We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
176
306
84
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
306
84
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest hotel gaya street old colonial style historical hotel sunday market excellent location walking distance kinabalu national park third floor stayed for one night air conditioning local food rooms are spacious strategic location kk town kota nora
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel maintains so many lovely period features and has that 1950's feeling to it, we loved the lights, paneled doors etc in the room. The location is perfect for getting to the main markets and close to all the best restaurants. It also houses Kudos, 8/431 restaurant on TripAdvisor, a great place to eat. The downside would be the noise, but you're in the centre of the city, and that it is a little tried, it could do with some TLC. Saying that, we would come back here without a second thought, it's a great hotel.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kiffs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped five nights with breakfast included. The waiting staff were a bit niggly over what was included in the breakfast. This is a really nice hotel, reception fine nice area, staff pleasant and helpful. Room was a good size nicely furnished, kettle and complementary soft drinks, beer and bottled water. Bed was a bit hard but ok. Toilet clean with basic toiletries, bath with powerful shower all kept clean and fresh during are visit. The only drawback was the very busy junction near our bedroom window and the lack of double glazing. It was just constant traffic noise, most hours of the day causing interrupted sleep. It was an easy walk to get to most central town areas.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K7668APandrewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for 5 nights and it is a very nice, clean and comfortable hotel. The WiFi works well in the bedroom, free newspaper and water every day. Nice and central to wander around the town.
Only downside is the traffic noise, but we have learned to always travel with earplugs and so used them on this occasion and we slept well.
Would definitely recommend and use again if we return.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DawnM2775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Good side: The location is very great - sitted on Gaya street, all the famour local food are all around, and Jesselton Waterpoint Jetty are just a 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
Down side: The staff at the front desk looked very drowsy, and never smile a little.
The room is small, with very old amenities, and it costed unreasonably high price.(with no breakfast included!)

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yuan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJesseltonHotel, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear Yuan E,

Thank you for choosing The Jesselton Hotel and for reviewing your recent visit. We appreciate your endorsement on our location and value your feedback, as it helps us to improve the service we deliver to our guests.

It is with deep regret to hear of your disappointing experience with us, which is far from the service we aim to deliver to our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies that we fell short of your expectations on this occasion and rest assured that your valuable comments were personally brought up to the attention of the departments concerned in order to make the necessary improvement.

My team and I look forward to be at your service in the near future and we would appreciate if you could contact us through frontoffice@jesseltonhotel.com for any potential future booking arrangement.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights for a visit to KK, we found this a great base to explore the city, it was about a 10 minute walk to Jesselton Ferry Point which was very handy. Local shops, bars and restaurants are all within walking distance. The staff are friendly and polite. I am a light sleeper and the only downside was that the air con unit was a little loud at nighttime compared to other hotel rooms I have stayed in however I would definitely recommend this hotel and it served its purpose well for our stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank taralavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesselton_Hotel, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear Taraferguson123,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel's location is highly accessible to your needs.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the air-conditioning unit. Please be assured that your feedback is well noted and have been brought up to the attention of the department concerned for necessary improvement.

While our location is a real asset, I am glad that you have taken time to recognize our service.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Jesselton Hotel!


Warmest Regards,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews