We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort on one of the best beaches in Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Pirogue Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Although this time of year it is the early spring so the temp is much more pleasant and the sea ,still very warm for swimming but the pool is a little chilly but this might be the fact you are jumping in after being in 25 d outside temp..

The resort has plenty to do and just along the beech is the sister resort which you can also use so all the choices you would ever need, great food good entertainment .

I book a fishing trip which was an early start but a great day out and caught a good quantity of Tuna , Oct Nov Dec and Jan best months

Fantastic Sunsets excellent food and friendly service, did I mention
free Golf !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are in a good location the resort is on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Coolberryhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Coolberryhawk,

I would like to thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your recent stay and for spending some of your precious time to write a review online. I am glad that your overall stay was very comfortable.

Certainly, the Resort offers various services and facilities to satisfy different tastes and needs and we are glad that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts put in to keep our guests happy. We shall be delighted to welcome you for another thrilling experience at the Resort.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 3,160 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here with an incentive group and I cannot praise the Hotel enough! They are currently renovating the rooms and communal areas and it's safe to say I will be back to see the progress as I am not sure how they can make it any better! There is a great choice of food, there was never an issue with sun beds and the views are spectacular not to mention the amazing staff!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank meggilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Meggilou,

Our main objective is to ensure that our guests enjoy an excellent moment while staying with us and I am very happy to read that we succeeded in making your holidays pleasurable.

The entire team is glad to learn that you have had an excellent holiday with us and that their dedicated services were above and beyond your expectations.

Thank you again for acknowledging the efforts put in to make you live an excellent holiday and we look forward to your next visit to La Pirogue to make you discover the new Boho Chic Resort.

Sincerely yours,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We arrived yesterday , looks like some major construction work going on at La Pirogue we were sent a little further down the rd to Sugar Beach this is the same complex and as we were in a taxi it made no difference to cost ect , we arrived in Sugar Beach impressive but the car park was busy with guests leaving and arriving once inside the tranquil and friendly reception we were shown to a table given the usual forms to fill in ,a welcome drink and a damp towel to refresh ourselves ... I didnt expect our rooms to be ready as we were told 2pm on wards but they were and we were quickly driven to them by means of a n electric cart...
We had booked two cottages on the La Pirogue resort and they really are close together in fact its hard to tell where Sugar Beach ends or begins the gardens are beautiful and all looks good so far
we spent most of the rest of the day walking along the beach which does not disappoint
We had already pre booked Tides Restaurant on line a week before our departure and they had saved to booking , the place was fantastic with its location by the sea
the food menu was not what id expected and certainly opened our eyes to food we had never tasted though not to the children,s liking in fact they only ate the desert but every dish was served and presented fabulously
all so far so goo will update throughout our stay

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Cher Steve B,

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is a real pleasure to know that you appreciated the beauty of both Resorts and the serene atmosphere that prevails here. We strive to do our best to satisfy every guest and therefore glad that we were able to do so with you.

Once again thank you for your comments posted online and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting - beach and gardens
Our garden bungalows comfortable
Main restaurant big buffet, as to be expected. The two smaller restaurants much nicer
Good facilities (fitness and sports)
Wifi only just adequate
Only complaint is La Pirogue purports to be a separate hotel but it is operated by Sugar Beach next door. That's OK till it comes to the fine print. Example: hotel magazine left in our room advertised free golf at nearby Tamarina. At check out I was charged. Their excuse "that's a Sugar Beach magazine". I think that's very misleading and deceptive conduct

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for your review online. We are glad to read that the Restaurants and the fitness facilities were to your satisfactions.

I was really sorry to read the inconvenience you had with the Tamarina Golf. Be assured, your review was discussed with the Sugar Beach management team for appropriate amendments.

We are again thankful to you for having chosen La Pirogue for your holidays and hope you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We had a very nice weekend at La Pirogue and sugar beach hotel. We had access to sugar beach as la pirogue was on renovation. The location is perfect and very well maintained. The staff was very friendly specially with my little daughter. Honestly i have nothing to complaint except the food at dinner was terrible for such quality of hotel. i was disappointing with the quality of food, they must fix this issue. Breakfast was superb and lots of choice. Overall of my stay was good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank ibrahim-0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Ibrahim-0101,

Thank you for choosing La Pirogue Resort & Spa for your recent holiday in Mauritius. We are glad that you had a fantastic time at the Resort and that you appreciated mostly the attention of the dedicated staffs with your little daughter.

Our guest’s satisfaction is our prime objectives and we are glad that we stood up to your expectations. We shall surely pass on your grateful comments to the entire team for them to be further motivated to perform better.

However, we regret that the dinner buffet was not to your expectations and can assure you to have shared your concerns to the management of Sugar Beach for them to identify possible amendments in their dishes.

Thank you again for your feedback and we patiently await your next visit to the hotel for you to enjoy the new look and facilities of the renovated Resort.

Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,516 reviews
18.4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,861 reviews
2.2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
35.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Sugar Beach Golf & Spa Resort
#4 of 18 in Flic En Flac
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: HK$2,331 - HK$9,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, WingontravelTA, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Pirogue Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing