy requires single-use slippers be available in all rooms. She did not even once apologised for the situation, and through her reply, put the blame on us and insinuated we lied.

We were very disappointed with the hotel for 1) charging RMB110 for a pair of bedroom slippers when providing such amenities is a common practice for more hotels are ; 2) not providing single-use slippers in the room we stayed in and; 3) didn’t even offer a simple apology. This short and transit stay has proven to be one of the most disappointing experiences we have ever had in China, and gave us no incentive to ever return to Kunming in future.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Btong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulS13038, General Manager at Kai Wah Plaza International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Kai Wah Plaza. I am greatly sorry that your experience did not meet with your expectation.
We, at K.W.P always try our best to deliver personal and professional experience to our guests.
I would like to take this opportunity to reinforce our services in order to improve our quality of hospitality experience.
Your comments has not been taken lightly and I, personally will follow up with this issue and make sure that all amenities are to be found in the room.
On behalf of all my team, I would like to express my sincere apologies for not being able to offer you a proper experience.

Sincerely,

Kai Wah Plaza General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2019

We went there for three nights knowing that thet were modernising lobby. It's always sensitive when works are planed during your stay in an hotel. They do it perfectly the staff were esay to join and please to help us. A little trouble in our romm and we were upgraded to a suite room. Delicious breakfast with attentive staff and allways a speaking engllsh ready for helping us. We fully recommend this hotel well located not far Central railway station

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulS13038, Vice Chairman at Kai Wah Plaza International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your understanding concerning the ongoing modernisation in the hotel; in order to make up for the inconvenience, we provide a service of the highest quality by being helpful, considerate, available at all times and by taking the initiative... by the time all the upgrade and modernisation will be finished, our new gym (with brand-new equipment!) and pool will also reopen to the public. We’re looking forward to serving you again by then.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This was a great place! We got a bus from the airport to the Jingan Hotel which was a few blocks away. We arrived and checked in in a matter of a few minutes (unlike the Cachet, see my review). We originally got a kids room (had toys, rubber duckies, etc). My girlfriend wasn't exactly turned on and they did tell me at the desk if we wanted a change of room then call down to the front desk for a change of room. We did call and they brought up new keys and escorted us to a new corner room King suite on the 29th floor. Both rooms were corner two room suites with two bathrooms; but, I missed the rubber duckies. Very spacious rooms, great views of the city. Very very nice. I think the highlight was the breakfast buffet. As good as the best we've experienced at any Chinese hotel we have stayed at. The Howard Johnson in Wuhan had a similar buffet. A lot of different dishes both American and Chinese. More dumplings and Dim Sum than other good breakfast buffet places we have experienced. The hotel is within walking distance to the Train Station for our trip to Dali. Convenient. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Wait staff were smiling, warm, appreciative and friendly. One of the servers spent a lot of time with us getting coffee and giving us ideas for visiting places for our two days in Kunming. Of the two places we stayed in Kunming, this is the place I would go back to.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gordonalbertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulS13038, Assistant Chairman at Kai Wah Plaza International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for your thorough and positive review; we look forward to serving you again in the future.
As the first 5-star hotel in the city of Kunming, Kai Wah Plaza Hotel was designed and built according to international 5-star standards. Since then, as the undisputed forerunner in the industry, we have been continuously redefining standards for the hospitality sector, ranging from management practices to service quality.
On a side note, rubber ducks are available to be delivered to your room... simply dial "14" on the landline for Housekeeping or inform the receptionist upon check-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews