We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,897)
Filter reviews
3,897 results
Traveller rating
2,774
855
195
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,774
855
195
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la pirogue beach bar sister hotel sugar beach coconut cafe sugar beach next door mini golf our honeymoon palm trees half board all inclusive package beautiful beach kids club crazy golf green star mini bar a la carte restaurant sister hotel next door
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 3,897 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and there were many positive aspects to the massive La Pirogue Resort. However, there are a few shortfalls in the offering stopping it from being a 5 star stay.

Positives:
- A stunning beach and location in beautiful Mauritius.
- Great access to free beach and water sport activities.
- The food is great and a good variety of options.
- Friendly staff and maintenance was attentive.

Negatives:
- The resort is getting tired and after recent renovations it still has quite an old feel to it
- The price of alcohol is ridiculous, probably the most expensive we have ever seen at a resort. $20 for a glass of wine at dinner is not even within a range of value and the rest of the drinks list is equally pricey. Tip - do not drink any alcohol here and instead walk 50m down the road and buy what you need each day.
- No access to free drinking water at dinner and there was very limited water supplied each day free of charge.
- Check in was very slow, with no queue it took 40 minutes to check in and fill out details which is far to slow for a high-end resort. Most details requested during check in could have been sought ahead of time which would have sped it up a lot.
-The room (beachfront villa) was nice but had a few faults (faulty fridge, heat pump and a damp/flooding smell throughout).

Overall it is a nice resort in a stunning location but it could be so much better if it wasn't trying to overprice certain things and ensured check in and rooms were of the highest standard.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsey0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Ramsey0504,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location, the sea activities and other services offered by the hotel. Our staff will be very glad and more encouraged to learn that their hospitality was appreciated.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the slow check in you have experienced and the problems encountered in your room.

Guest satisfaction and service excellence are of utmost importance to us. The Front Office Manager will be informed of the slow service. We shall ensure that appropriate training is provided to our staff and reinforce supervision so as to maintain high standards at the hotel.

Our housekeeping and maintenance teams shall do the best to make sure that rooms are better inspected and equipment properly verified prior to arrival in order to uphold our standards and avoid future complaints.

We are sorry to read that our prices were not to your conveniences though beverage pricing is reviewed frequently to ensure that we are in line with the industry in general. At the same time I must point out that we do have a very comprehensive all-inclusive package available which many guests opt for as being the best value for money alternative.

We are always looking for other options so that guests can enjoy a nice bottle of wine with dinner. We recently launched the Van Der Stel Bar, which has added a new dimension to wine tasting by offering a choice of 60 wines by the glass served from state of the art dispensers and a membership card control system.

We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

The newly renovated hotel is better than ever. Everything has been done with good taste and keeping usability in mind. What is the best is that the same staff is there from year to year. It makes you fell like home in spite of the long traveling distance. The design of superior rooms follow the same good taste. The problem in the future seems to be that the hotel is really full...

Room Tip: Private bungalows by the beach are the most convenient
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arto009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Arto009,

Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we are delighted to read that we succeeded in making your stay at La Pirogue a truly ‘’home away from home’’ experience.

Our staff will be glad and motivated to know that their hospitality was well appreciated.

It is also a pleasure for us to learn how much you appreciated the new set up and décor of the Resort.

I would like to thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay and for spending some of your precious time to write a review online.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Very good location. Accommodation great. Food was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Went there with my family and kids and they were all 100% satisfied with their stay! The swimming pool was the perfect temperature, there is always something to keep you active or busy. The kids loved the slides in the swimming pool!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Tina D,

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at our resort. We are also glad to read that the hospitality of our staff and the facilities offered by the hotel were well appreciated by your family.

We wish to thank you for your feedback and for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We spent 12 wonderful and relaxed days in the beautiful feng-shui-style Pirogue Hotel situated in a tropical garden. Food is excellent and service is good; as it comes to Kamla and Sundy, (Sundeeren), our breakfast waiters, service is not only excellent, but warm-hearted, multilingual and personal. We really enjoyed our first meal of the day and felt "home". First the hotel forgot about our honeymoon and we did not know where they put our marriage certificate. But thanks to the organising and managing qualities of Kamla we finally got so many free gifts from the hotel. So we have to say thanks to the hotel-manager for a seafood dinner, a free massage in the wellness center and a hole range of smaller gifts like sparkling wine, fruits, T-Shirts, a picture and more. As we were honeymooning from November 28 until December 10 (2017) we were attending the anniversary celebration (41 years and refurbishing) and will always remember the wonderful concert "tribute to Pink Floyd".
In the Pirogue people can find tranquility because animation is discreet and unobtrusive. The rooms are charming and as we could watch children and parents felt good in this place. As much as we could see the hotel is working on sustainability and avoiding plastic (we got elegant glass water bottles in the room and really appreciated this daily service). But as there is always room to improve we need to mention the refrigerator furnishing construction in the room which is consuming energy like hell because it's a faulty design (in a closed unvented box which does not allow the heat to escape). General warning: don't go swimming without shoes!

Room Tip: any room is a good room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear anitajankofsky

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your honeymoon vacation and for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor.

It pleases us to read that the overall services and facilities were to your utmost satisfaction. We certainly strive to provide excellent service and are so glad that our hospitality was highly appreciated.

We feel honored to know that Kamla & Sandy went the extra mile to make your stay a great one. I will gladly pass on your grateful comments to them.

We would like to thank you for your precious advice regarding the refrigerator furniture. I will share your comments with the Maintenance Manager who will surely solve the problem you described.

Once again thank you for choosing our resort for your special honeymoon and hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We were allocated to a nicely renovated room with garden view, small but cozy, very clean. The buffet was very good, large choices to adapt to everyone's tastes. Staff very attentive to customer requests. Ideal place for couple to be pampered by the resort hard working staff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Terry W

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius and for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to read that our newly renovated hotel along with the various facilities and new services were to your utmost satisfaction.

The entire team works really hard to offer the best of their services and I am happy to see that it reflected in your comments. I shall make sure that your feedback is passed on to all our associates to encourage them further in their daily endeavor to satisfy our valued guests.

Once again thank you for your complimentary feedback and for recommending the Resort to other readers on this review site.

We sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews