We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Pirogue Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Caroline(Flic En Flac)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
VillaSun(Flic En Flac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Sugar Beach Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anelia Resort & Spa(Flic En Flac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,382)
Filter reviews
2,382 results
Traveller rating
1,795
452
88
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,795
452
88
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink peppercorndolphin barspices restaurantinfinity poolour honeymoontamarin bayhalf boarddressing areaevery eveningboat housele mornewater skiingrooms are largebreakfast and dinnerwater sportswalk in closetsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,382 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first visit to Mauritius and what a marvellous island to explore.

Sands Hotel certainly met our expectations, beautifully kept Gardens, lovely clean rooms and super friendly staff. The food in the buffet restaurant is of a good standard with a wide choice whatever the theme, so always something to suit a given taste.
The cocktails were well above average and prices sensible, the only quibble, and this is minor, is the price of Wine and Beer compared to other up-market restaurants (Le Chamerel for example) because of this over pricing we saw several guest bringing in there own supplies from a local supermarket which can't be good for the Hotel.
Based on exchange rate of 45MUR to 1GBP.
Cocktails from £6.20 (excellent value)
Small Beer (Draught Pheonix) £3,66
Large Beer (Draught Pheonix) £6.66
Glass of House Wine (small) £7.77
Bottle of House Wine £37.77

Of course you don't have to drink alcohol on site but budget accordingly if you do, we travelled as a couple on this occasion but would love to return with our grown up children next time as this was such a marvellous place stay, the island has lots to offer for those that can drag themselves away from the lovely Beach with Black River Gorges an absolute must.



Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Goosedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Goosedj,

Thank you for your great comments.

We are pleased that your expectations have been met and that you have appreciated the comfortable suites, the themed and varied buffets and the excellent services. We have noted your detailed analysis of the pricing structure which in line with hotels of similar category on the island.

We look forward to welcome you back together with your children, for another marvelous stay, at Sands Suites Resort & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Kamal Nundloll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our second trip to Mauritius and to the Sands Resort & Spa.

A beautiful small friendly well run hotel facing the Ocean surrounded by a coral reef.

The food, staff and rooms are all you could ask for in a superb setting.

Included are a number of free water sports, waterskiing, windsurfing, paddle boarding etc

We will be back again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank barberrj2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear barberrj2001,

Thank you for your very good comments and recommendations.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed a superb stay among us.

We look forward to welcome you back for your 3rd visit at Sands Suites Resort & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Kamal Nundloll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful resort and excellent services. We love all activities at the resort and they are free..wow...plenty of thing to do if you are bore of relaxing by beach and pool. Stunning view. We love staying there so much and had great experience. Will come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hoang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Hoang L,

Thank you for your excellent comments.

We are pleased that that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the services have been up to your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you back, for many more great experiences, at Sands Suites Resort & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Kamal Nundloll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am extremely fussy about everything and so I was a little anxious about my holiday. However, this place went over and beyond my expectations.

We were a family of 7 with 2 elderly disabled people with specific dietary needs. As soon as we arrived we were given wet towels and a complimentary cold drink. Breakfast was given thereafter to accommodate the diabetics.

Due to dietary needs, We were asked on a daily basis what we would like to eat and even when we didn’t request food, the staff made us food to tailor our taste. I have a sensitive stomach but I was not ill despite my indulgence! This was clearly a sign of well cooked food. As we were celebrating a 50th birthday, the hotel gave us a beautiful birthday cake with a fountain candle. Such a sweet touch.

The accommodation was well equipped for the disabled folks and the manager ensured they were made to feel comfortable. The place was immaculate and very clean and the staff were very polite. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious even for 3 people. We had the ground floor rooms and we had brilliant views of the pool and beach. Bottled water was provided on a daily basis in the room as was daily complimentary slush puppies by the pool.

The evening entertainment was fabulous and interactive and I wished it had gone on longer. There were live bands, Mauritius night and an Indian show. The singers and dancers were fantastic.

There was a small gym with trainers to hand......Hans was a real sweetie.

The only recommendations that I could make are that room service could be a little more faster. The food and drinks can add up especially if you are not all inclusive. It is a little way from the nearest town and taxi was about £10 return so a little pricy.

We all felt tearful when we left so a real sign of a grand holiday.

Special thanks to Ashok and Mary......you are gold dust x

Room Tip: Ground floor accessible room 115. Excellent amenities for disabled people. Easy access to food court, beach, pool and reception.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Anita2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything at this resort was top of the class - the facilities, room, service etc. The staff went above and beyond to help the guests. We were couple of hours late during check-out however we were willingly offered sufficient time and got help throughout the process. The infinity pool is amazing and the beach activities offered are comprehensive. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews