We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort on white sandy beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful location, on Flic en Flac white sandy beach. Guests are are lodged in nice and large bungalows inserted in a coconuts park. Unique pool close to the beach. Different restaurants and bars in beautiful locations. Marvelous experience.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Domenico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Domenico P,

I would like to thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay and for spending some of your precious time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. We are also pleased to read that you appreciated the location and the landscaping.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 3,325 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and there were many positive aspects to the massive La Pirogue Resort. However, there are a few shortfalls in the offering stopping it from being a 5 star stay.

Positives:
- A stunning beach and location in beautiful Mauritius.
- Great access to free beach and water sport activities.
- The food is great and a good variety of options.
- Friendly staff and maintenance was attentive.

Negatives:
- The resort is getting tired and after recent renovations it still has quite an old feel to it
- The price of alcohol is ridiculous, probably the most expensive we have ever seen at a resort. $20 for a glass of wine at dinner is not even within a range of value and the rest of the drinks list is equally pricey. Tip - do not drink any alcohol here and instead walk 50m down the road and buy what you need each day.
- No access to free drinking water at dinner and there was very limited water supplied each day free of charge.
- Check in was very slow, with no queue it took 40 minutes to check in and fill out details which is far to slow for a high-end resort. Most details requested during check in could have been sought ahead of time which would have sped it up a lot.
-The room (beachfront villa) was nice but had a few faults (faulty fridge, heat pump and a damp/flooding smell throughout).

Overall it is a nice resort in a stunning location but it could be so much better if it wasn't trying to overprice certain things and ensured check in and rooms were of the highest standard.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ramsey0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ramsey0504,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location, the sea activities and other services offered by the hotel. Our staff will be very glad and more encouraged to learn that their hospitality was appreciated.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the slow check in you have experienced and the problems encountered in your room.

Guest satisfaction and service excellence are of utmost importance to us. The Front Office Manager will be informed of the slow service. We shall ensure that appropriate training is provided to our staff and reinforce supervision so as to maintain high standards at the hotel.

Our housekeeping and maintenance teams shall do the best to make sure that rooms are better inspected and equipment properly verified prior to arrival in order to uphold our standards and avoid future complaints.

We are sorry to read that our prices were not to your conveniences though beverage pricing is reviewed frequently to ensure that we are in line with the industry in general. At the same time I must point out that we do have a very comprehensive all-inclusive package available which many guests opt for as being the best value for money alternative.

We are always looking for other options so that guests can enjoy a nice bottle of wine with dinner. We recently launched the Van Der Stel Bar, which has added a new dimension to wine tasting by offering a choice of 60 wines by the glass served from state of the art dispensers and a membership card control system.

We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The newly renovated hotel is better than ever. Everything has been done with good taste and keeping usability in mind. What is the best is that the same staff is there from year to year. It makes you fell like home in spite of the long traveling distance. The design of superior rooms follow the same good taste. The problem in the future seems to be that the hotel is really full...

Room Tip: Private bungalows by the beach are the most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arto009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Arto009,

Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we are delighted to read that we succeeded in making your stay at La Pirogue a truly ‘’home away from home’’ experience.

Our staff will be glad and motivated to know that their hospitality was well appreciated.

It is also a pleasure for us to learn how much you appreciated the new set up and décor of the Resort.

I would like to thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay and for spending some of your precious time to write a review online.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Very good location. Accommodation great. Food was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Went there with my family and kids and they were all 100% satisfied with their stay! The swimming pool was the perfect temperature, there is always something to keep you active or busy. The kids loved the slides in the swimming pool!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Tina D,

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort. We are also glad to read that the hospitality of our staff and the facilities offered by the hotel were well appreciated by your family.

We wish to thank you for your feedback and for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We spent 12 wonderful and relaxed days in the beautiful feng-shui-style Pirogue Hotel situated in a tropical garden. Food is excellent and service is good; as it comes to Kamla and Sundy, (Sundeeren), our breakfast waiters, service is not only excellent, but warm-hearted, multilingual and personal. We really enjoyed our first meal of the day and felt "home". First the hotel forgot about our honeymoon and we did not know where they put our marriage certificate. But thanks to the organising and managing qualities of Kamla we finally got so many free gifts from the hotel. So we have to say thanks to the hotel-manager for a seafood dinner, a free massage in the wellness center and a hole range of smaller gifts like sparkling wine, fruits, T-Shirts, a picture and more. As we were honeymooning from November 28 until December 10 (2017) we were attending the anniversary celebration (41 years and refurbishing) and will always remember the wonderful concert "tribute to Pink Floyd".
In the Pirogue people can find tranquility because animation is discreet and unobtrusive. The rooms are charming and as we could watch children and parents felt good in this place. As much as we could see the hotel is working on sustainability and avoiding plastic (we got elegant glass water bottles in the room and really appreciated this daily service). But as there is always room to improve we need to mention the refrigerator furnishing construction in the room which is consuming energy like hell because it's a faulty design (in a closed unvented box which does not allow the heat to escape). General warning: don't go swimming without shoes!

Room Tip: any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear anitajankofsky

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your honeymoon vacation and for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor.

It pleases us to read that the overall services and facilities were to your utmost satisfaction. We certainly strive to provide excellent service and are so glad that our hospitality was highly appreciated.

We feel honored to know that Kamla & Sandy went the extra mile to make your stay a great one. I will gladly pass on your grateful comments to them.

We would like to thank you for your precious advice regarding the refrigerator furniture. I will share your comments with the Maintenance Manager who will surely solve the problem you described.

Once again thank you for choosing our resort for your special honeymoon and hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,670 reviews
18.5 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,157 reviews
2.2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
35.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Sugar Beach Mauritius
Sugar Beach Mauritius
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: HK$2,233 - HK$7,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, WingontravelTA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing