We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,809)
Filter reviews
3,810 results
Traveller rating
2,701
846
190
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,701
846
190
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la pirogue beach bar blue bar sister hotel sugar beach coconut cafe sugar beach next door mini golf our honeymoon palm trees half board paul et virginie all inclusive package beautiful beach standard room kids club crazy golf green star
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 3,810 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

La piroque is a resort with good infrastructure but bad service. The resort is currently being renovated. So the infrastructure looks fine. The beach is beautiful. The bungalow room had all what a hotel room needs, except for a comfortable bed. The choice of tv channels is poor, but we didn't need the tv. The gardens are well kept. They only should collect the coconuts more often, so they don't fall off (we nearly got hit by one). The breakfast buffet was very good. The buffet food is okay. It has a good variety. The meat dishes usually didn't meet our taste. The choice and quality of breads was outstanding.
For the quality category they want to be (4 stars superior) and prices they ask (Central European level) the service really doesn't hold up. The staff generally doesn't make an effort to be friendly and they are definitely not welcoming. The worst are the front desk and the water sports centre. Never seen such an unprofessional and unfriendly front desk. The staff from the water sports centre always give you the feeling of annoying them every time you'd like to benefit of one of the offered activities.

Overall our stay was ok. But we wouldn't recommend la piroque to any of our friends or go again. We just expected more attention to details.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Lea P,

Thank you for your comments posted online.

We are obviously sorry to read that despite the huge investment in the infrastructure and training of our staffs you found the service level at the Front desk and Sports Centre to be unprofessional and unfriendly. Be assured we shall reinforce the supervision and will soon develop staff engagement forums to further enhance their skills.

Concerning the coconut trees at the Resort, indeed we have a professional team who regularly trim the trees in order to avoid the falling of the coconut.

We are sorry you do not agree with our prices in general, I can assure you that they are in line with pricing practiced throughout the industry on the island and reflect the pricing levels of a 4 star resort.

I am sorry to read that you are considering of refraining from coming back to La Pirogue and recommending the resort. We would sincerely like to have the opportunity of regaining your confidence in La Pirogue. Please let me know personally whenever you book as I would be more than happy to assist with any preferences you may have.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Really nice hotel that is is great for families and couple. The whole family went which was 8 of us and I had a friend satying next door and Sugar Beach.

What I liked:
You could walk 200m to the next hotel and use their facilities
More than 10 restaurants and bars to try
Lots of beach space
Great choice of cocktails

Didnt like:
That you needed to go to Tamrin Bay to ski

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewD1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Matthew D,

It has been a pleasure for the entire team to have welcomed you recently and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Certainly, our sharing facilities with Sugar Beach is a definite advantage to our valued guests who can enjoy various services of both resorts.

Once again thank you for your appreciative comments posted online and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

La Pirogue is one of our favorite hotels we've stayed in over the past nine years we visited the beautiful country. The standard rooms are very small, but were in the process of being refurbished. The gardens are beautiful and lush and offer guests many places to leisure. The pool is beautiful and has a infinity view of the Western ocean where beautiful sunsets can be viewed from. The restaurants' standards are very high with a wide variety of delicious foods (men, be sure you bring long trousers for dining in the evenings - they are quite strict about it). The beach is long and clean with too little thatched shading and there is no reefs to snorkel, but the other water sports are fairly standard. The staff at 'Beach bar' had a bit of an attitude most of the time and cocktails were served in plastic cups - not what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel...

Room Tip: If you you travel as a family, the standard rooms can become very cramped.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear SouthAfrican Traveler,

We would like to first of all thank you for constantly choosing to stay with us for the past nine years and look forward to welcome you for many more years to come. It was a pleasure for us to read that we could provide you the known hospitality of the Resort.

Surely as you highlighted we were in a phase of renovation recently and have relooked the public areas, the rooms, introduced new concept as well as reworked on many of our facilities.

Dress code for both ladies and gents is Casual Smart for dinner in our restaurants. We have tried to apply the norms that guests would expect in a resort of this kind. This also agrees with the benchmark taken from similar hotels on the island. On the same note I would like to add, that generally with our warm humid climate light colours, with a preference for linen and cotton fabrics have been found most comfortable by most of our guests.

I am sorry that you felt that some of the staff members at Le Morne Beach Bar had a bit of an attitude. As staff attitude and friendliness is one of the hallmarks of our resort, be assured that I shall use your feedback as a case study with the team members concerned on how to handle guests courteously and professionally even when the hotel and restaurant are running at full capacity. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings.

Thanks again for your comments which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back after the renovation for you to witness the changes we intend to do.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The new rooms were more than expected, and we had the most wonderful trip! Our little boy had the time of his life and we hope to return .
Special thanks to La Pirogues Vijay (mobile barman and pizza provider) who went above and beyond to make our stay extra special- worth the mention! Thank you.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank TerriHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear TerriHampson,

It is such a delight to read your experience at La Pirogue Resort & Spa. We are pleased to know that it has been your most wonderful trip and that your son enjoyed himself to the fullest! Hopefully he could enjoy the various facilities and services of the Sun Kids Club.

Your thankful note was sent to Vijay as well as shared to the entire team members in order to further motivate them to perform even better.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The resort is on a lovely stretch of beach with a wonderful view of Le Morne down the coast. Various water activities are free (e.g. paddle boarding) and the private boat trip down to Crystal Rock was a perfect way to spend a few hours. Given the cost, this resort is excellent value for money, but the rooms probably need updating. My only complaint would be that the restaurant service can be much improved upon.
Finally, the on-site nurse was very helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear S O,

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius and for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor. It pleases us to read that the overall services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

You will be glad to know that we have recently completed the renovation of the Resort's public areas and the rooms and have at the same time upgraded our facilities.

Though the hotel was running at very high occupancy during your stay, there should be no excuse for a breakdown in service and I shall ensure that appropriate supervision is implemented with our waiting staff to try and achieve perfect service at all times.

We are glad that you found the Resort to be a great value for money and we sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews