We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday ”
Review of The Langholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Langholm Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
112
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

First visit and I love the huge bathroom and rooms very neat. Food absolutely awesome. Warm welcome from Elena. All staff very friendly. Services in Afrikaans and English. I feel at home. Variety of foods to choose from. Arrange airport shuttle. Did everything via email and all was in place. Will recommended by far. Thanks

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_aka_Basil, Owner at The Langholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Langholm Hotel and we are thrilled that you found many of your expectations being met. We pride ourselves on trying to offer a little something extra - the personal touch - to each of our guests visits and thank you for recognising the efforts of the staff.
Till the next time, kind regards
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

A "home away from home". Friendly and caring staff, very clean, modern and beautiful buildings with quiet separate rooms, convenient and safe gated parking on site, optional dinner at the hotel restaurant and a bar. Great restaurants and attractions in walking distance. The best place to stay in Walvis Bay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Markus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_aka_Basil, Owner at The Langholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Markus
Thank you so much for your most kind review and positive comments following your visit to the Langholm....
We are really pleased we met your expectations and glad the girls looked after you so well.
i am particularly proud of my staff and they will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.
Till the next time, kindest regards
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The hotel is in a good location, close to the harbour area and tourist shops and restaurants. The accommodations were excellent and the parking was secure. The food served in the restaurant was very good, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brianlR9002UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_aka_Basil, Owner at The Langholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Brian
How kind of you to review the Langholm Hotel so highly following your stay.
It was great having you and your wife with us at the beginning of September and we were thrilled that you felt at home and enjoyed our hospitality........including the waffles for dessert!
We certainly hope that if and when you travel to Namibia in the future you will visit us again?
Till then, kind regards
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Stayed there last weekend while down in Walvis Bay. This is is a locally owned and run establishment. Rooms are nice, the food is good. Didn't need the wifi so I cannot say much about it. My only comment about the rooms is that the safe is very small. Most travelers have laptops/iPads/cameras which they would like to secure when they leave their rooms.
When I checked out I made a booking for my family in December as we'll be in Walvis Bay for a wedding. That's a pretty good recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abutiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_aka_Basil, Owner at The Langholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi Dr Fuller
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to review the Langholm Hotel following your stay two weekends ago.
We are really happy that we met a number of your expectations and glad you enjoyed your stay enough to make a booking in mid-December when we look forward to welcoming you back to the Langholm.
Thanks for your suggestion regarding the size of the safes in the rooms. The management team will be tasked to address this identified need.
Kind regards and look forward to seeing you in December.
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

From the ladies at the front desk to the owner, they made me feel at home without falling all over me! I have found my Oasis in Walvis Bay!! I won't stay anywhere else in future. I phoned my wife and told her "You won't believe this place!"
If you think my review is over the top! Just book in and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 69hendrikf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_aka_Basil, Owner at The Langholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks Hendrik for the great review and kind comments.
It was great sharing a drink and chat with you and we are thrilled that we met many of your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Langholm.
Till then, kind regards
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
1.3 km away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
167 reviews
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
286 reviews
31.4 km away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
109 reviews
36.6 km away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langholm Hotel

Address: 18-20 Jj Cleverly Street | Lagoon, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Price Range: HK$617 - HK$726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Langholm Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the privately owned award winning LANGHOLM HOTEL is a unique experience - our attention to detail, typical Namibian friendliness and upmarket comforts make our hotel an ideal destination for the corporate executive, travelling salesman and tourist. Situated in a quiet area, tranquil surroundings and beautiful gardens, our 12 double rooms ranging in size from 24.5 sq m to 25.5 sq m, 1 triple room measuring 28.6 sq m, 1 family suite of 39.9 sq m, 1 luxury room of 38.2 sq m and 1 luxury suite measuring 56.05 sq m in size offer en suite facilities, satellite TV, coffee/tea station, fridge, safe and direct dial telephones. All rooms are non-smoking, 24/7 Broadband internet access is available. Take a stroll down the road to view the birds on the lagoon or partake in the many activities available in the area. Relax and socialise at our bar - the NightCap - surrounded by a collection of over 1650 caps and enjoy a complimentary glass of our house wine, Jagermeister - before and/or after enjoying a delectable meal in our Dinner at Holm Restaurant, which is open every Sunday thru Friday night. Menu changes every week. Saturday nights are ideal to venture out to one of the many restaurants in close proximity. Secure parking is offered with remote controlled access. A security Guard is on duty every night to offer peace of mind and to assist where necessary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Langholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing