We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$505
US$240
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Pirogue Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anelia Resort & Spa(Flic En Flac)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VillaSun(Flic En Flac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveller rating
257
438
183
64
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
438
183
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamnice entertainmentshort staydance flooraqua gymevery eveningthe wi figreat beachstar hotelcocktailsislandmauritiusweddingsupermarketcreolewardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 979 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We arrived on the 1st December,the location of the hotel is very good and the room we were allocated ,room 307 was to a high standard,very clean,the bathroom was very modern with a large shower head, hot water when you required it,a hair dryer and complimentary shower gel etc.
The air con worked , the tv channels were very limited approx 12 channels, however the views from the sun terrace were stunning,
Now for the dissapointing side of the hotel,all the entertainment was in french,if you don't understand french you may as well go to the moon,you feel very isolated,but if you are lucky you may meet some more brits, the evening entertainment was poor,a local couple singing the same set over and over again, mainly in french,I did start to feel sorry for the french,only for a nano second,
The breakfasts were good, however the lunch and evening meals were very repetative, bland and boring, the service was very hadoc, the shinning star was a waiter called Bim,who could not do enough, it's a pity they are not all on his wave lenght,great service day in and day out,
Now for the big one,we booked all inclusive,which included all local beers and spirits, however on 5 occasions out of a 14 night stay we were informed that they had ran out of locally produced Whiskey and locally produced Gin,and also a local drink called triple sec,the local alternative to cointreau, this was more puzzling as you could ask for a cocktail which included triple sec, however ask for the drink, triple sec,you were informed they had
none?,very strange,
when you pay for the all inclusive package your expectations are that you can have what is advertised in your holiday brochure beware this is not the fact, we went to the local Spar and purchased a bottle of Gin and Whiskey and mixers which we consumed on our terrace during the evenings as the bar was do poor in providing your tipple,we were informed that they only provided 1 bottle of whiskey and gin however if you
like rum,white,spiced,dark your in luck
we complained to the hotel reception but had no feed back.
Edward & Davina Williams.

Stayed: December 2015
4  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash S, Responsable relations clients at Villas Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2016

Dear Edward W,

We thank you very much for having left your comments on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit at Villas Caroline and are very thankful for all the descriptive appreciation of our hotel in general. At the same time, we are terribly sorry for all the issues you had met and want to inform that necessary steps have already been taken to resolve the issues mentionned, as all the head of departments concerned have been briefed accordingly and will be taking disciplinary measures where necessary. Also, we have to point out that we have a very high occupany of French throughout the year, compared to the other nationalities and also, have a club Eldorador from Jet Tours, who are here to cater for the French tourists. We will definitely pass on your remark to Bhim, for his outstanding work and once again want to apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We would be awaiting your next visit to show you the changes brought.

Until then, please accept our sincere apologies,

Best regards,

Vik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We are a gay couple that booked at Villas Caroline from 08/12/2015 - 15/12/2015. When we arrived at Hotel, the reception was rude, they were insisting on a accommodation voucher - but our travel was paid and booked for by Thompsons Holiday with no voucher. The Villas we were in was 342 - the unit was a standard room as per our booking - on their website and on the Thompsons Booking Confirmation form the following is stated:

"This room type is suited for 2 adults and 1 child under 12. It features views of the ocean from the comfort of a terrace or balcony. The bathroom includes showers. The 21-inch plasma TVs offers channels with free movies. A mini-bar, mini-safe, telephone, air-conditioning, hairdryer, kitchenette with fridge, kettle, gas hob are among the amenities offered with daily housekeeping service. " - However, there are NO kitchenette, kettle nor gas hob. The air conditioning unit was broken - the vents did not open. The bathroom had several mould marks, the toilet seat was broken. The small bar fridge was also not in proper working order. The next morning when we raised the issues with reception, they said - we can be upgraded for Rs 3000.00 per person and we need to be moved back to original room on the 14/12/2015 as they are fully booked. Still they were not considering us as guests of the hotel. The room had a bad sewage smell - it was from the drain pipes upstairs; if they shower, the water comes out of our shower. The Window latch was broken, the toilet area was extremely small.

Then to our surprise, the next night there was a small mouse in the hotel room - after running after him, we got him out - once again- reception did not do anything about it. On two occasions, we did not get water after they cleaned the room in the morning.

All the name cards of the dining room in the restaurant is in French. If you english speaking or any other language, you do not know what dishes are served. The restaurant manager is so rude. The waiters are friendly when you full board or all-inclusive paying guests. We had to pack our dishes on the sides or the open tables next to us, as the waiters did not clear the tables, only all-inclusive and Jet Tour visitors.

All the entertainment is in French, there id no entertainment or guest relations in English. They only worry about guests from Jet Tours. They treat them with loyalty and respect. All other guests are just there...

I will not recommend this Hotel - I would rather go back to The Sands.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Pools - Rooms 341 -upwards are better
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash S, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Dear Thyann,

Thanks very much for the comments left on Trip Advisor, following your recent visit at Villas Caroline. We are really sorry to read that you had such an eventful stay amongst us and will surely pass on all your remarks to the corresponding departments so that appropriate actions be taken shortly. Please note that we have three different types of rooms, namely standard, superior and bungalow- the one you reserved was a standard one, with no kettle, kitchenette or gas hob which are found in bungalows. Rest auusred as all your complaints have been taken seriously and will be dealt with accordingly.

Hoping to have you again at Villas Caroline in the near future,

Best regards,

Vik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Hi,

We recently visited Mauritius for the 2nd year in a row. We really had a good stay year one in the North at Grand Baie, this year we were not so lucky. There was a few irratating things about Villas Caroline.

Not all were bad. Firstly The views from the restaurant and our rooms were spectacular.
Breakfast were goidnas well. No complaints.

The bad experiences:

Firstly on arrival there was a misunderstanding about the full board package we asked for. It took the hotel two days to put us on the "all inclusive package" . When we finally were changed to full board We learned that only the cocktails and beer were on the All inclusive package . We still had to pay for all the other drinks. Crazy prices. Up to MR300 per drink.

Secondly some of the bar staff(the two smaller guys were very friendly and helpfull) had serious attitude issues. Sometimes we were just ignored for long periods. They treated us as if they are doing us a favour of being there and they were arrogant and rude.

Thirdly there was no coffee in the rooms.
We had to Pay MR150 for Ricoffee at the Bar area.This is absurd.

The buffet dinner/lunch were not good at all. This was below par.

On the last day we had to check out by 12:00 Our flights were late afternoon and we arranged a taxi to pick us up at 12:00.
By 9:30 some of our rooms were evacuted with all our belongings still inside.

On departure after paying full board for 7 days i was informed that i still have to pay for the water , cold drinks and table wine for the First two eveings. Well over MR1000 for four glasses of wine a bottle of water and two cokes.This was because i was not on full board the first two evenings(even though i paid for 7 days.) The receptionist actually said its ridiculous , but that it is not his call! :)

Villas Caroline will surely not see me again.


Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash S, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2015

Dear Henry D,

Thank you very much for your review post your recent stay at our hotel, which will surely help us in improving and have to apologise that our services did not meet your expectations. Please be informed that we treat all our reservations very seriously and all requests for amendments are also looked after promptly, and that we proceeded to the change as soon as we were notified. We are delighted with the remarks regarding our restaurant and rooms and want just to point out that we always ask our incoming guests to check the "AI" list before they start consuming, and that we have the same type of prices as any other hotel, on the west coast of Mauritius and being in our category. Also, rest assured that all you comments concerning the bar staff have been transmitted to our bar manager and necessary actions have been taken. We will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies, and look forward to another opportunity to host you at Villas Caroline.

Thanking you once again for your review,

Best regards,

Vikash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

was there just for some snack and drinks. the hotel was almost empty. it take 20 min to get the menu card. 20 more minute to get a juice. they take my glass and i was not finished and it was very expensive for the quality and product they served

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moutouk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash S, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2015

Dear moutouk45,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your review on Trip Advisor, as these remarks are very important for us to improve, and we would like to add that we have already started to look into this surprising matter. Please note that we have a buffet everyday (breakfast, lunch and dinner), which has been upgraded in all aspects and we have peanuts and other little crisps proposed at the bar, at the time when our kitchen is closed, i.e from 3pm to 6pm. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours truly,

Vik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

Just spent 11 nights at this hotel and all I can say is that it was brilliant .The hotel was excellent the food was very good the service from the staff was also very good. The bungalows were very clean towels changed daily.Nothing was too much trouble and every thing was done with a happy smile.Our holiday was made all the better by the friendliness of the restaurant and bar staff especially Nitish,John and Bhim the only downside is that it caters mainly for the French but that was not a problem for us

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikash S, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Caroline, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2015

Dear Elaine B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at our hotel, Villas Caroline and you can rest assured that your comments are very much valued. We take great pride in finding out that all our services offered, have suited you and of course, we will convey your remarks to Nitish, John and Bhim, who have contributed in making your stay, more enjoyable.

We are dazzled by your remarks, which confirm that all our changes brought have been fruitful.

Thanking you once again for having chosen Villas Caroline Beach Hotel and we hope to see you very soon for your next holidays.

Yours truly,

Vik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews