We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
16
16
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
16
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel was by far the best hotel during our trip in china
- The villas are very beautiful, decorated with a lot of taste
- The villas are in the nature and it is very peaceful
- The villas smell good (we only felt that in this hotel in Yunnan, everywhere else there was a bad smell)
- The Jacuzzi is nice
- The food was amazing, the best food we ever tested during our trip in China
- The staff was nice, and even if most of them don’t speak English they really try hard to be helpful

There were some little mistakes but after 3 weeks in China we really understood that these little things were nothing compared to all the other problems we met in China
- The swimming pool was not heated and was in fact totally useless but obviously this is a Chinese concept, everywhere we had a private pool, they were not heated….
- The hotel is just in front of a Power plant, and it really waste the beauty of the landscape.

To conclude, the hotel was very good, if you go near Kunming, try this hotel, for us it was clearly the best we have done in China.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank JulienV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

It's really brilliant place for a couple or family to have some time with the natural..always fresh air . Beautiful hotel with friendly staff clear big rooms ( we stay in villa 23 Th. ) have swimming pool and jacuzzi with hoot water. If it's raining you can have spa time

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Maryna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Brilliant Resort near Kunming (still 1hour from the (old) Kunming airport and nowhere near the city) has only spacious villas, tastefully furnished, with private hot and cold outdoor pools and any luxury you can wish for. Everything is in top condition, well working and clean. The villas are set in a lush tropical garden. The resort features a gym, a spa and restaurant with local and a (very limited) choice of international dishes. Service is friendly and attentive but often clueless even if addressed in Chinese. No English.

The location is a nightmare, on a lake next to a power station. The lake water is incredibly polluted and the air smells bad. The rate for a Villa came down 10 percent from the rack rate after some negotiation, but is an outrage seeing the air quality and location. If you want to spent time in a luxury tropical resort, get on a flight to Thailand for the real thing!

However, as a businessman from Kunming who wants to entertain some friends, this might be it: A villa can easily host 20 people.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nothe2le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed for one night at this hotel in the middle of a three week private tour in September 2011 with Oriental Travel of London. It was one of the highlights of our holiday as we were upgraded to a villa with private pool and hot spa pool which was a pleasant surprise as otherwise would have only been given a room in the main building. The hotel is on the banks of a lake but the villas are in a private complex amidst lush vegetation
A taste of how the other half live!
Afternoon tea was served at the villa, and breakfast and dinner were served in a small intimate restaurant. The staff were extremely attentive, although the check out was long.
Definitely the place to go relax - but at a price!
Convenient for the Stone Forest
.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaBash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The swimming pool & jacuzzi were dirty; the changing rooms appeared vandalised; the location opposite a coal fired power station was awful; spas not seen or used as although included in the tour price, we found this wasn't the case on arrival and we weren't even allowed to see them before paying. ; nowhere else to eat in the environ other than the hotel; husband and another group member suffered severe food poisoning here!

Date of stay: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magsH091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews