We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ExpediaUS$77
Hotels.comUS$77
Booking.comUS$78
Agoda.comUS$77
TripadvisorUS$77
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
269
88
36
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
269
88
36
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge ihg member lobby bar a great stay golf trip concierge staff booked a club room major shopping large choice within walking distance subway station comfortable stay buffet breakfast non smoking comfortable rooms china odour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Overall, the hotel is in a good location only a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest subway station (currently Dongfeng Square, but another one is under construction nearer to the hotel). The hotel is very central and there is tons of stuff near the hotel. The room itself was a good size and the bedding was comfortable, though there was some noise with the construction outside. The bathroom was large and well apportioned. I had a chance to have breakfast at the restaurant which was ok but not stellar. The best part were the Chinese rolled pancakes but other items were not at the same quality.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlbertLee, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2020

Dear Guest,

First of all please accept my sincere thanks and appreciation for choosing Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre as your preferred accommodation in Kunming. We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied for our good location and comfortable rooms. Meanwhile, we will pay more attention and improve the breakfast. Look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

General Manager
Albert Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

The rooms were okay, do not recall that it was as spiffy as shown in the pictures here but nothing to really complain about. Best thing about it is the toiletries - they gave Borghese toiletries which were really nice.

Breakfast was so-so - the dining room was not heated. For a 4-star hotel this is not acceptable but I find it a strange norm in China for public areas in hotels to be unheated - even in the larger international chains. The Crowne Plaza is feeling its age and looking a little worse for wear. Location-wise we didn't explore much but there are eateries nearby which made it convenient to find food.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlbertLee, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Dear Guest,

First of all please accept my sincere thanks and appreciation for choosing Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre as your preferred accommodation in Kunming. We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied for our toiletries. Meanwhile, we are sorry for the aspects that we performed not so well, and we will pay more attention and improve this situation. Look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

General Manager
Albert Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

We stayed here on 2 separate periods within a week in end Dec 2019. We were here for 1 night upon our arrival in Kunming and the last 2 nights of our 1 week holiday in Yunnan.
We were very impressed with the service level provided during both occasions. For the first night, during check-in, we were told by the reception staff that although our room is supposed to be non-smoking, they just want to ensure that we are fully comfortable with it, especially in terms of cigarette odour. They offered to bring us up to the room for us to evaluate. Although we eventually took up the room even though there is a very, very faint cigarette odour, we were impressed by the efforts of the staff to ensure we had a comfortable stay. During our second stay, we got a different room which did not have any odour at all.
The room is very pratically decked with huge and comfortable beds to accomodate the 3 of us in a family. There is just one minor point to highlight. There is a transparent glass panel looking into the shower cubicle from the room, with a blind built into the glass. The blind can be completely or partially shut or left completely opened with a magnet on the frame. The blind in our first room was not able to be shut completely, leaving small gaps, which is not so convenient for a family with grown-ups.
Service level is impeccable, extending beyond that which we received during check in. Our requests were all met in a timely and accurate manner.
The location of the hotel certainly got a "10 out of 10" rating from us. It is just a walking distance to what must be the major shopping and entertainment belt of the city. There were no less than 4 huge shopping malls there, including a pedestrian-only street, lined by scores of shops and malls. And for food, restaurants are aplenty, including a China food street, with all sorts of local delicacies on offer.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location. 5mins walk to a subway station and big shopping malls. We booked a club room but we didnt find a club access worth paying extra for. Food presentation through out the day was not great and the club looked very dark in the afternoon. Staffs in the club couldn't speak english well. Coffee the in club was not great. The place lacked of the atmosphere and looked tiring. Breakfast at main restaurant was not so good. Some staff coughing without covering her mouth and staff didnt understand when you just want to order a simple Espresso. When we made use of Platinum elite drink voucher at lobby bar, we ordered a beer and first lady said No Beer.... But how is it possible that a hotel doesnt have a beer? After​ waiting and asking for other concierge staff to sort it out, they could bring us beer..... We were confused.
Anyway, it was an ok one night stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tania l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlbertLee, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre. Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regretfully has failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this incident.

We will try our best to improve the situation you mentioned, and strengthen the English training of our staff. Thank you for your suggestion. We are looking forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre in the near future. Thank you!

General Manager-Albert Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

Crown plaza standard comfort hotel, very convenient in the center of the city. Construction are still on going nearby so noisy during the day...hopefully this will be finished soon as some reviews already mentionned it in April

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Manu_Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlbertLee, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre. We look forward to serve you again in the near future and bring you a better experience during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments.

Wish you have a wonderful day and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

General Manager
Albert Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews