We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to be, chic and decadent”
Review of Turandot

Turandot
Ranked #91 of 15,237 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$63
Cuisines: European, Chinese, Japanese, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tverskaya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spacious rooftop terrace without any view but with plenty of flowers and tastefully decorated sitting corners with lounge atmosphere. There you can enjoy your privacy and meal. But also welcoming round tables to sit a family or group of friends.

Outstanding oysters, spectacular dessert. The wine card of open wines is sufficient but could have a wider offer even it seems to be unusual in Russia to order just a glas of wine;)

Overall an oasis of peace and unobtrusive luxury in busy Moskau. This was definitely not my last time there.

1  Thank Irin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Dellos_Russia, Администратор at Turandot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Irin C, thank you for your review and for the comment regarding the wine card!
So good to hear, that you enjoyed spending time on our Trellis terrace. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went with the Expectation to see a 5 star restaurant. At first sight from the outside did not give a good impression., The inside with the Exemption of having a Beautiful display of AMBER JEWEL on walls was better. The food, a Famous Russia serving of beetroot soup with chicken, salad, a tiny sweet desert and Tea or coffee, does not justify the cost of $ 150.00 Canadian dollars p.p. I would give a 4 star.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nick and Stella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Dellos_Russia, Администратор at Turandot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nick and Stella D, thank you for your review. We are sorry to know you are not completely content with your visit to Turandot. We will do our best to make your next visit to Turandot perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Recommended by our tour guide we booked an early dinner at Turandot on a Monday night. The restaurant itself is simply breathtaking, the decor is wonderfully over the top 17th century baroque with an opera-inspired theme. The menu is Asia themed and this is reflected in the intricate decor (which you don’t see from the pictures). The Chinese characters all over the ceiling are amazingly detailed. The restaurant is over two floors with the top floor having a series of small tables around an impressive balcony.

The menu is mainly Asian and the quality of food didn’t disappoint. We were however disappointed that on the night we went there was no crispy duck or chicken available (which was approx 30% of the menu). We had the pomelo/prawn salad and beef tartar for starters. Oddly the beef appeared to be cooked, but still very tasty, but the real winner was the accompanying mustard ice cream which was wonderful. We also had the pan-fried cod and Mongolian style stir fried venison. The venison sat on a bed of crunchy and beautifully flavoured half cooked onions (extremely good quality ingredients)

The prices were all quite reasonable, and the wine list catered for all pockets. We both has a G&T to start with, a bottle of sparking water, a fairly decent NZ Sauvignon blanc, the above mentioned four dishes and coffee for USD210, which we found pretty decent value for money.

The service however was a little disappointing. The venue, the menu deserved to be matched with better service. Despite the restaurant being only roughly 20% full, we were being unreasonably rushed.... twice in first 5 minutes of sitting down we were asked if we were really to order. The white wine wasn’t cold when delivered and wasn’t drinkable with the starters....eventually we had to ask for ice cubes ! The service was certainly friendly, just a little too automated...which didn’t fit in with the wonderful atmosphere.

I would still highly recommend this place, but maybe go when it’s a bit busier and be sure to be quite assertive with your server from the start...



1  Thank JB3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Dellos_Russia, Администратор at Turandot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JB3008, thank you for the review and for the compliments to our interiors and dishes. Please leave your reservation details, so that we could find out, who your waiter was. Hope to see you again next time you are in Moscow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

The place is unbelievably gorgeous. Rich in decor and huge in size. The food was organized for us. The table was groaning with Appetizers when we arrived . Every dish was delicious and the Wasabi Prawns
are a must if you go It is very mild but absolutely delicious. The Lamb Chops were also tender tasty and delicious We took lots of photos as the Restaraunt felt like a palace. Absolutely magnificent

1  Thank Evelynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Dellos_Russia, Администратор at Turandot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Evelynne G, thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit. Looking forward to seeing you back soon!))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

The Turandot restaurant is one of the best restaurant in Moscou, in my opinion. The scenery of ambience is very very enjoyable and amazing for whom likes history themes. A classic and aristocratic scenes... The food is fantastic. Seafood is main cusine. The Server Sabir is always ready to explain all dishes.

Thank Jolinsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Dellos_Russia, Администратор at Turandot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jolinsi, thank you for the compliments to our interiors and cuisine)) Best regards from Sabir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turandot also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Turandot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing