We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,689)
Filter reviews
1,689 results
Traveller rating
720
675
196
67
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
675
196
67
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view pedas oxtail rasam within walking distance club floor breakfast buffet seafood gaya island central location the executive lounge rain shower shopping mall suria sabah sunday market jesselton point spacious room
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 1,689 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HRKinabalu, Executive Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 4 nights and can't sing the praises of the staff enough. From Ricky who looked after us and arranged access to the club, to th club staff in particular and Junaidy who looked after us everything was amazing. Good choice of dining, lovely pool area and great downtown location.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank VickyT_TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Executive Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Thank you Vicky for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu as your preferred stay in Kota Kinabalu. All of us at the hotel have always believed in delivering excellent customer service, and I am glad that the services provided by our staff, especially the ones mentioned, Ricky and Junaidy, had exceeded your expectations. We have always believed in providing nothing but the best service possible to our guests, to ensure that they have a memorable experience at the hotel. Our strategic location in the city centre is just as great for both business and leisure travellers, with walking distance to main business districts and shopping malls, tourist spots, restaurants and bars, and even jetty to islands! Not forget to mention it is also a paradise for sunset lovers at the same time! Hope to see you visiting us another time soon!

Best regards,
Bennett Peter
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Booked into this town hotel based in star and rating quality and it is and was a huge huge disappointment.
It's a very OVERPRICED hotel for malaysia standards at $200 per night.i expected it to be fantastic but was anything but.
Drinks are small and diluted and very expensive,inexperienced bar staff.At the poolside no one to take your order through the day.The towels were torn and old for poolside and very inferior quality.this was the same for the quality in the room.Paid $200 with NO breakfast...
The building is old and worn out as you can see from the walls and foundations crack.
The entrance to the hotel is very substandard and location is ok but Le Meriidean better placed.
Sadly disappointed by this ripoff and still have 3 days to go here.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mojay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Executive Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you mojay1 for your personal review of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu and stay experience. I am most concerned to learn your disappointment during your stay. As a recent winner of the 2016 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence, we take guests feedback to heart as it helps us to find ways we can go the extra mile to delight our guests. As such would really like to investigate further as to the root cause of your dissatisfaction and would encourage you to share with us in detail at kinabalu.regency@hyatt.com. I’m also most concerned about your unsatisfactory with our service staff at poolside. I can assure you that this is not the standard that we normally adhere to as our team members are encouraged to care for our guests so that our guests can have their best. It is clear that on this occasion, we failed to live up to our standards. I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your patience and kind understanding. On your next visit to Sabah, Do come and stay with us again as we would really like to ensure you have a wonderful stay.

Yours faithfully,
Bennett Peter
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Frankly speaking the exterior didnt attract me that much.. lol I mean I'm sorry but it looks kinda old and the road to the entrance.. is weird.

But when i was checking in the lady at the reception is very friendly and she patiently explained to us what they will and when the rooms will be ready.

Upon checking in the room im impressed! I was given a room with balcony so i can literally open the door to balcony to listen to live band in the evening. The room is very spacious beds are very comfy

Design of the bathroom is rarely seen(not to me, at least) ( its designed with toilet and bathroom separated and the whole area ( both cubicles and the grooming area) can be closed or u can opt to leave it open with the wooden partitions ) a little inconvenient at first but i kinda like odd things actually. Haha

The cafeteria is actually quite thoughful with food freshly prepared right behind the counter. But i'm guessing if u don pay enough of attention the food line can actually be quite confusing

Hence overall i would say it's worth the money can opt to come back next time :)

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CarmenJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Executive Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you Carmen for the lovely review. I am most excited to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us recently, especially liking our guest rooms’ minimal and chic design. Our buffet selections at Tanjung Ria Kitchen allow our guests to choose from an array of local, northern Indian, Western and Chinese cuisines, a variety that ensures guests a memorable dinner with friends and family. Our a la carte menu also offers signature dishes that are not to be missed, I recommend the next time you return to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu you try our Oxtail Assam Pedas or our Cheese Naan. Nevertheless we truly value your comment as much as your compliments, as they help us continue to improve our services. See you again soon!

Best regards,
Bennett Peter
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this hotel. The location is very convenient and the food is not bad. The staffs are very warm and helpful. The reception ladies are very attentive.

The rooms are abit old and I am surprised that there is nothing inside the mini bar.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank TayBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Executive Assistant Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thank you Mr Bernard for staying at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu during your recent visit to Kota Kinabalu. It’s always a pleasure to know when our guests enjoyed their stay with us. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay, especially with our personalized hospitality and services. Our strategic location in the city centre is not only great for business travellers with walking distance to main business districts and banks, it is also a stone away from tourist spots, shopping malls, restaurants and even jetty to islands! Having that said, the hotel has been recognized as the landmark in downtown Kota Kinabalu for luxury stays, exciting dining and memorable meetings. Being the town’s first 5-star international hotel for almost 40 years, we are constantly upgrading the property to keep up with trends. Thank you for your constructive feedback, as it will help us continue to improve our level of services. Please come back to visit us again.

Yours faithfully,
Bennett Peter
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews