We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
64
67
28
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
67
28
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water supply hotel is situated metro station neva river the hotel staff vasilievsky island old building comfort petersburg
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Welcoming and helpful staff, good quality breakfast, wonderful old building. Quiet location with lots of shops and places to eat nearby, metro station a short walk away. We stayed for 6 nights, were offered help with the baby stroller and given a welcome gift for the toddler. Room was the largest in the hotel with all you need and very good toiletteries. What to improve: master bed can have a better (less hard) mattress, water supply in the shower was inadequate to wash properly closer to 9 pm, and to regulate it from scalding hot or freezing cold to medium was a challenge.

Room Tip: Get the biggest:-)
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Good afternoon, Catherine K! Many thanks for your positive response. We are really pleased by the fact you have enjoyed our staff’s work and the restaurant’s dishes quality. Our employees are always happy to help our guests with any requests. Please, accept our apologies for bad water supply. It was caused by the accident on Vasilevskiy Island and we did our best to solve this problem, however, we are able to provide hot water for guests in any situations using boilers to make your rest more convenient. Your comments are very valuable for us and we hope to see you again! Kind regards, Marco Polo, St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights. We were allotted a nice spacious room with clean toilet. This hotel is located in a very old (200 years said the staff) building. The location is very good, within walking distance there are lot of shops and cafetarias. The staff was curteous and helpful. Breakfast was good. There is good wifi connection also. But there are a few things which need improvement in this hotel. You have to climb up to the 2nd floor and then through a back gate climb down another flight of stairs to avail of the lift which is I think as old as the building itself!! An ancient lift with 3 doors and makes scary noises on each floor!! The toilet was clean but flow of water was very poor in the shower. In fact, some times there is hardly any water flow in the hand shower which is not very easy to handle. On the day we checked out we found to our horror in the morning that there was no water in the toilet. Barely a trickle for us to manage to brush our teeth and absolutely no water in the shower. On enquiring we were told that water supply would be restored at 9 a.m. which was our check out time. Had to leave without taking a bath. And found out that day a lot of new guests had checked in so may be water supply was rationed to accommodate new guests! This is a very serious issue for a hotel which is hosting so many international guests at the same time. The management should look into this and make arrangements for storage of water. The room should also have a tea/coffee maker. On the whole have a mixed feedback about this hotel. If the above issues are taken care of then this hotel can be given very good recommendations.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debarati_SenGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Debarati_SenGupta, many thanks for your response! We are really pleased by your positive comments about our staff, location and the quality of the restaurant Marco Polo St. Petersburg. We bring our apologies for inconvenience with water supply that was caused by the accident in Vasilevskiy Island. Our hotel is able to provide hot water with boilers but, unfortunately, its work is not such unhindered as a central water supply system. We bring our apologies for the inconvenience that was brought by our elevator. As it is part of the historical building that is dated by 1974 it can be less convenient than new ones but it always works properly. We are looking forward to see you soon and hope that your next visit will bring more positive emotions! Kind regards, Marco Polo, St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

We were booked into this hotel following an Intrepid tour, in which Intrepid failed to confirm our continuing booking (paid for from Australia) at MHotel in the city centre, so it was touted by Intrepid as an 'upgrade' from MHotel. Not so!
There was no hot water for most of our stay. So persistent was this problem that management had actually printed a letter for the rooms which apologised for 'hot water problems', so this was not a short term issue. Much of the time, there was no water pressure at all in our fourth floor room.
No block out curtains, despite it being light at 3 am at this time of the year.
The lift is an antique, and while it is laudable to preserve antiques, much of the time it didn't work, and felt dangerous, with a large gap. It was difficult for two people to enter.
There is no English language TV, although one staff member 'thought' perhaps CNN should be available. When he came up to the room to check, he just shrugged and said they 'had problems'.
The whole hotel had problems! It is well away from the Centre, and we wasted a precious day transferring from MHotel to here, and then negotiating the public transport system, whereas MHotel was well located.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms that require the lift!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yoni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Yoni R! Thank you for your feedback. Please, accept our apologies for the inconvenience with water supply. Unfortunately, there was an accident in Vasilevskiy Island but our hotel is equipped by boilers that is able to provide hot water for our guests without impediments. Marco Polo St. Petersburg is located in historical center of the city close to all of the main sights and also there are a lot of restaurants and shops in the nearest neighborhood. The lift was not planned as a part of building while it is dated by 1974, but always works properly. Your marks are very important for us and we will take into account all of them to make your next trip more comfortable. Looking forward to meet you again! Kind regards, Marco Polo St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

What I expect from a hotel is an opportunity to get a good night's sleep and this hotel didn't give me this opportunity. First of all, there's absolutely no sound proof and you can distinctly hear peole walking and talking in the corridor and agjacent rooms. I suggest the administration to put up signs in the halls telling people to respect the right for rest of other people and not to make noise. Secondly, in every bathroom there's a noisy pump that switches on every time you use the toilet or open the tap for running water and you can hear this pump from all other rooms because of the problems with the sound proof. Thirdly, the curtains are not blackout and the room is full of light at about 4-5 a.m. which for me is uncomfortable. The matress is too soft and has a huge wave effect. So, if you're not a heavy sleeper you won't get a chance to rest. That's regarding the comfort.
What I also wanted to point out is the type of room that we had. If you look on the official site of the hotel you won't see this type of room. On the site they say that the standard type of room is so-called "business" which we booked, but were given a different room which has nothing in common with the photos of this so-called "business" room. So I suggest the administration to stop fooling their clients and to add this type of room on the official site. I've made some photos so that you can compare it for yourself and see the diffefence.
Also, there was a stain on the bed cover which is absolutely disgusting and unforgivable for a hotel claiming to be good quality. The soap dispenser was broken (if you push it to get the soap, it didn't let you push again because the string inside or something is broken and it takes a couple of minutes for it to return to the initial position).
On the good side, although, the hotel is only three stars but, they give you sleepers and bathrobes. The minibar has a good selection of drinks at a reasonable price. The temperature in the room was very comfortable. And the food brought in by the room service was very good. They didn't have all the dished from the menu, though. Breakfast was quite good but the restaurant is too small, when the hotel is fully booked I believe there won't be enough places for everybody.
Our room was number 12. Never take that room, it is right next to the staircase and you can hear people walking noisily all the time.
We spent 7200 rub. for one night and I honestly bitterly regret the money. The hotel is not worth it and I'm not coming back here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcopolohotelspb, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Natalie T, thank you for your feedback. We will take into account all your remarks to improve conditions for our guests. Please, let us explain the situation with the rooms’ size: each of «Business room» has its own design and footage, so the photo can differ from the reality. Our hotel has four stars and so we always provide all of the necessities for our guests including sleepers, bathrobes and the wide spread of positions in minibars. Thank you for highly marking Marco Polo St. Petersburg restaurant’s quality. It is worth to notice that when the restaurant is full we open a gastropub for guests to allow you to have breakfast without obstacles. We are looking forward to see you soon again! Kind regards, Marco Polo St. Petersburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We visited Saint Petersburg last summer and we stayed at Marco Polo hotel. The location is a little far from the center, but near to bus/tram station. The building was old but tidy and cozy. The lift has the same age with the Russian Revolution! So think it again if you want to stay on upper floor. The breakfast included to the price and was delicious with plenty of choice. The girls in the resception was kind and try to help us.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcopolohotelspb, Head of Reservations and Front Office Department at Marco Polo Saint-Petersburg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Axl Z, thank you for such a pleasant feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and are pleased having had you with us again. We look forward to your prompt visit again.
Sincerely yours, Marco Polo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews