We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$320
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Caroline(Flic En Flac)
US$182
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VillaSun(Flic En Flac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sugar Beach Mauritius(Flic En Flac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anelia Resort & Spa(Flic En Flac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,545)
Filter reviews
3,545 results
Traveller rating
2,471
815
186
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,471
815
186
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barblue barsister hotel sugar beachthatched bungalowscoconut cafesugar beach next doormini golfour honeymoonpaul virginiepalm treeshalf boardall inclusive packagestandard roombeautiful beachkids clubcrazy golfa la carte restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 3,545 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Really nice hotel that is is great for families and couple. The whole family went which was 8 of us and I had a friend satying next door and Sugar Beach.

What I liked:
You could walk 200m to the next hotel and use their facilities
More than 10 restaurants and bars to try
Lots of beach space
Great choice of cocktails

Didnt like:
That you needed to go to Tamrin Bay to ski

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Matthew D,

It has been a pleasure for the entire team to have welcomed you recently and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Certainly, our sharing facilities with Sugar Beach is a definite advantage to our valued guests who can enjoy various services of both resorts.

Once again thank you for your appreciative comments posted online and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

La Pirogue is one of our favorite hotels we've stayed in over the past nine years we visited the beautiful country. The standard rooms are very small, but were in the process of being refurbished. The gardens are beautiful and lush and offer guests many places to leisure. The pool is beautiful and has a infinity view of the Western ocean where beautiful sunsets can be viewed from. The restaurants' standards are very high with a wide variety of delicious foods (men, be sure you bring long trousers for dining in the evenings - they are quite strict about it). The beach is long and clean with too little thatched shading and there is no reefs to snorkel, but the other water sports are fairly standard. The staff at 'Beach bar' had a bit of an attitude most of the time and cocktails were served in plastic cups - not what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel...

Room Tip: If you you travel as a family, the standard rooms can become very cramped.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear SouthAfrican Traveler,

We would like to first of all thank you for constantly choosing to stay with us for the past nine years and look forward to welcome you for many more years to come. It was a pleasure for us to read that we could provide you the known hospitality of the Resort.

Surely as you highlighted we were in a phase of renovation recently and have relooked the public areas, the rooms, introduced new concept as well as reworked on many of our facilities.

Dress code for both ladies and gents is Casual Smart for dinner in our restaurants. We have tried to apply the norms that guests would expect in a resort of this kind. This also agrees with the benchmark taken from similar hotels on the island. On the same note I would like to add, that generally with our warm humid climate light colours, with a preference for linen and cotton fabrics have been found most comfortable by most of our guests.

I am sorry that you felt that some of the staff members at Le Morne Beach Bar had a bit of an attitude. As staff attitude and friendliness is one of the hallmarks of our resort, be assured that I shall use your feedback as a case study with the team members concerned on how to handle guests courteously and professionally even when the hotel and restaurant are running at full capacity. Please accept my apologies for our shortcomings.

Thanks again for your comments which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back after the renovation for you to witness the changes we intend to do.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The new rooms were more than expected, and we had the most wonderful trip! Our little boy had the time of his life and we hope to return .
Special thanks to La Pirogues Vijay (mobile barman and pizza provider) who went above and beyond to make our stay extra special- worth the mention! Thank you.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank TerriHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear TerriHampson,

It is such a delight to read your experience at La Pirogue Resort & Spa. We are pleased to know that it has been your most wonderful trip and that your son enjoyed himself to the fullest! Hopefully he could enjoy the various facilities and services of the Sun Kids Club.

Your thankful note was sent to Vijay as well as shared to the entire team members in order to further motivate them to perform even better.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The resort is on a lovely stretch of beach with a wonderful view of Le Morne down the coast. Various water activities are free (e.g. paddle boarding) and the private boat trip down to Crystal Rock was a perfect way to spend a few hours. Given the cost, this resort is excellent value for money, but the rooms probably need updating. My only complaint would be that the restaurant service can be much improved upon.
Finally, the on-site nurse was very helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear S O,

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius and for leaving a feedback on Trip Advisor. It pleases us to read that the overall services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

You will be glad to know that we have recently completed the renovation of the Resort's public areas and the rooms and have at the same time upgraded our facilities.

Though the hotel was running at very high occupancy during your stay, there should be no excuse for a breakdown in service and I shall ensure that appropriate supervision is implemented with our waiting staff to try and achieve perfect service at all times.

We are glad that you found the Resort to be a great value for money and we sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Had coffee there with my family after they went Scuba diving.
Excellent facilities. Great restaurant.
The best was the playground at which my Grand Daughter could be entertained while her parents were having an excellent Scuba div

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Y99AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi David S,

It is a pleasure to note that your experience at the Resort was memorable and that your grand daughter appreciated the facilities of the resort.

Indeed the Resort caters for all category of guests and provides facilities adapted to all ages.

Thanks again for appreciating our services and facilities and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews